How to Order
Use Form Number NATF 82 to order individual pages of Federal population census schedules, 1790-1940, used for genealogical research or as evidence of age and place of birth for employment, social security benefits, insurance, passports and other reasons.
What Census information can I get on this website?
We do not have census records online on the National Archives website. However, most Federal Census records have been digitized and many of the records can be found on our partner websites, including for free on FamilySearch.org, and by subscription on Ancestry.com. Access to Ancestry.com is free-of-charge from any National Archives facility.
See our Digitized by Partners page to see which census records have been digitized, and associated links.
We do have the microfilm catalogs online, which can help prepare you for your visit to the National Archives.
Introduction to Census Records
You can start your Census records search with only
- the name of your relative or ancestor, and hopefully
- the state he or she resided in
The first Federal Population Census was taken in 1790, and has been taken every ten years since. However, data from recent censuses are not available after 1940 because of a 72-year restriction on access to the Census. Most researchers find it most helpful to begin with the 1940 Census and work backwards to locate people in earlier generations.
The National Archives has the census schedules on microfilm available from 1790 to 1940, and free online access is available through our digitization partners at any National Archives facility.
(Please note: Most of the 1890 Census was destroyed in a Department of Commerce fire, though partial records are available for some states.)
What can the Census tell me?
Census records can provide the building blocks of your research, allowing you to both confirm information, and to learn more.
From 1850 to 1940, details are provided for all individuals in each household, such as:
- names of family members
- their ages at a certain point in time
- their state or country of birth
- their parent's birthplaces
- year of immigration
- street address
- marriage status and years of marriage
- value of their home and personal belongings
- the crops that they grew (in agricultural schedules), etc.
Not all of this kind of information is available in every census. Before the 1850 Census, few of these details were recorded. From 1790-1840, only the head of household is listed and the number of household members in selected age groups.
For specifics on what information was collected in each census year, see Availability of Census Records About Individuals
How can I search the Census Records?
You can access census records many different ways:
View digitized Census Records online through one of our partners, ancestry.com or familysearch.org. (Familysearch.org is free-of-charge. Ancestry.com is available free-of-charge at the National Archives facilities nationwide and through many libraries, otherwise by subscription.)
View our complete list of Records Digitized by Our Digitization Partners
- Visit the National Archives Building in Washington, DC or one of our regional facilities located in
New York City,
San Francisco, and
Prepare for your visit ahead of time by viewing our microfilm catalogs online, which can provide you with the microfilm roll numbers relevant for your search.
- Visit State Archives or
- Contact public libraries, historical societies, and other research facilities.
- Purchase rolls of the microfilm from us.
- Check with the USGenWeb project to see if census records from your states of
interest have been transcribed (free of charge).
See both http://www.us-census.org/ and
Please note, due to staffing limitations, the National Archives can not conduct census research on your behalf.