Legislative Branch

Home > The Center for Legislative Archives > Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46) > Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)

  • Table of Contents: Short Form (original table of contents with chapter titles only)
  • Table of Contents: Detailed (provides links the standing committee descriptions)
     
Snippet
Snippet

Table of Contents: Short Form

Introduction General Introduction
Chapter 1 An Introduction to Research in the Records of Congress
Chapter 2 Records of the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and Related Committees, 1825-1988
Chapter 3 Records of the Committee on Appropriations, 1867-1968
Chapter 4 Records of the Committee on Armed Services and Its Predecessors, 1816-1968
Chapter 5 Records of the Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs, 1914-1984
Chapter 6 Records of the Committee on Claims and Other Claims Committees, 1816-1946
Chapter 7 Records of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation and Related Committees, 1816-1988
Chapter 8 Records of the Committee on the District of Columbia, 1816-1972
Chapter 9 Records of the Committee on Finance and Related Records, 1816-1968
Chapter 10 Records on the Committee on Foreign Relations, 1816-1968
Chapter 11 Records of the Committee on Governmental Affairs and Related Committees, 1842-1988
Chapter 12 Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968
Chapter 13 Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1968
Chapter 14 Records of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare and Related Committees, 1869-1968
Chapter 15 Records of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service and Related Committees, 1816-1968
Chapter 16 Records of the Committee on Environment and Public Works and Related Committees, 1820-1988
Chapter 17 Records of the Committee on Rules and Administration and Related Committees, 1789-1968
Chapter 18 Records of Senate Select Committees, 1789-1988
Chapter 19 Records of Joint Committees of Congress (Record Group 128)
Chapter 20 General Records of the U.S. Senate, 1789-1968
Chapter 21 Records Relating to Executive Proceedings and Impeachments, 1789-1987
Chapter 22 Records of the United States Senate, 1969-1988
Appendices:  
  A. Majority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  B. Minority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  C. Secretaries of the Senate (U.S. Senate website)
  D. Select Bibliography
  E. Glossary of Legislative and Archival Terms
  F. Dates of the Sessions of the U.S. Congress
  G. National Archives Finding Aids to Senate Records
  H. National Archives Microfilm Publications of Senate Records

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.

Top