Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Topics

Researchers Specializing in Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization Related Records *

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.

Margaret Dube
Common Folk Ancestry
9 Whitetail Ln
Kittery, ME 03904-5429
Telephone: (207) 439-3755
Fax: (207) 439-4762
Research Specialty: Immigration and naturalization records; passenger lists; census schedules; military records.

Denese Neu
Denese M. Neu, PhD.
1637 W Olive Ave 3
Chicago, IL 60660
Telephone: (773) 351-9269
Research Specialty: Chicago, Community development, economic development, housing, urban planning, urban history, social policy programs, social history, environment, land use, cultural resources, immigration, New Orleans, civil rights, transportation

Sheila Thayer
1605 NE 80th St
Seattle, WA 98115
Telephone: 206-523-5551
Research Specialty: General research

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone: (603) 247-1049
Research Specialty: All research

PO Box 406 J
Denton, TX 76209
Telephone: Angela
Research Specialty: Military records, immigration/emigration, historical documents, diplomatic records, government records, environmental, oral histories, and business records
About: We charge by the source, file, or record, not by the hour!

Brian Gunn
Brian Eugene Gunn
18636 Hedgegrove Ter
Olney, MD 20832-1812
Telephone: (240) 277-1276
Fax: (301) 570-5828
Research Specialty: RG 109, Civil War, pension, census, military service, Congressional, court, genealogy, immigration and naturalization, labor, science, audiovisual, photographic, and cartographic records.

Elizabeth McCall
3822 Bailey Ave 3C
Bronx, NY 10463-2516
Telephone: (347) 427-2406
Fax: (347) 427-2406
Research Specialty: Immigration/Naturalization, Irish in America, Military Records, Patent/Copyright/Trademark, Genealogy.

Robert J. Coyle
The Coyle Group
PO Box 361
Mount Vernon, VA 22121-0361
Telephone: (703) 799-7303
Fax: (703)799-7304

Brian Schneden (APG Member)
Schneden Genealogical & Historical Research
625 E Acorn St
Gardner, KS 66030
Telephone: (913) 660-0656
Research Specialty: Medical Health History, Germanic Genealogy, Immigration/Emigration Dithmarschen, Schleswig Holstein Germany

Marilyn L. Arnold
Find Your Family
PO Box 7116
Falls Church, VA 22046-7116
Telephone: (703) 534-6668
Research Specialty: Census records; genealogy and family history; immigration, emigration, and naturalization; military

Margie Ellis
PO Box 440042
Somerville, MA 02144
Telephone: (617) 797-1904
Research Specialty: Irish history, Naturalizations, Land Records, genealogy, general NARA holdings research, cemetery searches, state archives, immigration.

Christina A. Reynen, MLS, MA
Chicago Research
21 W Goethe 4D
Chicago, IL 60610-8291
Telephone: (312) 335-0586
Research Specialty: Biography, court records, labor and business history, immigration/emigration, house and building history.
About: Independent archivist/researcher, specializing in Chicago and Cook County history. Former contributor and fact checker for the Encyclopedia of Chicago.

Autumn Baccellia
5616 Johns Drive
Sacramento, CA 95822
Telephone: (916) 893-1400
Research Specialty: I research immigration and naturalization records, military, pension records, civil and church records, court records, census records, land records, state archives and library research, obituary and newspaper research, genealogy research.
About: I have over 20 years experience. I was raised in the Mormon Church and was taught genealogy research at a very early age.

Bryan Woodcock; Nichole Woodcock
Brynik Independent Research
692 Creekside Pl
Lansing, KS 66043
Research Specialty: World War I, 91st Infantry Division, Eisenhower, Harry S Truman, 35th Infantry Division, Genealogy
About: We are a husband and wife team of independent researchers that enjoy history and family research. Bryan Woodcock holds an MBA from Texas A&M University and a Master of Military Arts and Sciences from the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth, KS. Nichole is currently pursuing a BA in Sociology at the University of Kansas.

Kevin Leonard
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.

Joel Harrington
950 3rd Ave
Redwood City, CA 94063-4005
Telephone: (650) 368-0614
Research Specialty: Census, pension files, immigration records, genealogy resources in general

Robert M. Ankenbauer, Jr.
Yesterday’s Mysteries
PO Box 51
Nutting Lake, MA 01865
Telephone: (978) 600-8103
Research Specialty: American Revolution, US Civil War, 1800-1900 US Migrations from the original 13 colonies to Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Indiana and Illinois.

Joan Kusek
Vintage Products
9640 Walmer
Overland Park, KS 66212-1554
Telephone: (913) 213-3550
Research Specialty: Census, Naturalization, War Records, Native American Land Records; Circuit, District Court Records, Criminial Records, Civil War, War of 1812, Revolutionary War, passenger lists.

Bruce D. Frail; Benjamin J. Frail
American Civil War Ancestor RG
19 Briar Point Ave
Coventry, RI 02816-5601
Telephone: (401) 823-9898
Fax: (401) 464-2119
Research Specialty: Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War
About: I have 20+ years of professional and volunteer research experience and I am the current National Graves Registration Officer for the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War. My son (a History Major at Rhode Island College) and I will research Military Service Records, Pension Records, Deck Logs, Veterans Burial Locations, and any other area of general research of the American Civil War. We also research Confederate Soldiers as well. We have done research for government (state and local city), commercial, private and non-profit groups. "We Reunite You With Your Past"

Sandra A. Lindner-Turner
Bloodhound Research Services
PO Box 4210
Manassas, VA 20108
Telephone: (571) 208-2589
Research Specialty: Census, Military and Naturalization

Amy Sue Smith
Amy Sue Smith, MA, JD
6417 Forest Rd
Cheverly, MD 20785-3127
Telephone: (240) 256-5265
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History Records; Military Records; Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records; pension files; and land records

Sharon Carberry
Family Discovery Services
1171 West Mill Dr
Kennesaw, GA 30152-3954
Research Specialty: Irish-American genealogy, Western-Europe immigration 1840-1925, Southeast U.S. family history

Gail Lelyveld
205 C St NE Apt 1
Washington, DC 20002-5764
Telephone: (202) 579-6466
Research Specialty: Revolutionary War, Civil War, Spanish American War, World War I, World War II Issues, Peace Issues, Native American Issues, Immigration, Foreign Affairs

Kenneth Bishop
8 Dobbins St
Waltham, MA 02451
Research Specialty: New England research-census records, passenger arrival lists, Canadian Border Entry Records

Valerie A. Metzler
Valerie Metzler, Archivist and Historian
114 Ruskin Drive
Altoona, PA 16602-2916
Telephone: (814) 940-0493
Fax: (814) 940-0493

Charlie Vaughn
Charles M. Vaughn
PO Box 4056
Windham, NH 03087-9998
Telephone: (617) 791-4757
Research Specialty: New England states real estate title searches; state & federal court decisions; genealogy; family history; census records; naturalization records; vital statistics: birth, death, marriage and divorce; passenger lists.

Margaret R. Fortier
Margaret R. Fortier, Professional Genealogist
100 Station Lndg
Medford, MA 02155-5198
Telephone: (508)-414-1595
Research Specialty: Immigration, Emigration-Naturalization Records, Census Records, Genealogy + Family History, French Canadian, Italian-American research.

David Thaxton; Kevin Green
Thaxton Green Studios, Inc.
PO Box 1434
Nantucket, MA 02554
Telephone: (202) 669-6052
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Video and Still Picture research for inclusion into television documentaries, feature films and other media productions. Vietnam - Provide unit and 201 File documentation for use in VA claims. Specific - 1st Cav. Division Awards, Orders, unit & individual.
About: 30 years experience in archive research, consultation and production.

Shanetta Oliver
PO Box 6204
Capitol Heights, MD 20791-6204
Telephone: (240) 412-6182
Research Specialty: African-American history, DOJ, FBI, and other law enforcement records, CIA, military records, immigration and naturalization, Census records, Genealogy

Joshua D. Roma
Roma Roots
6230 N Kenmore 908
Chicago, IL 60660
Telephone: 773-649-4968
Fax: (801) 348-3125

Kelley Bevis
611 Pennsylvania Ave SE 412
Washington, DC 20003-4303
Telephone: (202) 431-0788
Research Specialty: Civil War service records, Civil war pension records, War of 1812 service records, War of 1812 pension records, WWI & WWII Draft Registration Cards, Revolutionary War, Census lookups, Immigration Records, Naturalization Records.

Owen McGillivray
416 Boston Ave
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4148
Telephone: (503) 709-0536
Research Specialty: Textual records (civilian), particularly in the Agricultural Adjustment Administration

James M. Evans III
PO Box 644
Morrow, GA 30260
Telephone: (404) 797-9980
Research Specialty: All records located at the Southeast Region archival facility in Morrow, GA (Atlanta), especially those associated with genealogy and family history. Located within two miles of Southeast Region facility.

Marisa Louie Lee
55 Trumbull St Unit 16
San Francisco, CA 94112
Telephone: (650) 303-3111
Research Specialty: General researcher; Federal Court cases - Bankruptcy, Civil, Criminal, Appeals (RG 21, 276, 578) and US Attorneys (RG 118), Immigration and Naturalization (RG 21, 85, 566) Bureau of Prisons/Alcatraz (RG 129), Native Americans in CA, NV (RG 75), Labor history (RG69, 96, 171)
About: I worked as an archivist at the National Archives at San Francisco for five years and am very familiar with the records at that facility. I have a personal and professional interest in Asian American genealogy and have presented workshops throughout the San Francisco Bay Area for community history and genealogy interest groups.

Kevin D. Milus
Milus Historical Research
2812 Mattlyn Ct
Raleigh, NC 27613-6510
Telephone: (919) 815-4360
Research Specialty: Census Records, Genealogy & Family History Records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records, Military Records, Cartographic/Architectural Records, Photographs and Pictures.

Mehira Lozano
11586 Greenwich Point Rd
Reston, VA 20194-9733
Telephone: (831) 588-4692
Research Specialty: American studies, immigration, Latin American Latino studies

Frank Consler
Kanzler Research
PO Box 664
Melville, NY 11747
Telephone: (917) 855-3265
Research Specialty: Due Diligence, kinship matters, unknown missing heirs, vital records, passenger lists, immigration, and naturalization.

Lynne Lenker
Lenker Genealogy Research Services
147 Groton Rd
North Chelmsford, MA 01863
Telephone: (617) 838-9278
Research Specialty: Genealogy Research: family trees, vital records (birth, death, marriage), census records, probate records (divorce, deeds) immigration, emigration & naturalization records, ship manifests, military records, SSI and death index records, church records (New England), grave records, cemetery records and visits (NE), forensic (heirs, photo IDs), town records (NE), document retrieval (NE).
About: Lynne Lenker holds a Certificate in Genealogical Research from Boston University (Dec.2013) and has years of experience.

Eric G. Karisa
1701 Park Rd NW Apt 206
Washington, DC 20010

Stephanie Thompson
Voices from the Past
20379 Bowfords St
Asburn, VA 20147
Research Specialty: census records, vital records, immigration records

Aaron Jones; Jeff Jones
Aaron’s American Ancestor Research
PO Box 50561
Provo, UT 84605-0561
Telephone: (801) 836-1996
Research Specialty: All records that are of genealogical value. This includes Record Group 75. Immigration, military, family history, census.

Melanie Karvoski
Ancestral Branches
PO Box 362
Hamburg, PA 19526-0362
Telephone: (610) 562-5524

Satu Haase-Webb
Satu Haase-Webb, Independent Historian and Researcher
1334 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Telephone: (202) 257-6915
Research Specialty: All media types-textual records, still images/photographs, video and audio recordings. World War II, captured German records, Holocaust, Diplomatic, military, intelligence records, African American History, Women, Immigration, Art, Social History (Labor, etc.), Cold War. Civil Rights.
About: On-site, 15+ yrs experience. German speaker (native)

Victoria A. Brown
Ale’s Archives
9810 Dairyton Ct
Gaithersburg, MD 20886
Telephone: (202) 406-0227
Research Specialty: Genealogy, diplomatic records, intelligence records, immigration, scientific, military

Linda Altman
Linda Altman Southern Genealogy
PO Box 99690
Raleigh, NC 27624-9690
Telephone: (919) 696-5649
Research Specialty: Military, Family History, Passenger Arrivals

Sim Smiley
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Diplomatic Records, Cold War, Military Records, Captured German Records, Navy Records. OSS, Intelligence and State Department Records, WW2 and onward. Also FBI, CIA Crest, Holocaust, Looted Nazi Gold, War Crimes, Nuremberg, OWI and propaganda.
About: One of the original compilers of the OSS finding aids and researcher for William J. Casey’s memoir. Clients include the BBC, Ken Burns and the Monuments Men Project. Former State Department simultaneous interpreter in French and Italian (with Presidential assignments), can also conduct research in Spanish, Portuguese, German, Swedish and Norwegian. 20 years experience and a stickler for client satisfaction.

Jeff Mackey
10241 W 56 Ter
Merriam, KS 66203
Telephone: (785) 272-2664
Research Specialty: Cold War, Congressional Records, Census Records, Court Records, Lighthouse\Customs Records, Genealogy and Family History, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization, President Nixon.

Virginia L. Sharp
Sharp Research
6035 30th Ave NE
Seattle, WA 98115
Telephone: (206) 523-9755

Mary Louise Fizpatrick
625 Meadowlark Rd
Audubon, PA 19403
Telephone: (610) 666-6567; (610) 772-7046 (cell)
Research Specialty: Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey research; state and federal census records; naturalizations; immigration/emigration(passenger lists, passport applications, etc.); vital, church, cemetery, probate, military, court, land records. Translation of Latin, German, Russian, Ukrainian records.

Renee Meade
Adventure Research
PO Box 270933
Louisville, CO 80027
Telephone: (303) 641-8412
Research Specialty: Historical records for the Rocky Mtn West, Census Records, Genealogy and Family History, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records; Photographs and Pictures.

Claudia Breland
27115 212th Pl SE
Maple Valley, WA 98038
Telephone: (425) 443-2968
Research Specialty: Census, land, naturalization records, Seattle + Pacific Northwest

Claire Keenan Agthe
Bloodlines Genealogical Research Service
7231 Town Ct S
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648-4729
Telephone: (609) 933-6000

Christine M. Cacace
315 W 106th St Ste 16-A
New York, NY 10025-3445
Telephone: (212) 865-9083
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History
About: Has over 25 years experience researching Federal, State and City civil and religious records; conducts research in Italian, Irish, German and Eastern European civil and religious records. Aids in Dual Citizenship research qualification and Applications.

Oscar Gregory
9253 Limestone Place
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: 240-426-0321
Research Specialty: Still photographs, domestic aerial photographs, maps
About: Specializing in wholesale RG "box" photos using Samsung 5 cellphone

Diane Rapaport
Diane Rapaport, JD, Professional Genealogist
PO Box 204
Lexington, MA 02420
Telephone: (781) 698-7884; 866-784-5573 (toll free)
Fax: (781)861-6744; 888-773-2937 (toll free)
Research Specialty: Court records; Genealogy and Family History Records, Immigration, Emmigration, and Naturalization records, heir search, military records

Jim Barber
AAA Document Research and Retrieval Service, a wholly owned subsidiary of DFW Paralegal Service
PO Box 48010
Fort Worth, TX 76148-0010
Telephone: (800) 758-4882
Fax: (817) 339-6156
Research Specialty: State & Federal Document Research and Retrieval; Civil, Criminal & Bankruptcy Court Records; Immigration Records; Texas County & Court Records.

Katie Rasdorf
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos

Patricia "Trish" Nicola
Patricia Hackett Nicola, Certified Genealogist
2908 27th Ave W
Seattle, WA 98199-2853
Telephone: (206) 284-5232
Fax: (206) 284-5232
Research Specialty: Washington and Oregon territorial census; Passenger arrival, naturalization, pension and bounty land warrant applications; Oregon and Washington land claims and files; Chinese Exclusion Act files; court records.

Yoko Nagasaka Myers
Nichimy Corporation
6215 Greenbelt Rd Ste 201
College Park, MD 20740-2364
Telephone: (301) 313-0610
Fax: (301) 313-0611
Research Specialty: WWII Pacific Theater military and navy records (text, photographs, motion picture, cartographic) and Allied Occupation of Japan, Japanese Koreans in Japan, Okinawa - related issues. U.S.-Japan Relations, and migration.

Jennifer Hallock
935 Rte 5 Box 8
Brattleboro, VT 05301
Telephone: (802) 380-2484
Research Specialty: New England, Vital records Vermont, immigration, Military

Michael Hait
16013 Kenny Road
Laurel, MD 20707
Telephone: (301) 642-4217
Research Specialty: Census, American Revolution, ship arrivals, genealogy

Dawn M. Brady
Prove the Line Genealogy Services
9708 Kingsbridge Dr Ste 104
Fairfax, VA 22031
Telephone: (703) 593-2820
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History Records, Census Records, Land Records, Immigration/Naturalization Records, Military Service Records, Pension Records, Bounty Land Warrant Records.
About: Whether your genealogy project is large or small, Prove the Line Genealogy Services is here to help you. We offer a variety of services, all at competitive rates, including Record Look-Up Service, Lineage Society Application Preparation Service, Tombstone/Cemetery Photo Service, and an Hourly Genealogical Research Service. Member Association of Professional Genealogists, National Genealogical Society, and National Institute for Genealogical Research Alumni.

Ellen Driscoll
Ancestry Sisters
530 Lake Shore Dr
Chicago, IL 60611
Telephone: (312) 350-4370
Research Specialty: Document Retrieval, Family Trees, Immigration , Mayflower Society. We have Offices in Chicago, Peoria, IL + Kalamazoo, MI.

Jonathan Webb Deiss
2626 Fort Farnsworth Rd Apt 2B
Alexandria, VA 22303
Research Specialty: Military, Genealogy, Land, Native American, Lineage Research

Donal J. Lewis
Udrea Research
5924 S Quincy Pl
Tulsa, OKTelephone: 918-409-0374
Fax: 918-895-6680
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA. Will also do research in NARA affiliated archives.

Marsha Ann Tate
Marsha Ann Tate, Ph.D.
132 S Main St
Pleasant Gap, PA 16823-3210
Telephone: (814) 359-3367
Research Specialty: Census Records, Congressional Records, Court Records, Diplomatic Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization Records, Intelligence, Labor and Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agency Records, Military Records, Audio/Sound Recordings, Film and Video Recordings, Photographs and Pictures

Tim Reidy
Reidy Historical Consulting
11942 Charlotte
Kansas City, MO 64146
Telephone: (228) 249-1927
Research Specialty: Military Records, Genealogy and Family Records, HAB/SHAER Record Group, Photographs and Pictures.

Shaun S. Udrea
Udrea Research
5924 South Quincy Pl
Tulsa, OK 74105
Telephone: (918) 409-0374
Fax: (918) 895-6680
Research Specialty: Any records available through NARA.

Betty Ann Tyson
87 Pierce Rd
Watertown, MA 02472-3033
Telephone: (617) 924-7715
Research Specialty: Genealogy, census records, naturalization records - New England; ship passenger lists for NY, Boston, Philadelphia; Canadian border crossings

Sadie Day Pasha
Sadie Day Pasha, Professional Genealogist and Low Country Family Historian
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Telephone: (240) 560-6139
Research Specialty: Family Histories, Oral Traditions, Biographical and Historical analysis, Southern Jews and Sephardim in colonial, reconstruction and post reconstruction eras in America. Native Cherokee and Smith descendants of Indian Territories in South Carolina and Georgia. West African "Geechee" on Rosemont (Pyatt) and various plantations in Georgetown County, South Carolina captured from Rice Coast of Sene-Gambia and Sierra Leone. Cohen surname of Sephardim, Portuguese Jews, New Christians, Marranos, Crypto Jews, ladino language and culture. West Africans (Geechee/Kissi) and Gullah (Gola) trade language in Lowcountry of Georgia and South Carolina Sea Islands. Day (Daye/Dey) surname of (1) Middlesex County, Massachusetts, (2) James City County and Dinwiddie County, Virginia, and (4) Caswell County, North Carolina among West African and European descendants. Consultation and Lecture, Domestic and International Digital Archives (Libraries)
About: Genealogist, National Genealogical Society, Washington, DC Genealogy Instructor, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission Genealogist, Guild of One-Name Studies, "Cohen One Name Study", Region 5 USA Author, "Cohen of Georgetown County, South Carolina 1760-1960", S. Pasha 2010.

Heather Cole
199 Pleasant St
Norwood, MA 02062-4801
Telephone: (617) 216-4978
Research Specialty: Genealogy, family history, local history, census records, naturalization records-New England, vital records-Massachusetts, town records-Massachusetts, JFK Presidential Library.

Richard Vidutis
205 Yoakum Pkwy 1105
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (301) 233-0651
Research Specialty: Military records (base records, theater construction engineering, ordnance locations, base architecture, oral histories); Engineering records (bridge construction, plans, mining, architecture); Marine records (ship types, plans, shipwreck locations, fatalities, cargo manifests, customs records); Immigration (emigration, ethnic communities, census records, labor history); Cartographic and architectural records (maps, drawings); Photographs and pictures.

Lisa Marker
PO Box 45608
Seattle, WA 98145
Telephone: 206-523-5551
Research Specialty: General research

Ryan Curtis
Archive Research Associates
539 Calef Hwy Ste 206
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 978-7456
Research Specialty: Environmental, Regulatory, Labor Records, and Military Records

Evie Bresette
Evie Bresette, CG
307 W 109th St
Kansas City, MO 64114-4907
Telephone: (816) 941-7545
Fax: (816) 942-7210

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW 3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone: (202) 298-6937
Fax: (202) 298-6937
Research Specialty: Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Cara Whiting
2000 S Grant St
Arlington, VA 22202
Research Specialty: 19th century U.S. history, 20th century U.S. history, military/pension, Native American (RG 75), census, immigration, family history, genealogy.

Doc Kane
2817 Briarwood Ln
Nazareth, PA 18064
Telephone: (530) 690-8003
Research Specialty: Vietnam and Vietnam War, Southeast Asia, Film and Sound Archives, Presidential Media, Film Footage, Rights and Clearances, International Archives, CBS, NBC, ABC, ITN, Reuters, Radio and TV Archives.

Patricia Flores, DBA
The Family Historian
425 S. 156th St Apt 134-B
Buren, WA 98148-1261

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Donna H. Blinn
Heritage~Family History~Ancestry Research
12 Fairview Ave
Lincoln, RI 02865-1808
Telephone: (401) 474-3618
Research Specialty: Pedigree Charts; Locating Vital Records: Birth/Marriage/Death, Military, Immigration & Naturalization, Census & Voter Records, Court, Land, Wills & Financial Records; Historical Newspapers; Cemetery Searches; Designing your Family Album; Education in use of online sources of information; Workshops and individual consultation assistance.

Pamela A. Weisberger
Creative Genealogical Research at Home and Abroad
630 22nd St
Santa Monica, CA 90402-3122
Telephone: (310) 804-5511
Research Specialty: Jewish genealogical research pertaining to Eastern Europe -- especially Polish, Galician, Austrian and Ukrainian records. Other specialties: Polish magnate landowner records, cadastral maps, New York City, Los Angeles & San Francisco; census and vital records; ship passenger manifests, court & criminal/prison records; cemeteries; oral history videos; historical newspaper research; city directories. Also handles ancestral village travel planning.

Josh Jenkins
PO Box 9034
Columbia, MD 21044-9034
Telephone: (443) 280-9785
Fax: (202) 298-6937
Research Specialty: Civil War, Immigration, Census, Revolutionary War, Land Records, Genealogy and Family History Records, DNA consults.

Richard Foster-Research Coordinator
The New York Public Library-NYPL EXPRESS
188 Madison Ave
New York, NY 10016-4314
Telephone: (212) 592-7200
Fax: (212) 592-7215
Research Specialty: Court Records, Manuscript research, Genealogy, Census, Immigration, Military records

Sharon Boswell
Partners in History
950 NW Elford Dr
Seattle, WA 98177-4125
Telephone: (206) 275-1114

Elizabeth Khan
3328 34th St
Boulder, CO 80301
Telephone: (800) 416-3497
Research Specialty: Immigration and naturalization records, Native American genealogy, African-American genealogy, colonial ancestors.

Susan Strange
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.

Elisabeth M. Hartjens
Imagefinders, Inc.
6101 Utah Ave NW
Washington, DC 20015-2461
Telephone: (202) 244-4456
Fax: (202) 244-3237
Research Specialty: Motion picture, sound, and video; still images; textual records, including Congressional, Coast Guard and lighthouse, diplomatic, military, Navy, immigration and naturalization, and Nixon related records

Brenda Loew
Brenda Loew, Independent Researcher
1144 Chestnut St
Newton, MA 02464-1309
Telephone: (617) 797-0048
Research Specialty: Litigation research, bankruptcy, criminal, civil, background records, court research and filings, real property/title records. Federal, State, County and Municipal records. U.S. History, Presidential, Genealogical, Immigration, Census, Military, Early Republic, Colonial, Judicial, Supreme Court, Congressional, WWII-Cold War-9/11-Current.
About: Certified Paralegal and experienced researcher. Also research in Boston Public Library, Boston University Library.

Pamela O’Day
333 Old Bay Ln 10
Havre de Grace, MD 21078-4018
Telephone: (410) 939-4554

Cathy Sippel; Jack Schworm
PO Box 638
Severna Park, MD 21146-0638
Telephone: (410) 729-4050
Research Specialty: Will research anything to fit your needs

Juli Turano
6980 S Bannock St Apt 8
Littleton, CO 80120
Telephone: (303) 798-2108
Research Specialty: Government(All) - Economics, Financial, Congressional, Executive, Judicial; Corporate - SEC, Intelligence, Lobby, Patents, Trademarks; Real Estate - GeoSat, Civil-Land, Taxes, Liens; Popular Fact Checking - Political, Current Events, Quotes; Historical, Ancestry, World Events

Elizabeth Khan
Record Click LLC
123 E Main St Ste 2 PMB 105
Denville, NJ 07834
Telephone: 1-866-632-9291
Research Specialty: Ancestral Research, Find Family, Heir Searching, DNA Family Tree, Adoption Research, Military Research, also citizenship by descent applications.

Charles Niessner
304 State St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Research Specialty: Family history and genealogy; Immigration, Naturalization, and Manifest; NYC birth, marriage death, and Manhattan wills.

Michael Brophy
Brophy Professional Genealogy and Heir Tracing
198 Patricia Dr
Abington, MA 02351-1047
Telephone: (781) 738-2671
Fax: (781) 878-0720
Research Specialty: Immigration &Naturalization, Census Records, Genealogy &Family History, Irish-American, New England.

Gem P. Daus
Gem P. Daus, MA
4600 S Four Mile Run Dr 1234
Arlington, VA 22204-3568
Telephone: (202) 596-2436
Research Specialty: Immigration (RG85), Public Health (RG90), Filipino American History, Philippine Insular period (RG126, 350), World War II (RG24, 38, 407), Asian American History, Angel Island (text, picture).

Lisa M. Castellanos
7206 Kings Arm Dr
Manassas, VA 20112
Telephone: (703) 595-8573
Research Specialty: British Isles, Census, Naturalizations, Oath of Allegiance, American Revolution and Civil War Pensions, Land grants

Laurence Krupnak
T/A East Europe Connection
1711 Corwin Dr
Silver Spring, MD 20910-1533
Telephone: (301) 585-0117
Research Specialty: EWZ Records (RG 242); immigration and naturalization records; State Department and foreign service records

Judy McMillan
Marjorie Judith Mcmillan
1303 Diamond Dr
Newton, PA 18940
Telephone: (215) 579-7714

John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N Pitt St Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Helen Weiss
Helen Weiss Productions
PO Box 21264
Washington, DC 20090-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual records - all subjects

M. L. ’Mel’ Gentry
The Hannah Family Foundation
PO Box 27
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Telephone: (866) 523-2993;(480) 778-0459
Fax: given upon request
Research Specialty: Little Shell Nation, Family genealogy, Turnbo papers Silas Turnbo, Historical data, maps, Native Indigenous American Indians, Military Records.

Richard J. Macon
PO Box 996
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Telephone: (201) 320-1927
Research Specialty: military, Immigration &; Naturalization, censuses, Catholic records

Ray Johnson
Raymond W. Johnson
4237 Sunnyside Ave
Brookfield, IL 60513
Telephone: (708) 387-1884
Research Specialty: Census records; Naturalization records; Military records

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Pamela Dallas
PO Box 2826
Granite Bay, CA 95746-2826
Telephone: (916) 791-7425
Fax: (916) 791-3285

William Hammond, Director
Touchstone Research Group, LLC
244 5th Ave Ste 2571
New York, NY 10001-7604
Telephone: (800) 283-3214
Fax: (646) 530-8701
Research Specialty: DD214s, OMPF, 201 Files, Military Medical Records.
About: Touchstone is one of the largest research firms for military records at NPRC. Our on-site researchers have successfully retrieved thousands of veterans’ records from that facility and retrieves more records for veterans per week than any other firm. Bonded and insured services to acquire your military service records with offices in St. Louis MO, Denver CO, Millington TN, Quantico VA, Kansas City MO, and researchers at other military records repositories nationwide.

Michelle Chubenko
Jersey Roots Genealogy
149 Tyler Ave
Carteret, NJ 070081
Telephone: (732) 969-2652
Fax: (732)969-2652
Research Specialty: Family History and Genealogy Research; Census Records; Birth, Death Marriage and other Vital Records (esp. New Jersey and NYC); Court and Land Records; Immigration and Naturalization Records; Military Records; New Jersey State and Local Archives.

Susan Berlowitz
345 Pleasant Ave 2
New York, NY 10035-4342
Telephone: (212) 426-7392
Fax: (212) 426-7392
Research Specialty: Motion pictures and video

Rosanna Martinez
PO Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL 33234-7751
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
Research Specialty: General historic records; All archival records
About: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Richard Franzen
3 Deer Trl
Tabernacle, NJ 08088-9737
Telephone: (609) 859-3569
Research Specialty: Census records; ship arrival records; naturalizations

Judith Langer-Surnamer Caplan
Up, Roots! Genealogy Research Services
27 West Penn St
Long Beach, NY 11561-4032
Telephone: (516) 889-7163
Research Specialty: U.S. Census; New York naturalizations; World War II Old Men’s draft registration; New York and Philadelphia passenger arrivals

Tina C. Jones
American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Dr Ste 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 383-7834
Research Specialty: Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

Matthew Hogan
Matthew C. Hogan
PO Box 643
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Telephone: (301) 922-9065
Fax: (301) 890-0688
Research Specialty: African American History, Asbestos, Court Records, Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization; Military Records; Science, Technology, and Natural Resources; Diplomatic Records, Captured German Records; Cold War records; Congressional Records; Genealogy and Family History Records; Intelligence records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon records; Still Photos; Audio-Visual

Horace C. White
Harmani Associates International LLC
1800 JFK Blvd Ste 300
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Telephone: (215) 253-4410
Research Specialty: Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; Navy records; and church records; architectural drawings, films.

Dave Gonzales
Dave L. Gonzales Jr.
907 Whitehead St
Key West, FL 33040
Telephone: (305) 294-1136; (305) 587-4284
Fax: (305) 294-1136
Research Specialty: Ernest Hemingway

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 20+ years experience.

Samantha Rife
SJR Research
3075 Emmitsburg Rd
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Telephone: 717-253-1107
Research Specialty: General researcher; Genealogy and Family History; All international and US military research; House and building history; Corporate history; Congressional research, Legal (court records); Popular fact checking - Political, current events, quotes; Native American; Dual citizenship application assistance; Motion pictures and video; Still pictures and photographs; Research for documentary filmmakers, screenwrites, producers, and other filmmakers.

Dieter Stenger
Stenger Historica
4122 Dartmoor Ct
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Telephone: (540) 834-0684
Research Specialty: Captured German records (Berlin Document Collection), WWII and Holocaust-related records, Post-War Occupation records (OMGUS), OSS and Special Investigative Records. Specialize in SS, SD, and Gestapo records (RFSS), including officer and enlisted personnel records, RuSHA, SA, NSDAP records, but also Wehrmacht and SS combat formation/unit records.
About: 20+ years experience researching at NARA. German fluency. Translation services available. Veteran owned (USMC).

James T Christian
Family History Research Group
603 Lightstone Dr
San Antonio, TX 78258
Research Specialty: Naturalizations, Immigrations, Military Records, Census, Passports, Land Records

Keith Zahniser
Historical Research Associates, Inc.
419 7th St NW Ste 403
Washington, DC 20004
Telephone: (202) 557-0222
Fax: (406) 721-1964
Research Specialty: All research.

Jan Trojan
PO Box 275
Craig, AK 99921-0275
Telephone: 907-826-3734
Fax: 907-826-3734
Research Specialty: Chinook genealogy

Lilly Cleveland
Your Family Search
PO Box 509
Norwell, MA 02061
Telephone: (774) 454-0363
Research Specialty: Mayflower passengers, DAR, New England women, Colonial, Probate records, Court House research, Mass. Archives, NEHGS Library

Elizabeth Terry
A. Elizabeth Terry, MA
194 Spring Oaks Dr
Ballwin, MO 63011
Telephone: (314) 283-1779
Research Specialty: Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, death, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; military records; and church records.

Joan M. Croson
11 Cardigan Ct
Waldorf, MD 20602
Research Specialty: census, immigration and naturalization, military, bounty land warrants, Civil War, Indian wars, Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Pensions

Stephen D. McLeod;Edith M. McLeod
Broad Run IT, LLC
6472 Georgetown Rd
Broad Run, VA 20137-2121
Telephone: (540) 347-1865
Fax: (540) 349-7727
Research Specialty: All record groups-in particular maritime, military, pension, ship passenger lists, consular, census

Robert J. Friedman
Steps to the Past
60 Plaza St E Apt 6N
Brooklyn, NY 11238-5034
Telephone: (718) 622-2692
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History; Census, Immigration and Naturalization; Jewish genealogy
About: Also research in NYC libraries, archives, and cemeteries.

Jessica Hacken
Arbor Genealogy
12810 SE 296th Way
Auburn, WA 98092-3241
Telephone: (253) 951-0287
Fax: (253) 323-7315

Leah Kuriluk
Avalon Research Services
2615 1st Ave
Seattle, WA 98121
Telephone: (586) 872-7273
Research Specialty: Genealogy and Family History Records; Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization Records; Census Records
About: Avalon utilizes a variety of resources to find the information you need, including online, archival and special collections in the Pacific Northwest.

Dara A. Baker
Dara A. Baker PhD (ABD)
1800 N Oak St 1306
Arlington, VA 22209
Telephone: (631) 766-5181
Research Specialty: United States and British History, Congressional Records, esp 19th and 20th century, Judicial Records, Native American, African American, Genealogy, Immigration, Census, Military/Pension, Political, Congressional and Presidential, State Records, Personal Papers, Petitions to Congress (RG 46, RG 233), Rare Books

Kris Kaszuba
3857 Pell Pl Ste 301
San Diego, CA 92130-4141
Telephone: (858) 353-6279
Research Specialty: Immigration and Naturalization Records, Military Records, Service Records, Morning Reports, Personnel Files, DD214, Unit rosters, Payroll records, Medical Records, Family Genealogy, Citizenship Records

Jan A Campbell
A1 Positive Thought
PO Box 13877
Tallahassee, FL 32317-3877
Research Specialty: Military Records and Awards (Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Indian Wars/Treaties, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam), Pensions, VA benefits, NARA Records and Bounty Land, Native American Lineage Research including Dawes rolls. Genealogy and Family History Records including Census, Birth/Marriage/Death, Vital Records, Wills and Voter records. Passports, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization records. Family Trees, Pedigree Charts, and Photographs. Preparation of lineage society applications for DAR, SAR, and Tribal citizenship by descent. Searches of International, National and State Digital Archives, and University Libraries. On-site searches of Florida, Georgia and Alabama Archives and electronic records.
About: Reasonable rates.

Ted Gostin
PO Box 56321
Sherman Oaks, CA 91413-1321
Telephone: (818) 501-5852
Fax: (818) 501-5852
Research Specialty: Naturalizations, passenger lists, So. Calif. Indian tribal registrations, court records

Find a researcher by:

*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272