Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Topics

Researchers Specializing in Asbestos Related Records *

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.

Jack R. Lopez
Archival Research Service
12624 Orchard Brook Ter
Potomac, MD 20854-2326
Telephone: (240) 432-0038
E-mail: archivalresearchservice@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military Records for World War I and thereafter: all the service branches and civilian records that apply; Veterans service records; Asbestos
About: We are a research company with many years of experience at the National Archives and other major sources of records in the Metropolitan Washington DC area. We have conducted research in Military Records for World War I and thereafter. Our efforts cover all the service branches and civilian records that apply. We provide paper copies from originals, microfilm, photographs and motion film and video. We are a fee based company, providing a service to relatives and families of veterans who want to preserve and honor the past. We also assist in support of legal research for the purpose of validating service records and attorney client asbestos cases.

Sim Smiley
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Diplomatic Records, Cold War, Military Records, Captured German Records, Navy Records. OSS, Intelligence and State Department Records, WW2 and onward. Also FBI, CIA Crest, Holocaust, Looted Nazi Gold, War Crimes, Nuremberg, OWI and propaganda.
About: One of the original compilers of the OSS finding aids and researcher for William J. Casey’s memoir. Clients include the BBC, Ken Burns and the Monuments Men Project. Former State Department simultaneous interpreter in French and Italian (with Presidential assignments), can also conduct research in Spanish, Portuguese, German, Swedish and Norwegian. 20 years experience and a stickler for client satisfaction.

Orah Hurst
Paper Trails Historical Research, LLC
2506 Terrett Ave
Alexandria, VA 22301-1151
Telephone: (703) 837-8663
Fax: (703) 837-8664
E-mail: papertrails.research@verizon.net
Research Specialty: Asbestos on ships: US Navy, Merchant Marine, Coast Guard, Naval Air.
About: Providing service to veterans and their attorneys since 1994.

American International Solutions, LLC
Donald Budrejko
PO Box 8732
Reston, VA 20195
Telephone: (860) 961-7298
E-mail: info@americaninternationalsolutions.com
Research Specialty: American & International History (Asia-Pacific, European, Latin American, Mediterranean, & Middle East). Aviation and Aerospace. Patents , Science, Technology, Industry, & Manufacturing. Military History: all Branches and Conflicts. Compiled service, pension, and unit records from the Civil War. Asbestos litigation including but not limited to - identifying potentially responsible parties and third party liabilities. Aerial photography, cartography, and still pictures. Research into issues involving Department of Energy, Department of Transportation, Department of State, Diplomatic and Congressional Records.
About: American, International(European, Mediterranean, Asia Pacific, Middle East) and Military History; Aviation and Aerospace. Military Research - all Branches and Conflicts. Comopiled service, pension, and unit records from the Civil War. Technology, management and land uses. Environmenal cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP’s" and 3rd party liabilities). Science, Technology & Manufacturing issues, historical operations and processes. CDR USNR, retired Naval Aviator, International Business Executive and experienced researcher. B.A. (History) Syracuse University; M.B.A. (Operations Management) Western New England University. Co-author of three professional publications with NASA Astronaut Dr. Paul D. Scully-Power, DSc on Modeling & Simulation, and Operations Analysis.

Jeremy Bigwood
Archival Research
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
E-mail: jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW 3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone: (202) 298-6937
Fax: (202) 298-6937
E-mail: mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Research Specialty: Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Cliff Callahan
2059 S Glebe Rd
Arlington, VA 22204
Telephone: (703) 772-6030
E-mail: callahan331@aol.com
Research Specialty: State Dept./Diplomatic; Asbestos & Environmental Exposure; Navy and Coast Guard; JFK; Nixon; WWII & Vietnam, including Action Reports, Journals, Unit Histories.
About: Over 14 years experience.

Kevin Morrow
Ab Initio Archives Research
6908 Fairfax Dr 302
Arlington, VA 22213
Telephone: (540) 207-7222
E-mail: morrow.kevin@gmail.com
Research Specialty: TEXTUAL: Evironmental cleanup litigation with former federal contractors involving hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.; identifying potentially responsible parties, third party liabilities, land use history, etc.; Academic research, concentrating on all branches of the military (particularly World War II, Korea, Vietnam), diplomatic and intelligence fields (OSS; State Dept.; Army and Navy Intelligence). Veterans benefits(medals, Agent Orange Exposure, action reports, deck logs, muster rolls), Navy (Bureaus of Ships, Ordnance, Aviation); PHOTOS: military (especially 20th century), civilian; CARTOGRAPHIC: military and civilian.
About: Independent historian/researcher. Former National Archives employee. Knows German and French.

Sonia Murphy
Sunshine Historical Research
613 Blick Dr
Colesville, MD 20904-2904
Telephone: (301) 625-8937
E-mail: gscmurphy@aol.com
Research Specialty: Bureau of Ships (RG 19); State Department (RGs 59, 84); FBI (RG 65); Alien Property (RG 131); Maritime (RG 178); War Production Board (RG 179); Naval Installations (RG 181); War Manpower (RG 188); OSS (RG 226); RFC (RG 234); CIA (RG 263)

Terri Orguz
Golden Seal Enterprises, Inc.
230 Aviation Dr
Winchester, VA 22602-4522
Telephone: (571) 234-3481
Fax: (540) 535-2285
E-mail: toguz@goldensealenterprises.com
Research Specialty: Military history,Pre-Revolution thru Korean War, Industrial History, Plancor’s, Insurance Archaeology, Environmental, Genealogical.

Owen McGillivray
416 Boston Ave
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4148
Telephone: (503) 709-0536
E-mail: owen_mcgillivray@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Textual records (civilian), particularly in the Agricultural Adjustment Administration

Cathy Sippel; Jack Schworm
ResearchPlus
PO Box 638
Severna Park, MD 21146-0638
Telephone: (410) 729-4050
E-mail: researchplus@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Will research anything to fit your needs

Tina C. Jones
American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Dr Ste 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 383-7834
E-mail: theoscarmarionproject@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

Mike Constandy, Senior Researcher
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: info@usndecklogs.com
Research Specialty: We specialize in naval and maritime research, deck logs, action reports, muster rolls, asbestos litigation support, NPRC 201 and 214 file research, and PTSD claims. We also provide full service photo, cartographic, and engineering imagery.
About: A professional military and historical research firm with nearly twenty years of worldwide experience sourcing unique data for the legal, historical, governmental, and veteran communities.

Michael G. Bracey
Bracey Archival Research
2708 Middle Neck Rd
Odenton, MD 21113
Telephone: (301) 219-1918
E-mail: micher9@comcast.net
Research Specialty: Military and Civilian records, personnel records at St. Louis, Vietnam; Navy deck logs and muster rolls, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam; Asbestos litigation research
About: I’m a professional Archival Research Specialist with 14 years experience researching military/civilian records at National Archives, College Park, MD. I graduated from Antioch School of law, Washington, DC in 1981. I have performed asbestos litigation research at the National Archives for various national law firms.

Kevin Leonard
The Leonard Group, Inc.
9364 Spring Water Path
Jessup, MD 20794
Telephone: (301) 776-9260
Fax: (301) 776-8962
E-mail: info@theleonardgroupinc.com
Research Specialty: African-American history, American military history, WWI, WWII, US Navy, US Army, US Air Force, 20th century American History, asbestos, captured German records, census records, Cold War, congressional records, court records, Coast Guard/lighthouse/customs records, diplomatic records, genealogy and family history records, immigration and naturalization records, intelligence, labor & business history/transportation/regulatory agency records, military records, Native American relations records, President Nixon, science, technology, natural resources & the environment, audio/sound recordings, cartographic/architectural/ships plans records, film & video recordings, still photos.

John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N Pitt St Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
E-mail: edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Mike Reis
History Associates Incorporated
300 North Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: hai@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Deborah A. Liptak
info2go
5305 Grand Mesa Dr
Fort Worth, TX 76137-3523
Telephone: (817) 656-3099
Fax: (817) 656-3099
E-mail: deb@debsinfo2go.us
Research Specialty: Historical research in SW federal records; SW federal court records

Paul Barker
13817 Bauer Dr
Rockville, MD 20853-2702
Telephone: (301) 871-2156
Fax: (301) 871-2156
E-mail: pd.barker@verizon.net
Research Specialty: Record Groups 19 and 24; Navy ship plans, muster rolls, inspection reports, asbestos litigation

Helen Weiss
Helen Weiss Productions
PO Box 21264
Washington, DC 20090-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
E-mail: hwprod2004@aol.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual records - all subjects

Daniel Gallacher, Senior Associate Historian
Historical Research Associates, Inc.
125 Bank St 5th Fl Box 7086
Missoula, MT 59806-7086
Telephone: (406) 721-1958
Fax: (406) 721-1964
E-mail: gallach@hrassoc.com
Research Specialty: Diplomatic, labor, business, transportation, regulatory, military, Native American relations, science, technology, natural resources, and environmental records

Kathleen M. O’Connor
Archives Research
2222 22nd Ave
San Francisco, CA 94116-1708
Telephone: (415) 731-1612
E-mail: archivesresearch@sbcglobal.net
Research Specialty: Asbestos - RG 181,313, 26, 178; Navy - RG 181, 313; DERPS/FUDS - RG 121, 270, 291, 77, 181, 313; Native American Carnev. only RG 75; Shipyards: Mare Island, San Francisco, Pearl Harbor - RG 181

Mary Jane Williams
Archival and Public Domain Research
4224 Military Rd NW
Washington, DC 20015
Telephone: (978) 835-0440
E-mail: meadowtrees@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment, captured German records.
About: Know French, German, some Italian.

Thomas F. McCaffery
McCaffery & Associates, Inc
107 S West St Ste 709
Alexandria, VA 22314-2824
Telephone: (703) 548-6144
Fax: (703) 548-6146
E-mail: info@mccafferyassoc.com
Research Specialty: Naval, Maritime, and Aviation researchers specializing in research for law firms and their clients defending toxic tort claims; business, labor, military, regulatory, and transportation records; architectural, cartographic, and ship plans; photographs

Katie Rasdorf
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
E-mail: krasdorf@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
E-mail: mmj@erols.com
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 20+ years experience.

Gina McNeely
Gina McNeely Picture Research
21470 Basil Ct
Broadlands, VA 20148-3611
Telephone: (703) 723-6770
E-mail: gina.mcneely@verizon.net;gina.b.mcneely@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military history, aviation, still photographs, motion pictures, arms and armament.

Stephen Strothers
CTI, Capitol Toxics Investigations
8 Froude Cir
Cabin John, MD 20818
Telephone: (703) 304-2089
E-mail: capitoltox@gmail
Research Specialty: Document search, review, and summary reports. Documents can be provided as hard-copy, electronic copy (with Bates numbers), or certified originals. Specialty services include searches through State Archives and other document banks throughout the country; toxicology, federal chemical policy, computer technology, and data management.
About: CTI is a woman and minority owned and operated business. We have research expertise and rapid access to the Library of Congress, the National Archives, Federal Agency dockets, and other repositories of original archived documents, journals, government communications, etc. Services include document search, review, and summary reports. Documents can be provided as hard-copy, electronic copy (with Bates numbers), or certified originals. Specialty services include searches through State Archives and other document banks throughout the country. Our researchers have expertise in toxicology, federal chemical policy, computer technology, and data management.

Joel Gallagher
JRG Asbestos Research
8201 16th St 419
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Telephone: (201) 725-1236
E-mail: jgallagher@jrgasbestosresearch.com
Research Specialty: Navy Records; Asbestos
About: Former employee of major law firm specializing in asbestos litigation. Able to provide your firm with essential records required to litigate cases most effectively & efficiently.

Susan Strange
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
E-mail: strangeresearch@mac.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.

Chris Bredehoeft
HGL
11107 Sunset Hills Rd Ste 400
Reston, VA 20190-5309
Telephone: (703) 736-4523
Fax: (703) 471-4180
E-mail: cbredehoeft@hgl.com
Research Specialty: Asbestos; Court Records; military records; Navy records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
E-mail: shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Richard Horan
Concord Research & Consulting Group, LLC
200 International Dr Ste 157
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Telephone: (603) 433-9000
E-mail: rhoran@concordresearch.org
Research Specialty: Asbestos, Navy & Maritime Records

Ryan Curtis
Archive Research Associates
539 Calef Hwy Ste 206
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 978-7456
E-mail: rcurtis@archiveresearch.com
Research Specialty: Environmental, Regulatory, Labor Records, and Military Records

Matthew Hogan
Matthew C. Hogan
PO Box 643
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Telephone: (301) 922-9065
Fax: (301) 890-0688
E-mail: hoganresearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: African American History, Asbestos, Court Records, Immigration, Emigration, and Naturalization; Military Records; Science, Technology, and Natural Resources; Diplomatic Records, Captured German Records; Cold War records; Congressional Records; Genealogy and Family History Records; Intelligence records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon records; Still Photos; Audio-Visual

Jeff Lynch
Jeffrey Lynch, COL US Army Retd, AMEDD, MBA, PMP
PO Box 55128
Seattle, WA 98155
Telephone: (206) 363-3208
E-mail: jlynch@nwlink.com
Research Specialty: US Military construction within the United States 1940-1950; asbestos clad buildings; demolitions and removals; UXO removals; FUDS hazardous material clean up; litigation expert witness; US DOJ experience

Jim Barber
AAA Document Research and Retrieval Service, a wholly owned subsidiary of DFW Paralegal Service
PO Box 48010
Fort Worth, TX 76148-0010
Telephone: (800) 758-4882
Fax: (817) 339-6156
E-mail: info@dfwparalegalservice.com
Research Specialty: State & Federal Document Research and Retrieval; Civil, Criminal & Bankruptcy Court Records; Immigration Records; Texas County & Court Records.

Lori Zakaria; Kimberly Lopez
Aviation Asbestos Researchers
12867 Bahama Ct
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91739
Telephone: (760) 792-7807
E-mail: researchasbestos@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Aviation asbestos research in military & civilian recors. Asbestos litigation support: Provide lawfirms with essential records, We do shipyards as well.

Rosanna Martinez
PO Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL 33234-7751
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
E-mail: rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: General historic records; All archival records
About: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Dr. John Arnold
NICOM, Inc
1316 Queen St Ste 2000
Alexandria, VA 22314-2406
Telephone: (703) 684-4636
Fax: (703) 684-7335
E-mail: seek@nicom.com
Research Specialty: Experienced specialists in all areas of military and civil records; archival research.

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone: (603) 247-1049
E-mail: info@nhgenealogist.com
Research Specialty: All research


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.