Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire - Media Types

Researchers Specializing in Cartographic and Architectural Records*

Note: To ensure fairness, this list displays in random order each time it is viewed.
Be sure to view the entire list.

Michael Constandy
Westmoreland Research
PO Box 20069
Alexandria, VA 22320-9804
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 317-1709
E-mail: mjc@westmorelandresearch.org
Research Specialty: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard; Diplomatic; Intelligence; Military Records; Navy; Film and Video; Photos and Pictures

Thomas F. McCaffery
McCaffery & Associates, Inc
107 S West St Ste 709
Alexandria, VA 22314-2824
Telephone: (703) 548-6144
Fax: (703) 548-6146
E-mail: info@mccafferyassoc.com
Research Specialty: Naval, Maritime, and Aviation researchers specializing in research for law firms and their clients defending toxic tort claims; business, labor, military, regulatory, and transportation records; architectural, cartographic, and ship plans; photographs

Tina C. Jones
American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Dr Ste 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 383-7834
E-mail: theoscarmarionproject@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

American International Solutions, LLC
Donald Budrejko
PO Box 8732
Reston, VA 20195
Telephone: (860) 961-7298
E-mail: info@americaninternationalsolutions.com
Research Specialty: American & International History (Asia-Pacific, European, Latin American, Mediterranean, & Middle East). Aviation and Aerospace. Patents , Science, Technology, Industry, & Manufacturing. Military History: all Branches and Conflicts. Compiled service, pension, and unit records from the Civil War. Asbestos litigation including but not limited to - identifying potentially responsible parties and third party liabilities. Aerial photography, cartography, and still pictures. Research into issues involving Department of Energy, Department of Transportation, Department of State, Diplomatic and Congressional Records.
About: American, International(European, Mediterranean, Asia Pacific, Middle East) and Military History; Aviation and Aerospace. Military Research - all Branches and Conflicts. Comopiled service, pension, and unit records from the Civil War. Technology, management and land uses. Environmenal cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP’s" and 3rd party liabilities). Science, Technology & Manufacturing issues, historical operations and processes. CDR USNR, retired Naval Aviator, International Business Executive and experienced researcher. B.A. (History) Syracuse University; M.B.A. (Operations Management) Western New England University. Co-author of three professional publications with NASA Astronaut Dr. Paul D. Scully-Power, DSc on Modeling & Simulation, and Operations Analysis.

Rosanna Martinez
PO Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL 33234-7751
Telephone: (305) 389-9134
E-mail: rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: General historic records; All archival records
About: General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

Ryan Curtis
Archive Research Associates
539 Calef Hwy Ste 206
Epping, NH 03042
Telephone: (603) 978-7456
E-mail: rcurtis@archiveresearch.com
Research Specialty: Environmental, Regulatory, Labor Records, and Military Records

David Thaxton; Kevin Green
Thaxton Green Studios, Inc.
PO Box 360
Millwood, VA 22646
Telephone: (540) 837-9300
E-mail: david@thaxtongreen.com
Research Specialty: Motion Pictures, Video and Still Picture research for inclusion into television documentaries, feature films and other media productions. Vietnam - Provide unit and 201 File documentation for use in VA claims. Specific - 1st Cav. Division Awards, Orders, unit & individual.
About: 30 years experience in archive research, consultation and production.

Adam Kennedy
PO Box 1301
Crown Point, IN 46308-1301
Research Specialty: Motion pictures and video; Still pictures and photographs; Researcher for documentary filmmakers, screenwriters, producers, and other filmmakers; Declassified documents; Architecture; Chicago; City planning; Military records; Middle East; Labor history; Sports history; Women’s history; Special media (non-text) records
About: Film and still images (photographs). Research for documentations, screenwriters, producers, and other filmakers. Declassified documents. Areas of interest/specialty: Architecture, Chicago, city planning, Military, Middle East, Labor Politics, and Sports Women.

Yoko Nagasaka Myers
Nichimy Corporation
6215 Greenbelt Rd Ste 201
College Park, MD 20740-2364
Telephone: (301) 313-0610
Fax: (301) 313-0611
E-mail: nichimyusa@nichimy.co.jp
Research Specialty: WWII Pacific Theater military and navy records (text, photographs, motion picture, cartographic) and Allied Occupation of Japan, Japanese Koreans in Japan, Okinawa - related issues. U.S.-Japan Relations, and migration.

Helen Weiss
Helen Weiss Productions
PO Box 21264
Washington, DC 20090-0764
Telephone: (202) 255-0380
E-mail: hwprod2004@aol.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual records - all subjects

Richard Vidutis
Recordations
205 Yoakum Pkwy 1105
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: (301) 233-0651
E-mail: culturalheritage@fastmail.fm
Research Specialty: Military records (base records, theater construction engineering, ordnance locations, base architecture, oral histories); Engineering records (bridge construction, plans, mining, architecture); Marine records (ship types, plans, shipwreck locations, fatalities, cargo manifests, customs records); Immigration (emigration, ethnic communities, census records, labor history); Cartographic and architectural records (maps, drawings); Photographs and pictures.

Warren Hower
American Historical Research
1927 Hillside Dr
Falls Church, VA 22043
Telephone: (703) 517-3977
E-mail: warren.hower@howerresearch.com
Research Specialty: Includes: 1) Environmental cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP’s", and 3rd party liabilities, historical operations and processes; 2) Academic Historical Research, specializing in US diplomatic relations 1800-1900’s, WWII military history; 3) Corporate Histories specializing in contract research, product development histories, change in ownership, etc.; 4) Cartographic Research.
About: Former military/government contractor and experienced researcher. In addition, I have access to wide pool of researchers and historians who specialize in a variety of topics. If you need specific topic researched and you don’t see it listed, please ask.

Kevin Morrow
Ab Initio Archives Research
6908 Fairfax Dr 302
Arlington, VA 22213
Telephone: (540) 207-7222
E-mail: morrow.kevin@gmail.com
Research Specialty: TEXTUAL: Evironmental cleanup litigation with former federal contractors involving hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.; identifying potentially responsible parties, third party liabilities, land use history, etc.; Academic research, concentrating on all branches of the military (particularly World War II, Korea, Vietnam), diplomatic and intelligence fields (OSS; State Dept.; Army and Navy Intelligence). Veterans benefits(medals, Agent Orange Exposure, action reports, deck logs, muster rolls), Navy (Bureaus of Ships, Ordnance, Aviation); PHOTOS: military (especially 20th century), civilian; CARTOGRAPHIC: military and civilian.
About: Independent historian/researcher. Former National Archives employee. Knows German and French.

Martin Schipper
Martin Paul Schipper
2329 Dixon Rd
Frederick, MD 21704-8130
Telephone: (240) 418-4320
E-mail: martin_schipper@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: African American history; genealogy; architectural history; land records; military history; social history; and women’s history.

Mary Jane Williams
Archival and Public Domain Research
4224 Military Rd NW
Washington, DC 20015
Telephone: (978) 835-0440
E-mail: meadowtrees@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment, captured German records.
About: Know French, German, some Italian.

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough St
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone: (703) 864-3099
E-mail: shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Asbestos: Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio-Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Martin Baldessari
1522 Monroe Street NW
Washington, DC 20010-3141
Telephone: (202) 328-1155
E-mail: madaba@verizon.net
Research Specialty: Still Pictures, Motion pictures, Cartographic records, textual records; Civil War; WWII
About: Heavy experience in Still Pictures Branch. Also familiar with Motion Picture, Textual, and Cartographic. Generalist, with deep experience in Civil War and WWII. 30+ years in research.

Joan M. Mathys
MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec St NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone: (202) 537-3256
Fax: (202) 966-5816
E-mail: joanmathys@msn.com
Research Specialty: Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials

John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N Pitt St Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: (703) 822-4658
Fax: (703) 842-8656
E-mail: johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Research Specialty: Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

BJ Anderson
BJ Alderman
211 E 79th Ter
Kansas City, MO 64114
Telephone: (816) 824-8071
E-mail: luvdale884@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Truman Library, Eisenhower Library, Clinton Center, Civil War, WWII, WWI, Native Americans, westward expansion, transportation, manufacturing, history of individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, historic photographs, lawmen, outlaws, litigation, court cases, the arts, science, technology, Federal government, state government, local government, maps, architectural drawings, films.

Brian Gunn
Brian Eugene Gunn
18636 Hedgegrove Ter
Olney, MD 20832-1812
Telephone: (240) 277-1276
Fax: (301) 570-5828
E-mail: be_gunn@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: RG 109, Civil War, pension, census, military service, Congressional, court, genealogy, immigration and naturalization, labor, science, audiovisual, photographic, and cartographic records.

Michael Case
Case Archival Consulting
10110 Gates Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Telephone: (301) 526-9012
E-mail: casearchivalconsulting@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Moving Images, Still Photos, Cartographic.

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
E-mail: mmj@erols.com
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 20+ years experience.

Margaret Johnson
MMJ Research
3200 Garfield St NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone: (202) 333-4555
Fax: (202) 333-1059
E-mail: mmj@erols.com
Research Specialty: Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records.
About: 20+ years experience.

Michael Mattes
National Air Survey Center
4321 Baltimore Ave
Bladensburg, MD 20710-1036
Telephone: (800) 226-0177
Fax: (301) 927-5013
E-mail: nasccinfo@aol.com
Research Specialty: Cartographic Photo, Still Photo, Nixon Library, Textual, Genealogy, Mopix

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW 3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone: (202) 298-6937
Fax: (202) 298-6937
E-mail: mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Research Specialty: Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Yeme Hailu
PO Box 9324
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone: (202) 734-2952
E-mail: globaladdis@yahoo.com; letmeresearch@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Research specialties are genealogy, records media, series, subjects, any topics.

Jan A Campbell
A1 Positive Thought
PO Box 13877
Tallahassee, FL 32317-3877
E-mail: jacnrg@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Military Records and Awards (Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Indian Wars/Treaties, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam), Pensions, VA benefits, NARA Records and Bounty Land, Native American Lineage Research including Dawes rolls. Genealogy and Family History Records including Census, Birth/Marriage/Death, Vital Records, Wills and Voter records. Passports, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization records. Ancestry.com Family Trees, Pedigree Charts, and Photographs. Preparation of lineage society applications for DAR, SAR, and Tribal citizenship by descent. Searches of International, National and State Digital Archives, and University Libraries. On-site searches of Florida, Georgia and Alabama Archives and electronic records.
About: Reasonable rates.

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone: (603) 247-1049
E-mail: info@nhgenealogist.com
Research Specialty: All research

Herminio Rodriguez
Herminio Rodriguez Cultural & Historical Research
Nebraska St. Ac 5 Urb Caguas Norte
Caguas, PR 00725-2265
Telephone: (939)242-0121
Fax: (787) 744-8364
E-mail: chresearch@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Spanish Colonial period, Florida, and the Caribbean. Maps, books, prints, manuscripts, ethnographic materials, furniture and machinery, as well as land and water grants, historical structures and artifacts. Family search
About: He has over 20 years of research experience and specializes in the Spanish Colonial period, Florida and the Caribbean. He reads and transcribes Spanish paleographic documents. His services are designed to provide law firms, insurance companies, architects, urban planners, archaeologists, dealers, antiquarians and private collectors and literature, documents and records search with the utmost academic excellence of historical information pertaining to Caribbean history, maps, books, prints, manuscripts, ethnographic materials, furniture and machinery, as well as land and water grants, historical structures and artifacts. His family search helps to reconstruct the history of a particular family that is or has been related to an objects, document, structure or a collection.

Jane A. Martin
The Photo Editor
4731 Williamsburg Blvd
Arlington, VA 22207-2835
Telephone: (703) 765-1626
Fax: (703) 241-2939
E-mail: fotoeditor@comcast.net
Research Specialty: All archival imagery, maps, text, moving pictures, recorded sound, copyright verification

Mike Constandy, Senior Researcher
Deck Logs
PO Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone: (202) 421-5151
Fax: (703) 768-6609
E-mail: info@usndecklogs.com
Research Specialty: We specialize in naval and maritime research, deck logs, action reports, muster rolls, asbestos litigation support, NPRC 201 and 214 file research, and PTSD claims. We also provide full service photo, cartographic, and engineering imagery.
About: A professional military and historical research firm with nearly twenty years of worldwide experience sourcing unique data for the legal, historical, governmental, and veteran communities.

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: (703) 203-7770
E-mail: edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Mark Leutbecker
Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N Harrison St
Arlington, VA 22205
Telephone: (703) 536-5180; (703) 946-7146
Fax: (703)536-5180
E-mail: mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Research Specialty: African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests. Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers.
About: 40 years experience researching. Also does research at the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.

Stephen J. Riordan
Aviation Archives
9208 Cedar Way
Bethesda, MD 20814-2808
Telephone: (301) 717-6489
Research Specialty: RGs 18, 71, 72, 241, 432; aviation matters of all types; also Navy textual, photographic, and cartographic

Jeremy Bigwood
Archival Research
3200 16th Street NW 806
Washington, DC 20010-3348
Telephone: (202) 361-5000
Fax: (202) 319-9150
E-mail: jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Research Specialty: All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, military, diplomatic and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945).
About: Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives-or either one of the two-essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments, where applicable.

Christina A. Reynen, MLS, MA
Chicago Research
21 W Goethe 4D
Chicago, IL 60610-8291
Telephone: (312) 335-0586
E-mail: kreynen@rcn.com
Research Specialty: Biography, court records, labor and business history, immigration/emigration, house and building history.
About: Independent archivist/researcher, specializing in Chicago and Cook County history. Former contributor and fact checker for the Encyclopedia of Chicago.

John D. Bowen
613 Chichester Ln
Silver Spring, MD 20504-3331
Telephone: (301) 384-6533
Research Specialty: All record groups; still photographs; motion picture films; cartographic records; military research; Brady Collection; Battle of the Bulge; U.S. Air Corps; MACRs; World War II casualty, after action, and POW reports; Navy ship logs, diaries, and rosters

Sim Smiley
Academic Historical Research
4469 Sedgwick St NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone: (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Research Specialty: Intelligence, Diplomatic Records, Cold War, Military Records, Captured German Records, Navy Records. OSS, Intelligence and State Department Records, WW2 and onward. Also FBI, CIA Crest, Holocaust, Looted Nazi Gold, War Crimes, Nuremberg, OWI and propaganda.
About: One of the original compilers of the OSS finding aids and researcher for William J. Casey’s memoir. Clients include the BBC, Ken Burns and the Monuments Men Project. Former State Department simultaneous interpreter in French and Italian (with Presidential assignments), can also conduct research in Spanish, Portuguese, German, Swedish and Norwegian. 20 years experience and a stickler for client satisfaction.

Vicki Killian
Associates at Nicklason Research
5 Cleveland Ave
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4123
Telephone: (301) 588-0456
E-mail: vkillian@nicklason.com
Research Specialty: military, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business history, court records.

Horace C. White
Harmani Associates International LLC
1800 JFK Blvd Ste 300
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Telephone: (215) 253-4410
E-mail: hcwlaw@harmani.com
Research Specialty: Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; Navy records; and church records; architectural drawings, films.

Mike Reis
History Associates Incorporated
300 North Stonestreet Ave
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone: (301) 279-9697
Fax: (301) 279-9224
E-mail: hai@historyassociates.com
Research Specialty: African American history; Asbestos; Census; Congressional records; Court records; Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom records; Diplomatic records; Intelligence records; Labor and Business History; Legislative histories; Litigation-related researcher; Transportation records; Military records; Native American relations records
About: Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused.

Susan Strange
Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone: (202) 320-2672
E-mail: strangeresearch@mac.com
Research Specialty: Motion pictures, still photographs and textual records - all subjects.
About: Full time on site research.

Katie Rasdorf
4393 Kevin Walker Dr 228
Montclair, VA 22025
Telephone: (202) 498-4447
Fax: (703) 656-4851
E-mail: krasdorf@yahoo.com
Research Specialty: Modern military records; Genealogy; WWII; Korea; Vietnam; Cold War, Prisoners of War (POW); Missing in Action (MIA); Aerial imagery, cartography, still photos

Cece Saunders
Historical Perspectives, Inc.
PO Box 529
Westport, CT 06881
Telephone: (203) 226-7654
Fax: (203) 226-8376
E-mail: hpi@historicalperspectives.org
Research Specialty: Any type of genealogy and family history records, maps, drawings, photographs, cemetery records. We can also do cemetery site visits or anything else you require.
About: New York City and archival research specialists! Local to the area, Historical Perspectives’ trained historians will research any type of genealogy and family history records, maps, drawings, photographs, cemetery records (we can also do cemetery site visits), or anything else you require. We also work extensively at the NYC Municipal Archives, the NY Public Library, the NY Historical Society, the NYC Deeds offices, and numerous other New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey repositories.


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.