Research Our Records

Independent Researchers for Hire

Researchers Specializing in Cartographic and Architectural Records *

Ab Initio Archives Research, LLC
1403 Pathfinder Lane
McClean, VA 22101
Telephone:  (703) 439-8789
E-mail:  kevin@abinitioresearch.net
Contact Person:  Kevin Morrow
Research Specialty:  Independent researcher. Former National Archives employee. Environmental :activities of former federal contractor and defense installations (hazardous chemicals, asbestos, etc.); identifying potentially responsible parties, land use history. Academic: military (all armed service branches, all wars; action reports, deck logs, muster rolls, high-level military policy, foreign military studies, etc.), diplomatic/intelligence (OSS; State Dept.; Army and Navy), captured German records (German Foreign Office, Wehrmacht/SS, Nazi Party). Photos: military and civilian. Cartographic: maps, charts, architectural drawings, ships' plans. Special focus on Middle East. Know German and French, some Arabic.

BJ Alderman
211 E 79th Terrace
Kansas City, MO 64114
Telephone:  (816) 824-8071
E-mail:  luvdale884@gmail.com
Contact Person:  BJ Anderson
Research Specialty:  Truman Library, Eisenhower Library, Clinton Center, Civil War, WWII, WWI, Native Americans, westward expansion, transportation, manufacturing, history of individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, historic photographs, lawmen, outlaws, litigation, court cases, the arts, science, technology, Federal government, state government, local government, maps, architectural drawings, films.

American Historical Research
1927 Hillside Drive
Falls Church, VA 22043
Telephone:  (703) 517-3977
E-mail:  warren.hower@howerresearch.com
Contact Person: Warren Hower
Research Specialty:  Former military/government contractor and experienced researcher. Areas of expertise include: 1)Environmental cleanup litigation (included but not limited to - identifying "potentially responsible parties-PRP's", and 3rd party liabilities, historical operations and processes 2)Academic Historical Research, specializing in US diplomatic relations 1800-1900's, WWII military history 3)Corporate Histories specializing in contract research, product development histories, change in ownership, etc. 4) Cartographic Research. In addition, I have access to wide pool of researchers and historians who specialize in a variety of topics. If you need specific topic researched and you don't see it listed, please ask.

American International Solutions, LLC
PO Box 8732
Reston, VA 20195
Telephone: (860) 961-7298 (cell)
E-mail:  info@americaninternationalsolutions.com
Contact Person:  Donald Budrejko
Research Specialty: American & International History (Asia-Pacific, European, Latin American, Mediterranean, & Middle East). Aviation and Aerospace. Patents , Science, Technology, Industry, & Manufacturing. Military History all Branches and Conflicts. Compiled service, pension, and unit records from the Civil War. Asbestos litigation including but not limited to - identifying potentially responsible parties and third party liabilities. Aerial photography, cartography, and still pictures. Research into issues involving Department of Energy, Department of Transportation, Department of State, Diplomatic and Congressional Records.

American Roots Company
451 Hungerford Drive, Suite 119-234
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone:  (240) 383-7834
E-mail:  theoscarmarionproject@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Tina C. Jones
Research Specialty:  Geographic Area - Nationwide Searches, Early/Colonial Research, Tracing Back to 1st Immigrant Ancestor, African American/Slavery Research, Military Research, Verifying/Documenting Lineages for SAR and DAR.

Archival and Public Domain Research
(of Meadow Tree Films/MeadowTree Press)
5303 Carlton St.
Bethesda, M 20816
Telephone:  (cell phone): (978) 835-0440
E-mail:  meadowtrees@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Mary Jane Williams
Research Specialty:  Videos, films, audio and photos for documentaries, period films and books. Specialties: American history, Europe. (Know French, German, some Italian.) Art, literature, politics, animals, architecture, energy, the environment. (Know French, German, some Italian).

Archival Research
3200 16th Street, NW #806
Washington, D.C. 20010-3348
Telephone:  (202) 361-5000
Fax:  (202) 319-9150
E-mail:  jeremybigwood@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Jeremy Bigwood
Research Specialty:  All records regardless of media from 1700s to present including United States and Russian intelligence, diplomatic, military, and civilian records as well as captured German military and police records (1890s-1945). Research can be carried out simultaneously by professional researchers in both the US and in Russian archives - or either one of the two - essential for any serious WWII or Cold War research. Open records laws (such as the US FOIA) can be used as an adjunct to archival research by declassifying responsive records directly from governments. All media: Captured German Records, Cold War, Diplomatic Records, Intelligence, Labor, Military, Science.

Archives Researchers
P.O. Box 320092
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone:  (703) 585-3463
E-mail:  archivesresearchers@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Rose Esber
Research Specialty:  Experienced researching military, diplomatic, still photographs, motion pictures, and cartographic records for dissertations, international legal briefs, documentaries and authors. Specialized in Middle East and colonial history.

Associates at Nicklason Research
2217 N. Harrison Street
Arlington, Virginia 22205
Telephone:  (703) 536-5180 or (703) 946-7146
Fax:  (703)536-5180
E-mail:  mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Contact Person:  Mark Leutbecker
Research Specialty:  40 years experience researching African-American History; Congressional Records; Court Records (Supreme Court, Court of Claims); Coast Guard/Lighthouse/Custom Records; Labor & Business History/Transportation/Regulatory Agencies; Military-Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Guard, Veterans (Civil, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam); Native American History; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental clean-up (CERCLA, FUDS, PRP, MMRP); State Department. Land Use, Water Rights, Mining, Forests.Textual, Cartographic, Photographs, Newspapers. Also Library of Congress, Smithsonian, and other repositories.

Aviation Archives
9208 Cedar Way
Bethesda, MD 20814-2808
Telephone:  (301) 717-6489
Contact Person:  Stephen J. Riordan
Research Specialty:  RGs 18, 71, 72, 241, 432; aviation matters of all types; also Navy textual, photographic, and cartographic

Amylynne Baker-Santagate
20 Starwood Dr
Hampstead, NH 03841
Telephone:  (603) 247-1049
E-mail:  info@nhgenealogist.com
Contact Person:  Amylynne
Research Specialty:  Any + All available at these facilities listed below

Martin Baldessari
1522 Monroe Street NW
Washington, DC 20010-3141
Telephone:  (202) 328-1155
E-mail:  madaba@verizon.net
Contact Person:  Martin Baldessari
Research Specialty:  Heavy experience in Still Pictures Branch. Also familiar with Motion Picture, Textual, and Cartographic. Generalist, with particular experience on Civil War and WWII.

John D. Bowen
613 Chichester Lane
Silver Spring, MD 20504-3331
Telephone:  (301) 384-6533
E-mail:  johndbowen@earthlink.net
Contact Person:  John D. Bowen
Research Specialty:  All record groups; still photographs; motion picture films; cartographic records; military research; Brady Collection; Battle of the Bulge; U.S. Air Corps; MACRs; World War II casualty; after action and POW reports; Navy ship logs, diaries, and rosters

Case Archival Consulting
10110 Gates Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Telephone:  (301) 526-9012
E-mail:  casearchivalconsulting@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Michael Case
Research Specialty:  Moving Images, Still Photos, Cartographic.

Chicago Research
21 W. Goethe, 4D
Chicago, IL 60610-8291
Telephone:  (312) 335-0586
E-mail:  kreynen@rcn.com
Contact Person:  Christina A. Reynen, MLS/MA
Research Specialty:  Independent archivist/researcher, specializing in Chicago and Cook County history. Areas of expertise; biography, court records, labor and business history, immigration/emigration, house and building history. Former contributor and fact checker for the Encyclopedia of Chicago.

Martha Davidson
2520 41st Street NW #3
Washington, DC 20007
Telephone:  (202) 298-6937
Fax:  (202) 298-6937
E-mail:  mdwdc@sprintmail.com
Contact Person:  Martha Davidson
Research Specialty:  Still pictures, cartographic materials, and textual records.

Deck Logs
Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone:  (202) 421-5151
Fax:  (703) 768-6609 E-mail:  info@usndecklogs.com
Contact Person: Mike Constandy, Senior Researcher
Research Specialty:  A professional military and historical research firm with nearly twenty years of worldwide experience sourcing unique data for the legal, historical, governmental, and veteran communities. We specialize in naval and maritime research, deck logs, action reports, muster rolls, asbestos litigation support, NPRC 201 and 214 file research, and PTSD claims. We also provide full service photo, cartographic, and engineering imagery.

Diplomatic and Intelligence Research
4469 Sedgwick St. NW
Washington, DC 20016
Telephone:  (202) 812-8466
E-mail: sim.smiley@gmail.com
Contact Person: Ms. Sim Smiley
Research Specialty:I specialize in diplomatic, intelligence and military history of the WII, the Cold War and beyond. Particular focus on: OSS, CIA, CIA Crest, State Dept, Captured German Records, Italy, France, Army Navy Intelligence, Biological Warfare, Nixon and the FBI. Fluent in French, Italian and Swedish and can also research in German and Spanish. Former NARA volunteer in Modern Military Branch where I compiled finding aids for OSS records.

Brian Eugene Gunn
18636 Hedgegrove Terrace
Olney, MD 20832-1812
Telephone:  (240) 277-1276
Fax:  (301) 570-5828
E-mail:  be_gunn@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Brian Gunn
Research Specialty:  RG 109, Civil War, pension, census, military service, Congressional, court, genealogy, immigration and naturalization, labor, science, audiovisual, photographic, and cartographic records

Yeme Hailu
P.O. Box 9324
Washington, DC 20005
E-mail: letmeresearch@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Yeme Hailu
Research Specialty: Research specialties are genealogy, records media, series, subjects, any topics.

Harmani Associates International LLC
1800 JFK BLVD Suite 300
Philadelphia PA 19103
Telephone:  (215) 253-4410
E-mail:  hcwlaw@harmani.com
Contact Person:  Horace C. White
Research Specialty:  Genealogical and family history including but not limited to: immigration and naturalization records; census records; birth, marriage and other vital records; court and land records; Navy records; and church records; architectural drawings, films.

Helen Weiss Productions
Post Office Box 21264
Washington, DC 20009-0764
Telephone:  (202) 255-0380
E-mail:  hwprod2004@aol.com
Contact Person:  Helen Weiss
Research Specialty:  Motion pictures, video and recorded sound - all subjects; prints and photographs - all subjects; documentary, exhibit, and news research; textual - all subjects

Herminio Rodriguez Cultural & Historical Research
Nebraska St. Ac5, Urb. Caguas Norte
Caguas, PR 00725+2265
Telephone:  (939)242-0121
Fax:  (787) 744-8364
E-mail:  chresearch@gmail.com
Contact Person:  Herminio Rodriguez
Research Specialty:  He has over 20 years of research experience and specializes in the Spanish Colonial period, Florida and the Caribbean. He reads and transcribes Spanish paleographic documents. His services are designed to provide law firms, insurance companies, architects, urban planners, archaeologists, dealers, antiquarians and private collectors and literature, documents and records search with the utmost academic excellence of historical information pertaining to Caribbean history, maps, books, prints, manuscripts, ethnographic materials, furniture and machinery, as well as land and water grants, historical structures and artifacts. His family search helps to reconstruct the history of a particular family that is or has been related to an objects, document, structure or a collection.

Historical Research Associates, Inc.
419 7th St. NW, Suite 403
Washington, D.C. 20004
Telephone:  (202) 557-0222
Fax:  (406) 721-1964
E-mail:  kzahniser@hrassoc.com
Contact Person:  Keith Zahniser
Research Specialty:  All research.

History Associates Incorporated
300 North Stonestreet Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-1655
Telephone:  (301) 279-9697
Fax:  (301) 279-9224
E-mail:  hai@historyassociates.com
Contact Person:  Mike Reis
Research Specialty:  Litigation-related research into a wide range of textual and non-textual records. Environmental site history, legislative histories, and Holocaust related records research are only a few of the areas where we have focused

Historical Perspectives, Inc.
P.O. Box 529
Westport, CT 06881
Telephone:  (203) 226-7654
Fax:  (203) 226-8376
E-mail:  hpi@historicalperspectives.org
Contact Person:  Cece Saunders
Research Specialty:  New York City and archival research specialists! Local to the area, Historical Perspectives' trained historians will research any type of genealogy and family history records, maps, drawings, photographs, cemetery records (we can also do cemetery site visits), or anything else you require. We also work extensively at the NYC Municipal Archives, the NY Public Library, the NY Historical Society, the NYC Deeds offices, and numerous other New York, connecticut, and New Jersey repositories.

Margaret Johnson
3200 Garfield Street NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone:  (202) 333-4555
Fax:  (202) 333-1059
E-mail:  mmj@erols.com
Contact Person:  Margaret Johnson
Research Specialty:  Photographic, cartographic, textual, film, and microfilm records

Adam C. Kennedy
1310 W. 90th Ave #305
Merrillville, Indiana 46410
E-mail:  purduehistory1@yahoo.com
Contact Person: Adam Kennedy
Research Specialty:  History, Architecture, Labor, Chicago Area, City Planning, Photographs, Film, etc.

Vicki Killian, Nicklason Research Associates
5 Cleveland Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912-4123
Telephone:  (301) 588-0456
E-mail:  vkillian@nicklason.com
Contact Person:  Vicki Killian
Research Specialty:  military, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business history, court records.

Mark Leutbecker, Nicklason Research Associates
2217 N. Harrison Street
Arlington, Virginia 22205
Telephone:  (703) 536-5180
Fax:  (703)536-5180
E-mail:  mleutbecker@nicklason.com
Contact Person:  Mark Leutbecker
Research Specialty:  Army, Navy, civilian, cartographic, photographic, Native American, environmental, judicial, Congressional, business, court records.

MMJ Research
3200 Garfield Street NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone:  (202) 333-4555
Fax:  (202) 333-1059
E-mail:  mmj@erols.com
Contact Person:  Margaret Johnson
Research Specialty:  Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records. 20+ years experience.

Rosanna Martinez
P.O.Box 347751
Coral Gables, FL
Telephone:  (305) 389-9134
E-mail:  rosannamartinez@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Rosanna Martinez
Research Specialty:  General Research. All subjects. Research in Spanish, Russian and English.

McCaffery & Associates, Inc.
107 S West Street Suite 709
Alexandria, VA 22314-2824
Telephone:  (703) 548-6144
Fax:  (703) 548-6146
E-mail:  info@mccafferyassoc.com
Contact Person:  Thomas F. McCaffery
Research Specialty:  Naval, Maritime, and Aviation researchers specializing in research for law firms and their clients defending toxic tort claims; business, labor, military, regulatory, and transportation records; architectural, cartographic, and ship plans; photographs

MJM Picture and Film Research
2801 Quebec Street NW 222
Washington, DC 20008-1242
Telephone:  (202) 537-3256
Fax:  (202) 966-5816
E-mail:  joanmathys@msn.com
Contact Person:  Joan M. Mathys
Research Specialty:  Motion Picture (moving images) and sound (audio recordings); Still Picture and Graphics; Textual materials; Cartographic materials.

Shannon Bridget Murphy
2660 Petersborough Street
Herndon, VA 20171-2443
Telephone:  (703) 864-3099
E-mail:  shannoninpapertrails@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Shannon Bridget Murphy
Research Specialty:  Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Coast Guard, Lighthouse and Customs Records; Diplomatic Records; Family History; Immigration and Naturalization; Intelligence; Labor and Transportation; Military Records - Military searches including lineage and patriotic applications; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and Environmental Records; Audio and Sound Recordings; Motion Pictures and Audio- Silent films; Film and Video; Photo Stills and Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

National Air Survey Center
4321 Baltimore Avenue
Bladensburg, MD 20710-1036
Telephone:  (800) 226-0177
Fax:  (301) 927-5013
E-mail:  nasccinfo@aol.com
Contact Person:  Michael Mattes
Research Specialty:  Cartographic Photo, Still Photo, Nixon Library, Textual, Genealogy, Mopix

Nichimy Corporation
6215 Greenbelt Road, Suite 201
College Park, MD 20740-2364
Telephone:  (301) 313-0610
Fax:  (301) 313-0611
E-mail:  nichimyusa@nichimy.co.jp
Contact Person:  Yoko Nagasaka Myers
Research Specialty:  WWII Pacific Theater military and navy records (text, photographs, motion picture, cartographic) and Allied Occupation of Japan, Japanese Koreans in Japan, Okinawa - related issues. U.S.-Japan Relations, and migration.

The Photo Editor
4731 Williamsburg Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22207-2835
Telephone:  (703) 765-1626
Fax:  (703) 241-2939
E-mail:  fotoeditor@comcast.net
Contact Person:  Jane A. Martin
Research Specialty:  All archival imagery, maps, text, moving images, recorded sound, copyright verification

A Positive Thought
PO Box 13877
Tallahassee, Florida 32317-3877
E-mail:  jacnrg@gmail.com
Contact Person:  J A Campbell
Research Specialty:  Genealogy-Ancestry.com Family Trees and Publications, 1940 and earlier Census records, Immigration, Emigration and Naturalization, Family History: DNA Testing and Analysis; Native American Lineage Research; Environmental Research; Veterans and Military Records (Revolutionary War, Indian Wars, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea); Database searches, Aerial Imagery, old maps, Photographs; VA and NARA,Library of Congress, Smithsonian, University, State and Local archives.

Recordations
205 Yoakum Pkwy., #1105
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone:  (301) 233-0651
E-mail:  culturalheritage@fastmail.fm
Contact Person:  Richard Vidutis
Research Specialty:  Military records (base records, theater construction engineering, ordnance locations, base architecture, oral histories); Engineering records (bridge construction, plans, mining, architecture); Marine records (ship types, plans, shipwreck locations, fatalities, cargo manifests, customs records); Immigration (emigration, ethnic communities, census records, labor history); Cartographic and architectural records (maps, drawings); Photographs and pictures.

MMJ Research
3200 Garfield Street NW
Washington, DC 20008-3513
Telephone:  (202) 333-4555
Fax:  (202) 333-1059
E-mail:  mmj@erols.com
Contact Person:  Margaret Johnson
Research Specialty:  Still picture research including photographs, cartographic records, microfilm, manuscripts, civilian and military textual records, and Presidential records. 20+ years experience.

Martin Paul Schipper
2329 Dixon Road
Frederick, MD 21704-8130
Telephone:  (240) 418-4320
E-mail:  martin_schipper@yahoo.com
Contact Person:  Martin Schipper
Research Specialty: African American history; genealogy; architectural history; land records; military history; social history; and women's history.

Edward A. Singer
7512 Sweetbriar Dr.
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone:  (703) 203-7770
E-mail:  edward.a.singer@gmail.com
Contact Person: Edward Singer
Research Specialty: General Research, All Topics, Find and Make Copies.

Strange Research
PO Box 7165
McLean, VA 22106-7165
Telephone:   (202) 320-2672
E-mail:   strangeresearch@mac.com
Contact Person:   Susan Strange
Research Specialty:   Motion pictures - full time on site research; still photographs and textual records - all subjects.

Taylor & Hammel LLC - A Litigation and Environmental Research Firm
1240 N. Pitt Street, Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone:  (703) 822-4658
Fax:  (703) 842-8656
E-mail:  johntaylor@taylorhammel.com
Contact Person:  John Taylor - Senior Researcher
Research Specialty:  Environmental and Legal Research; Asbestos; Captured German Records; Cold War; Congressional Records; Court Records; Diplomatic Records; Immigration, Emigration & Naturalization; Labor & Business History; Military Records; Native American Relations Records; Navy Records; President Nixon Records; Science, Technology, Natural Resources and the Environment Records; Audio/Sound Recordings; Cartographic/Architectural/Ships Plans Records; Film & Video Recordings; Photographs and Pictures

Thaxton Green Studios, Inc.
PO Box 360
Millwood VA 22646
Telephone:  (540) 837-9300
E-mail:  david@thaxtongreen.com
Contact Person:  David Thaxton/Kevin Green
Research Specialty:  Motion Pictures, Video and Still Picture research for inclusion into television documentaries, feature films and other media productions. 30 years experience in archive research, consultation and production.Vietnam - Provide unit and 201 File documentation for use in VA claims. College Park NARA, D.C. NARA, St. Louis NARA. Specific - 1st Cav. Division Awards, Orders, unit & individual.

Westmoreland Research
Post Office Box 320488
Alexandria, VA 22320
Telephone:  (202) 421-5151
Fax:  (703) 768-6609
E-mail:  info@westmorelandresearch.org
Contact Person:  Michael Constandy, Director
Research Specialty: Captured German Records; Diplomatic Research, Intelligence; Military History; Navy Records; Legal Research; Labor and Business History; Asbestos; Court Records; Intelligence; Still Imagery; Aerial Imagery; and Cartography.


Find a researcher by:


*Note:   Researchers for hire are not NARA employees. Any individual or company that does research in our holdings on behalf of others is free to join the listing. For information on how to get on the Independent Researchers for Hire lists, see the Opportunity for Independent Researchers page.

Inclusion on the independent researcher lists should not be viewed as an endorsement of the quality of the researchers' work, and NARA will not be responsible for any arrangement made with independent researchers. Such arrangements, including the character, extent, and cost of the work, are purely private, contractual matters between the independent researcher and you. It also is up to you to determine whether or not the researcher's experience and qualifications meet your needs. Comments or complaints received by NARA regarding any individual independent researcher on the listing will be forwarded to that researcher for resolution.

Top of Page

Research Our Records >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.