Index to Still Picture Branch Holdings

• Read the introduction and about the organization of this Guide

Record group and donated materials collection titles appear below. Numbers in parentheses refer to record groups, and other numbers refer to paragraphs.

Abdon Dauod Ackad Collection DM.3
Abel, Joseph, collection, 16.3
Abercrombie, Lt. William R. (photog.), 94.3
Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD, 156.12, 156.13, 171.3
Abraham Zapruder Collection DM.47
Abzug, Bella, 220.8
Acheson, Dean, 59.6
Ackad, Abdon Dauod, DM.3
Ackerman, G. W. (photog.), 33.3
Acoma Indians, 106.3
Adams, Ansel (photog.), 79.12
Adams, John, 127.2
Adenauer, Konrad, 59.6
Adjutant General's Office, 1780's-1917 (RG 94)
Adjutant General's Office, 1917- (RG 407)
Adjutant General's Office, 64.7, 77.25
Adm. Emory S. Land Collection DM.39
Advertisements, 131.1, 287.1, 381.1
Aerial bombing, 38.1, 120.4, 156.15, 165.17, 226.1, 243.1-243.5
Aerial photographs, 18.5, 18.8, 18.14, 26.2, 35.3, 38.1, 42.1, 69.6, 71.2, 77.9, 77.19, 80.5, 127.3, 165.7, 165.10, 165.14, 169.1, 171.1, 220.10, 237.1, 319.1, 407.4
Aeronautic Expedition (1917), 24.6
Aeronautics, 119.2, 255.1-255.7
Aeronautics, Bureau of (RG 72)
Aeronautics, Bureau of, 287.1
Afghanistan, 59.13
Africa, 112.2, 166.1, 239.1, 306.7, 306.15, 306.20, 306.22, DM.1
African Americans, 18.15, 35.6, 47.5, 208.11, 208.12, DM.1, DM.16
Agency for International Development (RG 286)
Agnew, Spiro, 306.7, 306.12, 306.22
Agricultural Adjustment Administration, 16.4, 145.2
Agricultural and Industrial Chemistry, Bureau of (RG 97)
Agricultural Chemistry and Engineering, Bureau of, 97.4
Agricultural Economics, Bureau of (RG 83)
Agricultural Engineering, Bureau of (RG 8)
Agricultural extension programs, 12.1
Agricultural marketing, 7.5, 16.4, 16.6, 54.1, 54.2, 54.3, 83.1, 83.2, 83.4, 83.6, 136.1, 145.1, 145.3, 145.4, 151.1
Agricultural Marketing Service (RG 136)
Agricultural production, 4.1-4.3, 7.5, 8.1, 16.4, 16.7-16.8, 48.4, 54.1, 54.3, 54.5, 54.6, 54.8, 54.9, 63.1, 83.1, 83.2,
83.6, 114.4, 119.3, 126.2, 126.5, 145.1-145.4, 151.1, 166.1, 169.1, 234.2, 258.1, 306.3, 306.6, 306.9, 350.3, 378.1
Agricultural research, 16.4, 16.7, 17.1, 54.3-54.6. 54.8, 95.1-95.5, 97.1, 97.2, 97.3, 114.2, 306.10, 310.1
Agricultural Research Service (RG 310)
Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (RG 145)
Agriculture, Department of, 7.1, 16.1-16.7, 83.6
Agriculture, Office of the Secretary of (RG 16)
Aguinaldo, Emilio, 391.2, 395.2, DM.20
AID. See Agency for International Development
Air Force Commands, Activities, and Organizations, U.S. (RG 342)
Air Force, Headquarters, US (RG 341)
Air pollution, 97.2, 412.1, 412.2
Air raid shelters, 171.5, 171.8, 397.1
Air Service Photographic Section, 18.5
Air Transport Command Overseas Technical Unit, 18.14
Aircraft, 18.1, 18.4, 18.11, 18.12, 18.13. 24.5. 26.1, 28.2, 38.2, 72.1, 72.3, 72.4, 72.5, 72.6, 80.2, 80.3, 80.5, 80.6, 111.3, 127.1, 127.3, 156.13, 165.16, 165.17, 179.1, 181.1, 237.1, 255.1, 407.4, DM.35
Aircraft accidents, 18.10, 80.4
Airfields, 18.5, 18.8-18.10, 18.12, 71.1, 80.3, 80.6, 111.3, 127.3, 165.10, 165.16, 255.1, 407.4
Airports, 28.2, 69.3, 69.6, 162.1, 237.1, 255.1
Airship facilities, 18.3
Akron (dirigible), 72.4
Akron, OH, 72.4
Alabama, 69.1, 92.3, 142.1, 156.7, 156.10, 407.1
Alabama State Fair (1925), 92.3
Alaska, 22.2, 22.4, 22.5, 22.7, 22.9, 23.2, 26.5, 30.1, 35.8, 48.5, 48.7, 75.13, 76.2, 76.3, 92.2, 94.3, 111.3, 111.4, 111.8, 121.3, 126.1-126.3, 471.1, DM.10, DM.14
Alaska Boundary Commission, 76.2
Alaska Engineering Commission, 126.1
Alaska Game Commission, 22.9
Alaska Highway, 30.1, 79.17, 162.1
Alaska pipeline, 412.2, DM.48
Alaska Railroad, 48.7, 126.1-126.2
Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition, Seattle, WA (1909), 111.4, 121.5, DM.10
Alaskan Expedition, 94.3
Alaskans, Native, 35.8, 126.1-126.2
Albatross (steamer), 22.1, 22.2, 22.5
Albers, Clem (photog.), 210.1
Albert, King of Belgium, 79.11
Albertypes, 79.6
Albright, Horace, 79.11
Albrook Field, Panama, 77.9
Albumen prints, 57.1, 57.4, 77.5, 79.4, 94.1, 94.3, 233.1
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, Bureau of, 170.1
Alcohol prohibition, 170.1
Aldredge, R.C., collection, 27.4
Aldrin, Edwin E., 255.7
Aleman, Miguel, 208.17
Alexander, Myrl, 129.1
Algeria, 169.1, 226.1
Algonquin Indians, 75.2
Alien Property, Office of (RG 131)
Allen, Lt. Henry T., 94.3
Allen N. Webster Collection DM.20
Alliance for Progress, 306.7, 306.8
Allied Expeditionary Forces, 331.3
Allied Operational and Occupation Headquarters, World War II (RG 331)
Allies, 26.6, 77.20, 153.2, 165.14, 165.15, 208.2, 226.1, 239.1, 242.1, 242.10, 260.1, 331.3
Alston, Charles (artist), 208.12
Alter, J. Cecil (photog.), 27.3
Alyeska Pipeline Service Company Collection DM.48
America, SS, 32.5
"America '76" (exhibit), 48.8
American Association of Landscape Architects, 3.4
American Battle Monuments Commission (RG 117)
American Commission for the Protection and Salvage of Artistic and Historic Monuments in War Areas (RG 239)
American Expeditionary Forces (World War I) (RG 120)
American Expeditionary Forces (World War I), 77.20, 395.1, 407.1, DM.31
American Graves Registration Command, 332.1
American Guide, 69.1, 69.4
American Indians, 29.1, 35.8, 48.4, 48.5, 56.3, 57.1-57.3, 75.1-75.15, 77.8, 79.7, 79.11, 79.12, 106.1, 106.3, 115.6, 165.2, 165.3, 207.2, 362.1, 391.1, DM.2, DM.5, DM.16

culture, 75.3, 75.12, 75.13, 106.3, 115.6
protests, 75.13
reservations for, 75.3, 75.4, 75.5, 75.11, 75.13, 106.3, 378.1, 378.3
schools for, 48.4, 75.2, 75.3, 75.6-75.9
tribal councils, 75.12, 75.13
tribal delegations, 75.1, 75.12, 75.13

American Institute of Planners, 44.4
American Iron Bridge and Manufacturing Company, 92.2
American National Exhibition (Moscow, 1959), 306.15
American Relief Administration, DM.34
American Revolution Bicentennial Administration (RG 452)
American University Experiment Station, DC, 70.2
"American Unofficial Collection of World War I Photographs," 165.13
Ames, F. A. (photog.), 106.3
Amphibious vehicles, 227.1, 337.1, 391.3, 407.4
Animal husbandry, 16.7, 17.1-17.3, 83.1, 83.3, 136.1, 319.2
Animal Industry, Bureau of (RG 17)
Animal Industry, Bureau of, 136.1
Ansco Historical Collection DM.6
Antarctic expeditions, 26.1, 126.6
Antarctic Service, US, 126.6
Antarctica, 26.1, 126.6
Antiaircraft weapons, 156.13, 156.15
Antietam, MD, 79.3
Antiwar movements, 119.4, 165.14
Antwerp, Belgium, 43.1
Apache Indians, 75.1
Apollo space program, 255.4, 255.6, 306.11
Apollo 204 Review Board, 255.6
Arapaho Indians, 75.1, 75.2
Arboretums, 66.1
Archaeological ruins, 106.1
Architect, Office of the Supervising, 121.2
Architect of the Capitol, 48.3, 64.2
Architects, 121.4
Architectural drawings, 3.3, 15.4, DM.5

blueprints, 3.1, 32.3, 71.3, 77.16, 171.1
floor plans, 121.1, 135.1
landscape drawings and landscaping, 15.4, 16.5, 42.4, 54.4

Architecture, 66.1, 121.2, 135.1, 208.9
Archives, 260.3, DM.5
Archivists, DM.5
Arctic expeditions, DM.14
Arethusa, U.S.S., 24.1
Argentina, DM.29
Arizona, 17.3, 48.4, 57.2, 75.2, 75.6, 77.8, 79.4, 79.15, 95.2, 106.3, 115.4, 210.2, 471.1, DM.2
Arkansas, 35.3, 48.4, 210.2
Arlington Experimental Farm, VA, 54.4
Arlington Memorial Bridge, VA, 42.5
Arlington National Cemetery, VA, 15.5, 121.8
Armor, 38.3, 74.1, 156.13
Armstrong, Neil A., 255.7
Army, Department of the, 64.7
Army Air Corps, 35.1, 35.2, 92.7
Army Air Forces (RG 18)
Army Air Forces, 80.7
Army Air Service, 120.1
Army Continental Commands, US, 1821-1920 (RG 393)
Army Continental Commands, US, 1920-42 (RG 394)
Army Electronics Support Command, 319.3
Army Engineer School, 120.3
Army Engineers, 116th, 120.3
Army Forces, US, Austria, 319.4
Army Ground Forces Headquarters (RG 337)
Army Medical Corps, 112.3, DM.20
Army-Navy aviation school, CA, 18.4
Army Nurse Corps, 112.4
Army Overseas Operations and Commands, US, 1898-1942 (RG 395)
Army Service Command, Third, 394.1
Army Ski Troops, 79.11
Army Southern Department, 77.9
Army Staff (RG 319)
Arsenals, 156.1, 156.5, 156.12, 156.14, 165.13
Art, graphic, 23.1, 66.1, 76.1, 168.1, 208.9, 318.2 See also Cartoons; Engravings; Lithographs; Photogravures; Posters; Silk screens; Woodcuts
Art, original, 23.1, 66.1-66.3, 69.8-69.9, 121.12, 226.2, 239.1, 260.4, 260.5, 260.7, 407.4 See also Cartoons; Drawings; Posters; Sketches; Watercolors
Art education, 69.8
"Art in War" (exhibit), 121.15
Artesian wells, 350.1
Articles of Confederation, 59.1
Artillery, 64.1, 74.1, 74.2, 156.1, 156.15, 165.1, 165.4, 165.13, 242.10, DM.32
Artists, 69.8, 69.9, 79.13, 121.11, DM.1
Ashton, Frank C. (photog.), 49.2
Asia, 166.1, 208.2, 306.15, 306.16, 306.17, 306.20, 306.22, DM.1
Assassinations, DM.47
Astronauts, 255.4, 255.6, 255.7, 306.11, 306.16
Athletes, 32.5, 75.8, 208.4, 306.2, 306.13. 306.16, 391.5
Atkins, C.G. (photog.), 22.6
Atlanta, GA, 121.5
Atlantic Fleet, 19.9
Atlas to Accompany the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, 1861-65, 94.1
Atomic bombs, 74.4, 77.25, 208.2, 243.5, 319.1, 374.1
Atomic Energy Commission (RG 326)
Atomic Energy Commission, 77.25
Atrocities, 153.1, 165.17
Auriol, Vincent, 208.17
Australia, 43.1, 59.13, 80.4, 107.1, 306.22
Austria, 165.13, 165.14, 286.1, 306.4, 306.16, DM.46
Aviation, military, 18.1-18.15, 80.2, 80.3, 94.6-94.7, 111.3, 255.1
Aviators, 18.13, 32.5, 63.1, 72.3, 80.2, 94.7, 111.3, 127.3, 237.1, 255.1
Axis Criminality, Chief Counsel for Prosecution of, 260.5
Axis powers, 208.2, 242.1, 260.4, 260.5, 319.1, 331.4
Ayres, H. B. (photog.), 95.2
Azores, 332.1

Bad Lands area, 57.1
Baguio, Philippine Islands, 350.1
Balboa, Panama, 71.2
Baldridge, Malcolm, 378.4
Balkan States, 59.4, 165.14
Balloons, military, 18.3, 72.1, 72.4, 111.3, 111.8, 167.2
Bands, military, 127.1, 127.2
Bangkok, Thailand, 226.1
Bangor, ME, 22.6
Barcelona, Spain, 79.11
Barges, 32.1, 71.3
Barnard, E. C. (photog.), 76.3
Barnard, George N. (photog.), 165.1
Batavia, Java, Indonesia, 84.1
Bates, Sanford, 129.1
Battle is in Our Hands, The (motion picture), 83.7
Battle of Gettysburg, 92.7
Battlefields, 79.1, 111.6, 117.2, 165.1

Civil War, 64.1, 79.3, 79.20
World War I, 18.5, 165.13

Battles, 92.7, 127.1, 148.1, 165.5, DM.11
Baudu, Harry J. (photog.), 64.4
Bavaria, 242.10
Bavarian Foot Artillery, 242.10
Bayar, Celal, 306.14
Beaman, E. O. (photog.), 57.2, 57.3
Beautification projects, 378.1
Beckett, C. Tucker (photog.), 165.10
Beecher, Henry Ward, DM.9
Beijing, China, 77.11 See also Peking, China
Belair Shipyard, San Francisco, CA, 178.1
Belgian Congo, 79.11
Belgium, 43.1, 92.5, 106.5, 117.2, 120.3, 120.4, 120.5, 165.14, 243.2, 332.1, DM.18
Bell, William (photog.), 77.8, 79.4, 106.1, 287.1
Bellinger, Louisa, collection, 79.4
Beltsville Agriculture Center, MD, 17.1, 17.3
Beltsville, MD, 17.1, 17.3
Ben Johnson League Baseball Team (Junction City, KS), 391.5
Benecia, CA, 156.14
Benedictine Order, 260.3
Bennett, James, 129.1
Berle, Adolf, 229.2
Berlin, Germany, 5.1, 47.4, 242.1, 255.7, 260.1
Berlin airlift, 260.1, 342.1
Bicentennial, American Revolution, 48.8, 452.1-452.4
Bicentennial Arts Program, 48.8
"Bicentennial USA," 452.2
Bicentennial Wagon Train, 452.4
Big Horn, DM.5
Bikini, Marshall Islands, 74.4
Billboards, 4.1
Biological Survey, Bureau of, 16.4, 22.7, 287.1
Birds, 17.3, 22.5, 22.7
Biskey, Friedrich Ludwig (Louis), DM.4
Black, Adm. Richard, 126.6
Black Hills area, 77.5
Blacks. See African Americans
Block, Herbert, 65.2
Blueberries, 7.5
Blue Eagle, 9.1
Blueprints. See Architectural drawings
Blumenthal, W. Michael, 364.1
Boats, 19.2, 26.1, 74.1, 80.3
Boies, Capt. H. B., collection, 120.3
Bolivar, Simon, 69.4
Bolivia, 234.2
Boll weevils, 97.2
Bolling Field, DC, 35.9
Bomb damage, 38.1, 120.4, 156.15, 165.17, 226.1, 239.1,243.2-243.5, 260.3, 319.1, 342.2
Bombs, 156.13, 171.3
Bonds. See War Bonds and Savings Bonds, U.S.
Boomerang (bomber), 165.17
Border Patrol, U.S., 170.1
Borman, Frank, 255.7, 429.1
Boston, MA, 19.5, 19.9, DM.22
Bostwick, Louis R. (photog.), 75.9
Bosworth, Barry P., 429.2
Botanical gardens, 16.5
Boulder Dam, 79.12
Boundary and Claims Commissions and Arbitrations (RG 76)
Boundary and Claims Commissions and Arbitrations, 77.12
Boundary Markers, 76.1-76.6, 77.12
Bowers, W. T. (photog.), 22.4
Bowles, Chester, 188.2
Boxer Rebellion, 77.11, 111.3, 165.9 See also China Relief Expedition
Boy Scouts of America, 306.16
Brady, Mathew (photog.), 15.2, 21.2, 77.6, 90.1, 111.2, 165.1
Brainard, David L., DM.14
Brandeis, Louis, 21.1
Brandt, Willy, 306.20
Braun, Eva (photog.), 242.4
Brazil, 54.3, 77.24, 229.2, 234.2
Brazilian International Exposition, 16.5
Brest, France, 19.4
Bridgeport, CT, 233.2
Bridges, 42.1, 59.3, 64.1, 69.3, 71.3, 77.2, 77.5, 77.19, 120.3, 165.6, 165.10, 350.1
Briggs, Lyman J., 167.1
Bristol, PA, 32.1
British Columbia, Canada, 76.2-76.3
British Royal Navy, 19.9
Broadsheets, 69.7
Broadsides, 109.1, 156.16
Brode, Wallace R., collection, 167.3
Brooke, Edward, 306.12
Browne, Charles A., 97.3
Bryan, William Jennings, DM.19
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT, 79.11
Buchanan, James, 127.2
Buchenwald concentration camp, 153.1
Budget, Bureau of the, 51.1
Buenos Aires, Argentina, DM.29
Buffalo, NY, 121.5
Buffaloes, 79.11
Bullock, D. S. (photog.), 83.5
Bunker, Ellsworth, 59.6, 306.14
Burger, Warren E., 452.4
Burke, Charles H., 75.4
Burma, 59.13, 226.1, 239.1
Butt, Capt. Archibald W., 165.7
Byrd, Adm. Richard, 26.1, 126.6

C. S. Tenley Collection DM.29
Cahill, Holger, 69.8
California, 16.3, 16.5, 18.4, 18.10, 18.12, 22.3, 26.6, 30.2, 30.4, 37.1, 37.2, 38.6, 48.4, 48.5, 49.2, 49.4, 54.7, 54.9,
54.11, 57.1, 57.2, 69.12, 71.2, 71.3, 75.14, 77.4, 77.7-77.9, 79.4, 79.7, 79.13, 92.6, 95.2, 111.8, 117.1, 119.4, 156.14,
165.3, 165.16, 165.17, 168.1, 171.1, 178.1, 181.1, 208.16, 210.2, 220.12, 391.4, 429.1
California National Guard, 168.1, 391.4

144th Field Artillery, 391.4

Callaway, U.S.S., DM.44
Camouflage, 77.19, 120.3, 156.16, 171.1
Camp Cuba Libre, FL, DM.19
Camp Dennison, OH, 92.2
Camp Hale, CO, 337.1
Camp Hill, WV, 92.2
Camp Jackson, SC, 393.1
Camp Kenedy, TX, 59.10
Camp Leilehua, HI, 165.11
Camp Life (magazine), 12.5
Camp Ludington-Pere, MI, 35.3
Camp Sheridan, AL, 407.1
Camp Stephen F. Austin, TX, 394.3
Canada, 59.3, 59.10, 74.3, 76.2-76.5, 77.5, 79.7, 165.6, 207.2
Canals, 77.5, 115.1
Cape Canaveral, FL, 255.3, 255.4
Cape Eielson, Antarctica, 126.6
Capitol, U.S., DC, 48.3, 66.2
Capitol Police, U.S., 42.2
Captain Jack, 165.3
Card photographs, 49.3, 233.3, 233.4
Cardonna, Spain, 79.11
CARE, 260.1
Caribbean islands, 22.1, 127.1, 166.1, 306.15
Carlisle Indian Industrial School, PA, 75.8
Carlson, Norman, 129.1
Caroline Islands, 22.1, 38.1
Carpenters' Hall, Philadelphia, PA, 59.3
Carroll, George A., DM.35
Carter, Jimmy, 51.1, 170.1, 220,10, 220.11, 364.1, 378.1, 378.4, 452.4
Carter, William H., collection, 165.3
Cartes de visite, 92.1, 94.2, 165.1, DM.2
Cartoons, 65.1, 65.2, 188.3, 208.12
Casablanca, U.S.S., 80.4
Casiquiare River, 77.24
Castles, 260.3
Cavalry Regiments, U.S., 391.3
CCC. See Civilian Conservation Corps
Cebu province, Philippine Islands, 350.2
Cemeteries, 66.1, 117.1, 117.4, 120.5, 121.8, 165.15, 332.1
Censorship, Office of (RG 216)
Census, Bureau of the (RG 29)
Centennial International Exhibition (Philadelphia, 1893), 165.4
Centennial International Exposition, Melbourne, Australia (1888), 43.1
Central America, 43.2, 54.5, 127.1, 166.1, 229.1-229.3, 306.15, 306.16
Ceylon, 59.13, 226.1
Chamberlain, Clarence, 32.5
Chamberlain, F. M. (photog.), 22.1
Chambers, Lt, W. H., 19.3
Chandler, Zachariah, 48.5
Chapels, military, 24.2
Chaplains, military, 24.2, 24.6, 407.1
Charles N. Young Collection DM.22
Charles Russell Collection DM.36
Charleston, SC, 27.4, 57.2, 71.2
Charleston, WV, 156.3
Charts, 27.1, 48.5, 54.2, 72.3, 74.3, 95.3, 97.4, 171.5, 178.1, 207.4, 287.1, 331.5, 407.3, 407.4, 432.2
Chemical industry, 97.3, 142.1, 156.5, 156.7
Chemical warfare, 171.4, 407.3
Chemical Warfare Service, 70.2
Chemistry, Bureau of, 97.1, 97.3, 97.4, 136.1
Chemistry and Soils, Bureau of, 97.1-97.4
Cherbourg, France, 19.4, 226.1
Cherokee Strip, Oklahoma Territory, 49.3
Chesapeake Bay area, 22.4, 57.2
Chester, PA, 3.3, 92.2
Cheyenne Indians, 75.1, 75.2
Cheyenne River, 77.23
Chicago, IL, 26.2, 43.1, 59.3, 75.14, 77.3, 92.3, 111.3, 121.5, 165.4, 220.12, 306.12
Chicago World's Fair Centennial Celebration (1933-34), 43.1
Chichester, H. D. (photog.), 22.4
Child Collection, 19.2
Child Labor, Branch of, 155.1
Children, 47.5, 54.4, 102.1-102.2, 155.1, 245.1
Children's Bureau (RG 102)
Children's Bureau, 47.2
Chile, 38.1
China, 39.1, 54.2, 77.3, 77.11, 111.3, 111.5, 114.5, 127.3, 165.8, 165.9, 165.12, 226.1, 226.3, 239.1, 306.22, 350.5, 391.3, DM.14
China Relief Expedition, 77.3, 77.11, 111.1, 165.9 See also Boxer Rebellion
Christian Commission, U.S., 94.2
Churches, 75.14
Churchill, Winston, 131.1
Cinchona, 169.1
Cincinnati, OH, 59.3
Cisneros, German, 43.3
Citizens' Advisory Committee on Environmental Quality, 429.1
Citizens Military Training Camps, 394.2, 407.3
Citizens Service Corps, 171.2
City, The (film), 44.4
Civic education, 12.4
Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands, U.S., 260.2
Civil Aeronautics Administration, 237.1
Civil Air Patrol, 171.2
Civil defense, 35.2, 171.1-171.8, 397.1
Civil Defense, Office of, 69.12
Civil disturbances, 168.1, 185.5, 306.2, 362.1
Civil rights movement, 306.4, 306.6, 306.16
Civil War, 56.3, 64.1, 64.2, 77.3, 79.3, 79.20, 90.1, 92.5, 94.1, 94.2, 111.2, 127.1, 165.1, 391.3, DM.2, DM.4, DM.6, DM.7, DM.8

fortifications, 77.6, 94.1, 111.2, 165.1

Civil War Centennial Commission, 79.20
Civil Works Administration, 55.1, 69.1, 69.3
Civil Works Map File, Corps of Engineers, 77.5
Civil works projects, Corps of Engineers, 77.5, 77.10, 77.22, 77.23, 111.1
Civilian Conservation Corps (RG 35)
Civilian Conservation Corps, 12.5, 55.1, 79.13, 95.6, 114.1, 115.2, 115.5, 142.3, 306.3
Civilian Defense, Office of (RG 171)
Clark, Ramsey, 129.1
Clemenceau, Georges, DM.32
Cleveland, Grover, 121.4
Cleveland, OH, 75.14
Climate, 27.1-27.5, 83.4, 119.3 See also Weather Bureau, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Clouds, 27.1, 27.4
Clover, Harold W. (photog.), DM.46
Coal mining, 19.3, 70.1, 220.6, 245.1
Coast and Geodetic Survey (RG 23)
Coast Guard Academy, New London, CT, 26.1
Coast Guard, U.S. (RG 26)
Coastal areas, 37.2, 79.16
Coastal defenses, 38.1, 77.3, 77.16, 92.2
Coblenz, Germany. See Koblenz, Germany
Cochiti Indians, 106.3
Cody, William "Buffalo Bill," 79.11
Cohen, Louis J., collection, 165.14
Colby, Maj. F. T. (photog.), 165.14
Coleman, William T., 432.1
Collier, Charles W. (photog.), 114.1
Collins, MichaeI, 255.7
Collotypes, 242.10
Colombia, 77.24, 234.2
Colonial America, 208.6
Colorado, 35.3, 54.9, 57.1, 75.14, 77.7, 77.8, 79.4, 95.2, 171.7, 174.2, 210.2, 220.6, 337.1
Colorado River, 57.3, 57.4
Colorado River Relocation Center, AZ, 210.2
Columbia Institution for the Deaf and Dumb, DC, 48.3
Columbia River, DM.10
Comanche Indians, 75.1
Commerce, Department of (RG 40)
Commission on Renovation of the Executive Mansion, 220.2
Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of
Civilians, 220.12
Community facilities, 3.1, 162.1, 162.2
"Community Stability and Instability," 83.4
Community War Services, Office of (RG 215)
Compagnie Universelle du Canal Interoceanique, 185.1
Concentration camps, 153.1, 208.2, 208.3
Confederate States of America, 92.5, 94.1, 109.1, 111.2

Army of the, 94.1, 111.2, 165.1

Confederation Congress, 59.1
Congress, U.S., 148.3 See also Congressmen; House of Representatives, U.S.; Senate, U.S.
Congressmen, 59.1, 75.13, 115.2, 121.16, 306.11, 452.4, DM.6
Connally, John, 432.1
Connecticut, 22.3, 26.1, 35.3, 69.14, 233.2
Connecticut National Guard, 35.3
Conservation, 35.6, 35.7, 69.1, 75.11, 75.12, 79.13, 83.1, 114.1, 120.6

World War I, 4.1, 45.1
World War II, 171.6, 188.3

Constant, Comdr. Maurice (photog.), 38.4, DM.38
Constitution, U.S., 59.1, 148.2
Constitution Sesquicentennial Commission, U.S., 148.2,148.3
Constitutional Convention, 148.2
Construction, 69.1, 69.3, 77.3, 77.5, 77.10, 77.19, 79.10, 115.4, 119.2

of aircraft, 38.2, 72.1, 72.4, 72.5
of bridges, 42.5, 69.12, 77.14
of buildings, 15.2, 15.4, 48.3, 52.1, 64.4, 69.3, 69.12, 74.3, 121.1, 121.2, 121.9, 121.14, 121.16, 142.1, 156.7, 162.1, 162.2, 242.1
of camps, 35.9
of dams, 69.12, 142.3, 328.3
of housing, 207.2, 207.4
of military facilities, 71.1, 77.4, 77.9, 92.2, 156.5
of monuments, 42.2, 121.8
of the Panama Canal, 66.1, 106.5, 185.1-185.5
of pipelines, DM.48
of power plants, 142.2
of railroads, 126.1, 126.2, 350.1
of roads, 35.4, 69.12, 162.1, DM.10
of ships, 19.1, 19.4, 19.6, 32.1, 181.1, DM.39
of spacecraft, 255.4
of transportation facilities, 3.3, 18.10, 30.1, 30.4, 35.4,69.3, 69.12, 77.5, 126.1, 126.2, 162.1

Construction battalions, Navy, 24.7, 71.4
Construction materiaIs, 32.1, 75.8, 77.4
Consulates, U.S., 59.2, 59.4
Consumer Council of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration, 145.3
Consumer education programs, 145.3, 432.2
Consumer's Guide, 145.3
Continental Congress, 59.1
Convict labor, 30.4
Cook Islands, 22.1
Cooley, Sam A. (photog.), 165.1
Coolidge, Calvin, 16.3, 75.4, 79.2, 237.1
Coolidge Dam, AZ, 115.4
Copper River, AK, 94.3
Copper River Railroad, 126.1
Corcoran Gallery, Washington, DC, 148.2
Corn, 7.5, 54.5
Corn, Jack (photog.), 220.6
Corn Investigations, Office of, 54.5
Cost of Living Council, 432.1
Costa Rica, 76.7, 90.3
Costa Rica-Panama Boundary Arbitration, 76.7
Cotton, 5.1, 7.2, 7.5, 258.1
Cotton States and International Exposition, Atlanta, GA, 121.5
Counterintelligence Corps, U.S. Army, DM.45
Court for the District of Columbia, U.S., DM.3
Court of Appeals, U.S., DM.3
Courthouses, 121.1, 121.12
Covent Garden, London, England, 54.3
Coximer, Charles Toucey (artist), 9.1
Craig Brook National Fish Hatchery, ME, 22.6
Crayon photographic prints, 48.2
Crime prevention, 65.3
Criminals, 65.1
Crop dusting, 7.2
Crystal Cave, SD, 48.4
Cuba, 4.1, 26.1, 37.2, 92.2, 94.5, 111.3, 165.5, 165.6, 168.1, 350.5
Cummings Expedition, DM.24
Currency, 318.2
Custer, Lt. Col. George, 77.5, DM.6
Customhouses, 121.1, 121.12
Customs, Bureau of, 36.1
Customs laws enforcement, 26.1
Customs Service, U.S. (RG 36)
Customs Service, U.S., 170.1
Cyanotypes, 22.1, 22.3, 22.4, 156.13
Cyclones, 168.1
Czechoslovakia, 165.12, 229.3

Dagron, Rene Prudent Patrice, 64.5
Daguerreotypes, 59.2
Dairy products, 88.1
Daley, Richard, 378.4
Dallas, TX, 394.3
Dams, 114.3, 115.1, 187.1
    construction of, 69.12, 77.5, 142.3

Daniels, Josephus, 19.9, 74.3
DarIing, Ding, 65.2
Data processing, 64.6
David L. Brainard Collection DM. 14
Davis, CA, 54.9
Davis, Marshall (artist), 12.5
Declaration of Independence, 59.1, 148.2
Defense Civil Preparedness Agency (RG 397)
Defense Nuclear Agency (RG 374)
Defiance, OH, 74.3
de Gaulle, Charles, 306.20
Delaware River area, 32.3, 106.5
Delgado, Francisco, 268.2
Democratic National Convention (1968), 306.12
Demolition, 77.19, 233.2
Dempsey, Col. Charles A., collection, 94.5
Denmark, 54.3, 306.17
Dentistry, 112.1
Denver, CO, 75.14, 220.6
Denver, Colorado Canyon and Pacific Railroad, 57.4
Depression, 306.2
Detroit, MI, 171.3, 362.1
Dewell, Nathaniel L. (photog.), 106.5
Diagrams, 115.3, 120.1, 171.5
Diamond, Henry L., 429.1
Diederich, J. (photog.), 79.17
Dinwiddie, William (photog.), 75.2
Dioramas, 30.3
Diplomats, 59.4, 229.2, 306.16, 331.2, 364.1, 395.1, DM.38
Dirigibles, 72.1, 72.4
Disaster relief, 26.7, 92.6, 111.8, 162.1, 168.1
Diseases, 90.2, 90.4, 165.13

children's, 102.2
flu epidemic, 165.13 See also Plant diseases

Disney, Walt, 208.12
Displaced persons, 208.2, 260.1, 331.3
District Courts of the United States (RG 21)
District Courts of the United States, 49.4
District of Columbia, 3.3, 16.3, 16.5, 16.6, 27.3, 33.4, 35.9, 40.2, 42.1-42.5, 48.3, 48.5, 52.1, 54.7, 59.3, 64.1, 64.2,
64.4, 66.1, 66.2, 69.4, 69.13, 70.2, 75.1, 77.4, 79.2, 79.8, 79.13, 111.10, 121.2, 121.6-121.8, 148.2, 156.1, 220.2,
220.6, 220.12, 318.2, 328.1-328.2, DM.2, DM.3, DM.10, DM.11, DM.17, DM.22
Diving bells, 19.3
DOCUMERICA program, 412.2
Dogs, 17.1
Dominican Republic, 127.3, 306.9, 350.5
Doris McClory Collection DM.33
"DOT 321(b) Rail Retrofit Evaluation of Light and Commuter Rail Stations," 408.1
Douglass, Frederick, DM.9
Drainage, 8.1, 114.1, 471.1
Drawings, 9.1, 12.5, 15.2, 26.2, 37.2, 53.1, 57.1, 59.2, 59.4, 64.1, 77.3, 77.16, 78.1, 92.1, 120.1, 121.5, 156.4, 156.16,
168.1, 171.1, 171.5, 188.4, 207.2, 208.12, 229.3, 328.2, 407.4, DM.4 See also Architectural drawings; Art, original
Dredging, 23.1, 77.5
Dresden Art Gallery, 260.4
Drug abuse, 170.1
Drug Enforcement Administration, 170.1
Drugs, 88.1
Drydocks, 19.1, 19.8, 71.2, 71.3, 181.1
Duane, U.S.C.G.C., 26.5
DUKW, 227.1
Dulles, John Foster, 59.6
Dunlop, Orrin E. (photog.), 76.4
Durkin, Martin P., 174.1
Dust explosions, 97.1, 97.2, 97.3
Dust storms, 114.1
Dutch elm disease, 310.1
Dutra, Gen. Eurico Gaspar, 229.2
Dwight D. Eisenhower Collection DM.23

Earhart, Amelia, 26.8, 32.5, 237.1
Earnest C. Tracy Collection DM.32
Earthquakes, 18.12, 30.2, 48.7, 57.2, 77.4, 92.6, 111.8, 168.1
"Ease on Down the Road," 416.1
Ecce Homo (film), (DM.41)
Economic Development Administration (RG 378)
Economic Opportunity and Legal Services, Agencies for (RG 381)
Economic Opportunity, Office of, 381.1
Economic Stabilization Programs (RG 432)
Ecuador, 59.4
Edgewood Arsenal, MD, 156.5
Education, 4.3, 12.1-12.5, 15.3, 47.2, 59.11, 69.8, 75.2-75.3, 75.7-75.9, 75.13, 119.1-119.3, 126.4-126.5, 129.2, 145.3,
165.13, 188.3, 210.1, 229.1, 286.1, 306.3, 306.9, 350.3, 350.5
Education, Bureau of, 12.1
Education, Office of (RG 12)
Education, Office of, 47.2
Educational camps, 12.5, 35.3, 119.1
"Effects of Incendiary Bomb Attacks in Japan," 243.4
Egg and poultry industry, 136.1
Egypt, DM.18
Einsatzstab Reichsleiter Rosenberg Collection, 260.5
Einstein, Albert, 16.2
Eisenhower, Dwight D., 47.4, 79.11, 79.18, 112.3, 306.6, 306.14, DM.2, DM.23
Eisenhower, John, 306.14
Eisenhower, Milton, 306.15
El Rito, NM, 8.1
Electricity, 23.3, 119.3, 221.1
Elizabeth II, Queen of England, 452.4
Ellice Islands, 22.1
Elliott, Henry Wood (artist), 22.2, 57.1, 121.3
Elwyn L. Watson Collection DM.30
Ely, Lt. Eugene, 181.2
Emden, Germany, 32.6
Emergency Fleet Corporation, 32.2
Emergency Health Services, 90.5
Emergency Management, Office of, 44.4, 121.15
Emergency vehicles, 92.2
Employment programs, 12.4
Energy, Department of, 220.10
Engineers, Office of the Chief of (RG 77)
Engineers, Office of the Chief of, 76.6, 165.5
England, 165.14, 171.1, 196.3, 226.1, 243.3, 332.1, DM.18, DM.22 See also Great Britain
Engraved and Lithographed Portraits of Abraham Lincoln, 64.3
Engraving and Printing, Bureau of (RG 318)
Engravings, 26.2, 48.1, 59.1, 64.3, 77.3, 121.4 See also Art, graphic
Enid, OK, 233.3
Eniwetok AtoIl, Marshall Islands, 374.1
Entertainers, 208.4, 306.2, 306.16, 452.4
Entomological experiments, 7.3-7.4
Entomology, Bureau of, 16.4
Entomology and Plant Quarantine, Bureau of (RG 7)
Environmental Protection Agency (RG 412)
Erickson, H. A. (photog.), 18.4
Erosion control, 8.1, 16.4, 75.5, 114.2, 114.5
Erwin Kornitzer Collection DM.25
Ethnic American Art Slide Library, Univ. of South Alabama, DM.16
Ethnology, Bureau of, 75.2
Europe, 74.3, 78.1, 97.3, 106.5, 112.2, 114.5, 117.1, 117.4, 165.6, 210.3, 306.2, 306.16, 306.17, 306.20, 306.22, 328.4, 331.3

architecture, 66.1
U.S. aid to, 4.1, 286.1
World War I, 4.1, 165.13, 165.14
World War II, 26.1, 112.3, 208.2, 208.3, 239.1-239.2,337.1, 342.2

Evans, John, DM.21
Evans, Kate, DM.21
Executive Office of the President (RG 429)
Executive Office of the President, 51.1
Exhibits, 4.1, 16.3, 16.5, 17.3, 19.5, 26.2, 27.1, 30.3, 40.2, 40.3, 43.1, 47.1, 48.5, 48.6, 48.8, 54.2, 54.4, 59.2, 64.4,
69.1, 69.8, 75.7, 77.3, 79.20, 80.5, 92.3, 97.1, 111.3-111.4, 115.2, 119.2, 121.5, 121.15, 127.1, 145.2, 148.1, 153.1,
162.1, 165.4, 171.6, 188.1, 207.2, 208.1, 208.3, 208.9, 233.4, 306.1, 306.4, 306.5, 412.2, DM.10
Experiment stations, 7.4, 54.5, 70.1, 70.2
Experimental farms, 16.2, 16.4, 54.4, 54.5, 306.10
Expo '67, Montreal, Canada (1967), 207.2
Expo '74, Spokane, WA (1974), 452.4
Exposition, Anniversary and Memorial Commissions (RG 148)
Expositions, 16.3, 16.5, 16.6, 19.5, 27.1, 30.4, 40.2, 43.1, 48.5, 48.6, 54.2, 54.4, 54.7, 59.2, 75.6, 77.3, 92.3, 97.3,
111.3, 111.4, 121.5, 165.4, 200.9, 207.1, 233.4, 242.1,306.2, 350.3, 394.3, 418.2. 452.4
Extension Service (RG 33)
Extension Service, 16.4

Factories, 165.2
Factory cooperatives, 3.3
Factory workers, 54.1, 69.5, 74.1, 86.1
Faisal, King of Saudi Arabia, 306.7
Fall, Albert B., 79.11
Falls, D. W. C. (artist), 391.4
Farm equipment, 16.4, 54.2, 54.3, 54.9, 54.11 83.1, 83.4,145.2
Farm Management and Farm Economics, Office of, 83.1, 83.3
Farm Security Administration, 96.2
Farm workers, 54.1, 54.2, 54.3, 69.5, 75.7, 145.2
Farmers, 16.4, 54.1, 83.1, 96.1-96.2, 145.2, 258.1
Farmers Home Administration (RG 96)
Farming, 33.3, 54.2, 75.8, 83.1-83.7, 114.1, 114.4
Farms, 16.2, 16.4, 54.4, 54.5, 57.3, 75.3, 75.11, 75.12, 96.2,126.4, 145.2
Farmsteads, 54.4, 83.1
Fassett, Harry Clifford (photog.), 22.1
FBI. See Federal Bureau of Investigation
Federal Art Project, 69.1, 69.8-69.10, DM.37
Federal Aviation Administration (RG 237)
Federal Board for Vocational Education, 15.3
Federal Bureau of Investigation (RG 65)
Federal Crop Insurance Corporation (RG 258)
Federal Crop Insurance Corporation, 16.4
Federal Emergency Relief Administration, 69.1, 69.2
Federal Forum Project, 12.4
Federal Home Loan Bank Board, 287.1
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (RG 280)
Federal Music Project, DM.37
Federal Theater Project, 69.1, 69.7
Federal Water Pollution Control Administration, 412.1
Federal Works Agency (RG 162)
Federal Works Agency, 69.1, 69.12
Federal Writers' Project, 69.1, 69.4
Fennemore, James (photog.), 57.2, 57.3
Ferry Lake, LA, 49.4
Figall, Frederick (photog.), 452.3, 452.4
Fight for Life (film), 44.4
Fiji, 22.1, 107.1
Filmstrips, 18.13, 26.9, 28.4, 29.2, 47.3, 56.6, 83.7, 90.5, 102.2, 111.9, 126.6, 145.4, 171.8, 179.2, 188.3, 208.15, 210.4, 215.1, 216.1, 242.9, 277.1, 306.3, 397.1
Fine Arts, Commission of (RG 66)
Fine Arts, Section of, 121.10, 121.12, 121.13
Finland, 47.4, 306.17, 306.22, DM.14
Fire ants, 7.2
Fire prevention, 95.8, 97.1, 220.4
Fires, 95.2, 97.1, 97.3

forest fires, 95.2, 95.6, 95.8

First-aid activities, 52.2
First Inter-American Financial Congress (Buenos Aires, 1916), DM.29
First International Conference of American States (DC, 1889), DM.17
Fish, 88.1, 106.4
Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. (RG 22)
Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S., 35.1
Fish Commission, U.S., 22.1
Fish industry, 22.1, 22.3-22.6, 106.4, 187.1
Fisher, Alan (photog.), 229.2
Fisheries, Bureau of, 22.3, 22.5
Fishing vessels, 22.1, 22.3, 22.5
Flood control projects, 77.5, 77.17, 114.5, 471.1
Floods, 18.9, 26.7, 48.7, 69.14, 77.4, 77.17, 77.22, 92.6, 114.1, 114.3, 187.1, 328.1
Florida, 18.9, 22.4, 57.2, 69.12, 80.4, 119.1, 255.3, 255.4, 306.12, DM.19
Flowers, 54.2, 54.7
FIowers, W. A. (photog.), 49.3
Food Administration, U.S. (RG 4)
Food and Drug Administration (RG 88)
Food conservation, 4.1-4.3, 331.3
Food inspection programs, 16.4, 16.7, 88.1, 88.2, 145.3
Food preparation, 4.3, 16.4, 54.1, 54.2, 54.8, 88.1, 176.1
Food preservation, 4.3, 16.4, 54.1, 54.2, 83.2, 145.1
Food service operations, 92.2, 145.2
Foote, Walter A., collection, 84.1
Ford, Gerald R., 51.1, 306.4, 306.7, 306.12, 306.22, 378.4, 452.4
Fore River, MA, 32.3
Foreign Agricultural Service (RG 166)
Foreign aid programs, 286.1, 306.1, 306.7, 306.8
Foreign and Domestic Commerce, Bureau of (RG 151)
Foreign Economic Administration (RG 169)
Foreign Liquidation Commissioner, Office of, 59.8
Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State (RG 84)
Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State, DM.18
Forest Fire Fighters Service, 171.2, 171.6
Forest Product Laboratory, WI, 95.5
Forest Service (RG 95)
Forest Service, 16.4, 35.1, 35.8, 287.1
Forestry, 35.6, 75.5, 75.12, 95.1-95.8, 169.1, 187.1
Forests of Porto Rico; Past, Present, and Future, and Their Physical and Economic Environment, DM.28
Formosa. See Taiwan
Fort Armstrong, HI, 165.11
Fort Baker, CA, 77.9
Fort Bragg, NC, 220.11
Fort Collins, CO, 54.9
Fort Crockett, TX, 94.6
Fort Defiance Machinery Co., Defiance, OH, 74.3
Fort DeRussy, HI, 165.11
Fort Edwards, MA, 337.1
Fort Egbert, AK, 92.2
Fort George G. Meade, MD, 394.2
Fort Kamehameha, HI, 165.11
Fort Lewis, WA, 165.17
Fort Livingston, LA, 80.5
Fort McPherson, GA, 112.1
Fort Mason, CA, 77.9
Fort Monroe, VA, 156.1, 394.2
Fort Morgan, AL, 156.10
Fort Ontario Emergency Refugee Shelter, Oswego, NY, 210.3
Fort Ruger, HI, 165.11
Fort St. Michaels, AK, 92.2
Fort Shafter, HI, 165.11
Fort William McKinley, Philippine Islands, 165.7
Fort Winfield Scott, CA, 77.9
Fort Wingate, NM, 391.1
Fortifications, 64.1, 77.2-77.4, 77.6, 94.1, 165.5, 165.7
Forts, 76.1, 77.4, 92.2, 165.2, 165.3, 165.13, 165.16, 350.2, DM.5, DM.15
Foster Grandparents, 381.1
4-H clubs, 16.7, 33.2, 33.4, 75.7
Fourth International Conference of American States, 43.3
Fox, William (photog.), 94.7
France, 3.3, 4.2, 18.5, 19.4, 42.2, 43.1, 52.3, 54.2, 54.4, 63.1, 74.2, 75.8, 77.5, 80.7, 80.9, 92.5, 106.5, 111.6, 117.2,
120.1-120.5, 165.14, 165.15, 185.1, 185.3, 208.3, 208.8, 208.17, 226.1, 242.3, 242.10, 243.1, 243.2, 260.5, 306.2,
332.1, 407.1, 407.2, DM.18, DM.22, DM.26, DM.27, DM.32, DM.46
Franco, Francisco, 242.8, 306.14
Frank, Hans, 238.2
Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, 64.1, 165.5
Frank W. Legg Collection DM.9
Frankford, PA, 156.1, 156.12
Frankfurt, West Germany, 239.2
Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, 64.3
Freedmen's Hospital, DC, 48.3
French and Indian War, 111.1
Fruits, 54.1, 54.2
Fuel Administration, U.S. (RG 67)
Fuel oil installations, 32.3
Fuhrerhaus (Germany), 242.1
Fuller, Glenn L. (photog.), 114.1
Funerals, 126.3, 208.6, 306.18, DM.23

Galbraith, John Kenneth, 59.6
Gallaudet College, DC, 48.3
Gallegos, Romulo, 208.17
Game animals, 22.5
Gandhi, Indira, 306.14, 306.20
Gardens, 12.1, 42.1, 42.3, 54.1, 54.4
Gardner, Alexander (photog.), 75.1, 76.1, 90.1, 165.1
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany, 242.1
Gas warfare, 52.2, 70.2, 171.4
Gatty, Harold, 18.13
Gemini space program, 255.4, 306.11
General Headquarters, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, 331.4
General Land Office, 49.1-49.2
Genoa Industrial School for Indian Youth, NE, 75.9
Geographical and Geological Survey of the Rocky Mountain Region, U.S., 57.2
Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian, U.S. (Wheeler Survey), 77.8, 79.4, 106.1, 287.1
Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, U.S. (Hayden Survey), 57.1, 77.5, 79.6
Geological Exploration of the Fortieth Parallel (King Survey), 77.7, 79.4, DM.13
Geological formations, 49.4, 57.1, 77.8, 94.3, 106.1, 165.2
Geological Survey (RG 57), 115.2
George A. Carroll Collection DM.35
George S. Stewart, Jr., Collection DM.31
George Washington, SS, 32.5
George Washington Bicentennial Commission, 79.9, 148.1
George Washington Memorial Highway, 42.4
Georgia, 16.7, 57.2, 94.1, 112.1, 121.5, 162.1, DM.5
Gerdes, Lt. Col., 77.24
German-American Bund, 131.4
German Railroads Information Offices, 131.2, 131.3, 131.4
Germany, 5.1, 16.7, 18.5, 19.4, 32.6, 38.3, 38.6, 47.4, 59.4, 59.10, 63.1, 92.6, 111.5, 131.1-131.5, 153.1-153.2, 156.2,
156.12, 165.14, 165.15, 165.17, 229.3, 238.1-238.4, 239.2, 242.1-242.10, 243.1, 243.2, 243.3, 255.7, 260.1, 260.3,
260.4, 286.1, 306.16, 342.1, DM.18, DM.32, DM.36, DM.40, DM.42, DM.46
Geronimo, 75.1, 75.6
Gettysburg, PA, 79.3, DM.22
Gila River Relocation Center, AZ, 210.2
Gilbert Islands, 22.1
Glacier National Park, 79.11
Glaciers, 76.3, 94.3
Gleason's Pictorial Drawing Room Companion, 64.1
Glendale, AZ, 17.3
Goat Island, NY, 77.14
Goddard, Col. George W. (photog.), 342.2
Goldbeck, E. O. (photog.), 165.16
Goldberg, Rube, 65.2
Goldwater, Barry, 306.12
Gondos, Victor, DM.5
Goring, Hermann, 260.4
Government Reports, Office of (RG 44)
Graf, Ulrich, 260.6
Graf Spee (battleship), 59.4
Graf Zeppelin (airship), 18.12
Grain, 5.1, 97.1, 145.4, 258.1
Grain Corporation, U.S. (RG 5)
Granada Relocation Center, CO, 210.2
Grand Army of the Republic, 15.2
Grand Canyon National Park, 79.11
Grand Coulee Dam, WA, 328.3
Grand Teton National Park, 57.1
Grant, George Alexander (photog.), 79.11, 79.16
Grant, Ulysses S., 42.4, 127.2, DM.2, DM.6
Grant, Ulysses S., III, DM.12
Grant Memorial Commission, 42.4
Graphs, 27.1, 74.3, 97.4, 178.1, 188.3, 207.4, 287.1, 331.4, 331.5, 432.2
Grazing land, 75.5
Great Britain, 52.3, 54.3, 75.8, 76.1, 76.2, 92.5, 165.14, 171.1, 196.1, 196.3, 226.1 See also England; Northern Ireland; Scotland; Wales
Great Depression, 306.2
Great Lakes area, 22.3, 22.4, 37.2
Great White Fleet, 80.4
Greater Germany in World Events-Daily Picture Reports,242.8
Greeley, Maj. Gen. Adolphus W., collection, 111.8
Green Lake, ME, 22.6
Green River, WY, 57.3, DM.13
Greenland, 26.5
Griffin, Maj. T. H., 120.4
Griffiths, Maj. (photog.), 165.15
Gripsholm, SS, 59.10
Grunsonwerk Company, 156.2
Guadalcanal, Solomon Islands, 107.1
Guam, 22.1, 362.1
Guatemala, 90.3, 169.1
Guayule Emergency Rubber Plant Project, 54.11, 95.7
Gulf coast area, 22.4
Gulf Oil Company, 165.10
Guns, 74.1, 74.3, 179.1
Guthrie, OK, 49.3

"Habitat 67" (exhibit), 207.2
Haddon, William, DM.37
Hagenjos, Oscar, 77.14
Hague, The, Netherlands, 63.1
Haiti, 38.3, 127.3, 234.2, 350.5
Haley, George W. (photog.), 92.6
Hall, Ansel (photog.), 79.15
Hamburg, Germany, 5.1, 32.6, 131.1
Hamburg, SS, DM.25
Hamburg-American Line, 32.6, 131.1
Hamilton, Alexander, 391.4
Hamm, Luxembourg, 332.1
Hampton Roads, VA, 22.4, 121.5, 336.1
Handicapped children, 12.3
Hanna, G. D. (photog.), 22.4
Harbors, 37.2, 71.3, 77.5, 77.10, 80.3, 165.6, 233.1-233.2,350.2, DM.7

defenses, 77.4

Harding, Warren G., 16.2, 16.3, 59.7, 75.4, 79.2, 126.3, 185.2
Harmon Foundation Collection DM.1
Harold W. Clover Collection DM.46
Harpers Ferry, WV, 79.3, 92.2
Harper's Weekly, 64.1, 165.5
Harriman, PA, 32.1
Harris, Patricia R., 220.9
Haupt, Gen. Herman, 77.3
Havana, Cuba, 165.5
Hawaii, 22.1, 32.3, 38.6, 48.4, 71.3, 107.1, 117.1, 126.5, 165.7, 165.11, DM.22
Hawthorne, Nathaniel, DM.9
Hayden, Ferdinand V., 57.1, 77.5
Hayden Survey. See Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, U.S.
Hayes, Rutherford B., 121.4, DM.9
Haynes, Frank J., collection, 79.1
Head Start, 381.1
Health, 47.2, 52.1-52.4, 59.11, 69.1, 75.3-75.6, 75.10, 90.2, 90.3-90.5, 112.1-112.5, 119.2, 126.5, 162.1-162.2, 220.6, 220.9, 229.1, 245.1, 378.1
Health promotion, 69.1, 75.10, 90.4, 119.2, 378.1
Health surveys, 229.1, 245.1
Hearst, William R., 131.1
Heart Mountain Relocation Center, WY, 210.2
Heckler, Margaret, 220.8
Helium production, 70.3
Hell Gate channel, New York, NY, 233.2
Hell's Angels (bomber), 165.17
Helsinki Conference (1975), 306.22
Hemp, 16.8
Herblock, 65.2
Heyman, Ken (photog.), 412.2
Highways and roads, 30.1, 30.3-30.4, 55.1, 69.3, 119.3, 162.1, 165.10, 350.5, DM.10
Hileman, T. J., collection, 79.1
Hillers, John K. (photog.), 57.2, 57.3, 75.1, 106.3, 391.1, DM.11
Hilo, HI, 126.5
Hilton, Donald, 126.6
Hindenberg (airship), 237.1
Hine, Lewis (photog.), 12.1, 69.5, 102.1, 142.3
Hines, IL, 15.5
Hiroshima, Japan, 77.25, 243.5
Hiss, Alger, 59.6
Historic buildings, 35.6, 121.10,148.3, 260.3
Historic preservation, 207.5, 378.1
Historic sites, 18.8, 35.6, 79.1, 79.7, 79.10, 79.11, 79.21, 106.5, 126.4, 148.1, 306.6, 452.2, 452.3
Historical Society of Washington, DC, 64.1
Hitcham Coal & Coke Company, 67.2
Hitchcock, TX, 80.5
Hitler, Adolf, 131.4, 242.1, 242.3, 242.4, 242.7, 242.8, 260.6, DM.40
Hitler Youth, 242.1, 242.9
Hoffmann, Heinrich (photog.), 242.1
Hofstetter, Seymour, DM.44
Holmes, William Henry (artist), 57.1
Home economics classes, 12.2
Honda Point disaster, 19.3
Honduras, 90.3
Hong Kong, 306.16
Honolulu, HI, 32.3, 117.1
Hookworm, 90.4
Hoover, Herbert, 4.1, 24.8, 220.1, DM.2
Hoover, J. Edgar, collection, 65.1, 65.2
Hoover Dam, 79.12
Horses, 17.1
Horticultural and Pomological Investigations, Office of, 54.4
Hospital for the Insane, DC, 48.3
Hospital ships, 52.4
Hospitals, 59.3, 75.3, 75.6, 90.1, 92.2, 112.2, 112.3, 121.1,121.12, 126.4, 162.1, 162.2, 165.1

Navy Corps, 52.1, 52.3-52.4
Public Health Service, 90.2
Veterans Administration, 15.3-15.5

Hot Springs, AR, 48.4
Houma, LA, 80.5
House of Representatives, U.S. (RG 233)
House of Representatives, U.S.

Appropriations Committee, 26.5
Office Building, 48.3

Housing, 3.1-3.4, 32.1, 55.1, 59.12, 69.5, 69.12, 70.3, 75.3, 75.12, 75.13, 75.14, 126.4, 156.7, 162.1, 185.2, 187.1, 196.1-196.5, 210.1, 245.1, 268.2, 306.3, 378.1

for the elderly, 207.5
low.rent, 196.1-196.5, 207.2, 207.5
military, 77.9, 80.5, 162.2, 260.1

Housing and Urban Development, Department of (RG 207)
Housing Authority, U.S., 69.12, 162.1, 196.2
Housing Corporation, U.S. (RG 3)
Houston, TX, 220.8
Howard, Leland O., 7.1
Howard University, DC, 48.3
Hudson River, NY, 23.1
Hudson's Bay Company, 76.1
Hugo H. Huntzinger Collection DM.28
Hull, Cordell, 59.6
Human Nutrition and Home Economics, Bureau of (RG 176)
Humphrey, Hubert, 306.12, 306.20, 362.1, 429.1
Humphrey, Muriel, 306.20
Hungary, 165.14
Hunton, E. C. (photog.), 33.3
Huntzinger, Hugo H., DM.28
Hurricanes, 69.14
Hyde, F. B. (photog.), 119.2
Hydroelectric power, 115.1, 142.3
Hydrographic Office (RG 37)
Hydrographic surveys, 22.1, 23.2, 37.1
Hygiene, 90.2

Ice patrols, 26.1, 32.4
Icebergs, 32.4, 126.6
Iceland, 306.17
Ickes, Harold, 55.1
Idaho, 35.4, 57.1, 75.1, 76.1, 77.7, 79.6, 95.2, 210.2
Illingworth, W. H. (photog.), 77.5
Illinois, 15.5, 18.9, 26.2, 43.1, 59.3, 75.14, 77.3, 92.3, 92.5, 111.3, 119.1, 121.5, 156.12, 156.14, 165.4, 220.12, 306.12, 412.2, DM.5
Illinois and Mississippi Canal, 77.2
Illustrated London News, The, 64.1
Immigrants, 30.4, 90.2, 119.2, 220.9
Imperial Valley, CA, 48.4
India, 54.2, 59.13, 306.14
Indian Affairs, Bureau of (RG 75)
Indian Congress (1926), 75.6
Indian Head, MD, 38.3, 80.5
Indian Opportunities, 381.1
Indian protests, 75.13
Indian Record, 75.15
Indian Service, U.S., 75.4
Indian tribal delegations, 75.1
Indian wars, 111.1, DM.5
Indiana, 18.9
Indians. See American Indians
Indonesia, 59.13, 84.1, 306.16
Industrial development, 229.1, 378.1-378.3
Industrial production 4.2, 45.1, 111.1, 126.2, 126.4, 126.5,131.2, 151.1, 156.6, 156.11
Infantry Regiments, U.S., 391.3
Information Service Centers (USIA), 306.1, 306.5
Insects, 7.2-7.4
Insular Affairs, Bureau of (RG 350)
Inter-Allied Rhineland High Commission, 165.15
Inter-American Affairs, Office of (RG 229)
Inter-American Conference (1944-45), 208.16
Inter-American Highway, 30.1
Intercontinental Railway Commission, 43.2
Interior, Department of the, 48.2, 115.2, 115.4, 245.1, 471.1
Interior, Office of the Secretary of the (RG 48)
Interior, Office of the Secretary of the, 115.2
International Boundary Commission, 76.6
International Colonial and Overseas Exposition, Paris, France (1931-32), 43.1
International Conference on Safety of Life at Sea (1929), 41.1
International Conferences, Commissions, and Expositions (RG 43)
International Exposition, Seville, Spain (1929-30), 40.2, 48.6
International Hydrographic Conference (1919), 37.2
International Information, Office of, 59.11
International Military Tribunal for the Far East, 238.3
International Military Tribunal (Nurnberg, Germany), 238.4
InternationaI trade, 59.4, 364.1
International trade fairs, 151.1
International Water Technique Exposition (1939), 242.1
International Waterways Commission, 76.4
International Women's Year, 220.7
"Introduction to the Controlled Materials Plan," 277.1
Inventors, 64.5
lowa, 22.4, 22.5, 69.1
Iran, 59.13, 306.17
Iraq, 208.17
Irex, U.S.S., 428.1
Irons, Col. James A., 165.12
Irrigation, 8.1, 54.3, 75.4, 75.7, 83.1, 114.1, 114.4, 115.1, 115.3, 115.4, 187.1
Italy, 38.1, 54.2, 77.20, 165.13, 165.14, 208.8, 260.3, 306.16, DM.18
Iwasaki, Hikaru (photog.), 210.1, 210.3

J. Robert St. Clair Collection DM.43
J. William Klie Collection DM.19
Jack, John G. (photog.), 95.2
Jackson, Andrew, 59.3, 127.2
Jackson, William Henry (photog.), 57.1, 77.5, 79.4, 79.6, DM.3
Jackson State College, MS, 220.3
James River, VA, 71.1
James River Bridge, VA, 32.3
James W. Talbot Collection DM.42
Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition, Hampton Roads, VA (1907), 111.4, 121.5
Japan, 26.6, 37.2, 38.1, 59.10, 75.8, 77.25, 80.10, 84.1, 111.3, 111.5, 165.8, 165.12, 165.17, 208.2, 226.3, 243.3-243.5, 260.2, 306.2, 306.14, 319.1, 319.2, 331.1, 331.2, 331.4, 331.5, 342.1, 391.3, DM.45
Japanese Americans, 210.1-210.4, 220.12
Japanese beetles, 7.4
Japanese internees, 59.10
Java, Indonesia, 84.1
Javits, Jacob, 432.1
Jefferson, Thomas, 127.2
Jefferson Patterson Collection DM.18
Jerome Lillenthal Collection DM.40
Jeu de Paume Museum, France, 260.5
Job Corps, 381.1
Job training, 35.6, 119.4, 378.1
Johannesburg, South Africa, 208.9
John and Kate Evans Collection DM.21
John K. Hillers Collection DM.11
John Marshall Bicentennial Commission, 79.19
John XXIII, Pope, 306.17
Johnson, Andrew, 21.2
Johnson, Lady Bird, 306.17, 429.1, 452.4
Johnson, Lyndon B., 47.4, 51.1, 79.18, 79.20, 127.2, 129.1, 306.4, 306.6, 306.8, 306.17, 306.19, DM.2
Johnson's Island, OH, 92.2
Johnstown, PA, 77.4
Jonas, Lucien, DM.27
Jones, John Paul, 24.6
Journalists, 94.7, 165.10
Judd, Neil M., DM.24
Judge Advocate General (Army), Office of the (RG 153)
Juliana, Queen of the Netherlands, 306.20
Junction City, KS, 391.5
Jurists, 21.1, 238.3, 238.4, 328.2, DM.2, DM.3

Supreme Court Justices, 21.1

Justice, Department of, 129.1

Kahn, Alfred E., 429.2
Kaiser Wilhelm II (ship), 38.3
Kandy, Ceylon, 226.1
Kansas, 119.1, 391.5, 471.1
Kansas City, MO, 77.23
Karsh, Yousuf (photog.), 208.5
Katzenbach, Nicholas, 129.1
Kaufmann, Branko (photog.), 210.3
Kellogg, Frank B., 220.1
Kennan, George, 59.6
Kennedy, Edward, 220.9, 306.7, 306.16
Kennedy, John F., 15.5, 40.3, 47.4, 79.18, 79.20, 129.1, 151.1, 170.1, 306.4, 306.6, 306.16, 306.18, DM.2, DM.47
Kennedy, Robert F., 79.20, 129.1, 306.16
Kennedy Round Trade Agreement, 364.1
Kennedy Space Center, FL, 255.4
Kent State University, OH, 220.3
Kentucky, 18.9, 35.5, 92.6, 220.6
Kenyatta, Jomo, 306.20
Kerr, Florence, 69.1
Key West, FL, 69.12
Khrushchev, Nikita, 306.15, 306.16
Kiesinger, Kurt Georg, 255.7
King, Clarence, 77.7
King, Coretta Scott, 220.8
King Survey. See Geological Exploration of the Fortieth Parallel
Kingsport, TN, 142.3
Kiowa Indians, 75.1, 75.2
Kiribati Islands, 22.1
Kirk, Norman T., 112.2
Kiska Harbor, AK, 22.5
Kitty Hawk, NC, 237.1
Klie, J. William, DM.19
Klutznick, Philip, 378.4
Knoblock, F. S. (photog.), 16.6
Knox, Frank, 80.1, 229.2
Koblenz, Germany, 92.6, 165.15
Koch, Ilse, 153.1
Korea, 59.13, DM.14
Korean Punitive Expedition, DM.12
Korean war, 52.4, 80.3, 111.1, 127.1, 319.1
Kornitzer, Erwin, DM.25
Koslov, Frol R., 306.15
Koyukul River, AK, 94.3
Kreps, Juanita M., 378.4
Ku Klux Klan, 306.2
Kukui, U.S.C.G.C., 26.5
Kunming, China, 226.1

La Junta, CO, 171.7
Labor, Department of (RG 174)
Labor disputes, 126.5, 174.2, 280.1, 306.2
Labor leaders, 306.16
Lady Franklin Bay Expedition, DM.14
Lady Managers, Board of, 233.4
Laguna Indians, 106.3
Lake Denmark, NY, 71.3
Lake Survey, U.S., 77.14
Lake Tahoe, CA, 57.1
Lakes, 77.14, 142.2
Lambert Field, MO, 80.5
Lamson-Scribner, Frank, collection, 16.5
Land, Adm. Emory S., DM.39
Land conservation, 75.12, 471.1
Land management, 95.1
Land Management, Bureau of (RG 49)
Land use, 96.2, 114.1, 114.5
Landmarks, 38.1, 79.7, 452.2, 452.3
Landscaping. See Architectural drawings
Lang, William C., DM.34
Lange, Dorothea (photog.), 83.4, 96.2, 210.1
Lantern slides, 3.2, 4.3, 16.8, 18.2, 24.7, 26.2, 27.1, 29.1,30.4, 35.7, 42.1, 52.2, 53.1, 54.2, 54.9, 56.1, 56.2, 66.1,
71.1, 72.3, 74.3, 75.2, 75.4, 75.8, 75.10, 76.5, 77.2, 77.14, 77.19, 79.7, 79.10, 88.1, 106.4, 106.5, 112.2, 112.5, 114.6,
115.6, 115.7, 119.2, 121.10, 126.1, 131.3, 165.1, 165.14, 167.1-167.3, 171.1, 171.3, 171.4, 179.2,196.1, 238.4, 255.1, 328.2, 337.1, 350.3, 370.1, 394.1, 407.2, DM.26

hand-colored, 16.3, 79.2, 97.3

Laval, France, 208.3
Law enforcement, 26.1, 65.1
Lebanon, 306.16
Lee, Russell W. (photog.), 18.14, 220.6, 245.1
Legal Services, 381.1
Legg, Frank W., DM.9
L'Enfant, Pierre, 42.1
Leguia, Augusto Bernardino, 43.3
Lehi Indian Day School, 75.8
Leiberg, John B. (photog.), 95.2
Lend-lease materials, 59.8
Leper colonies, 55.1
Leslie's Illustrated Weekly. See Frank Leshe's Illustrated Newspaper
"Lest We-Or They-Forget" (exhibit), 208.3
Leviathan, SS, 32.5
Levitt, Helen (photog.), 69.10
Levy, Salomon (artist), DM.4
Lewis, Gen. Morgan, 92.1
Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition, Portland OR, 121.5
Lexington, MA, DM.22
Lexington, U.S.S., 19.9
Liberty Loans, promotion of, 4.2, 53.1, 59.5, 165.13
Libraries, 69.11, 220.5, 260.3
Library of Congress, 148.3
Library of Congress Collection DM.8
Libya, 59.13
Lidice, Czechoslovakia, 229.3
Liebsohn, So (photog.), 69.10
"Life in the United States," 208.6
Lifeboat stations, 26.2
Lifesaving Service, U.S., 56.2
Lighthouse Service, U.S., 26.10
Lighthouses, 26.2
Lightships, 26.2
Lilienthal, Jerome, DM.40
Lincoln, Abraham, 42.2, 64.3, 127.2, 165.1, DM.2
Lincoln Memorial, 42.2, 121.8
Lindbergh, Charles A., 28.2, 80.7, 237.1, 429.1
Lindsay, John, 306.12
Linebaugh, N. L., collection, 35.5
Linz Collection, 260.4
Lion 2, 38.7
Lion 4, 38.7
Liquors, 88.1
Lithographs, 59.2, 64.3, 77.3, 79.11, 90.1, 94.1, 95.3, 165.13,233.2, DM.10, DM.27

color, 15.2, 92.1, 92.2, 165.4 See also Art, graphic

Livestock, 16.4, 33.3, 83.1, 83.3, 83.4, 145.2
Lobster industry, 22.4
Locke, Edwin (photog.), DM.41
Locks (navigation), 77.5, 185.2
Logging, 18.6, 48.4, 95.1
London, England, 54.3, 226.1
Long Beach, CA, 18.12, 168.1
Lookout Mountain, TN, 94.1
Loran stations, 26.5
Lorentz, Pare, 44.4, 96.2-96.3, DM.41
Los Angeles (dirigible), 72.4
Los Angeles, CA, 48.5, 75.14
Louisiana, 49.4, 80.5, 233.1
Louisiana Purchase Exposition, St. Louis, MO (1904), 16.5, 43.1, 48.5, 92.3, 111.4, 121.5
Lowdermilk, Walter C. (photog.), 114.5
Lucien Jonas Collection DM.27
Ludlow, CO, 174.2
Luke Field, HI, 165.11
Lumber industry, 75.5, 75.7, 95.1
Lunar studies, 255.5, 306.11
Luxembourg, 332.1
Luzon province, Philippine Islands, 350.2

MacArthur, Gen. Douglas, 331.5
McCarthy, Eugene, 306.12
McClory, Doris, DM.33
Mace, Charles E. (photog.), 210.1
McDowell, Comdr. C. S. (photog.), 38.6
McIlvaine, William, collection, DM.7
McKinley, William, DM.2
McLean, H. D. (photog.), 165.10
McMaster, Col. George H. (photog.), 165.10
McMurtrey, J. E. (photog.), 54.6
McNair, Gen. Lesley J., 337.1
Macon (airship), DM.35
Mahana, U.S.S., 37.2
Maine, 22.3, 22.6
Maine, U.S.S., 19.4, 48.5, 77.15
Malaria, 90.2
Malaysia, 306.16
Mammals, 22.7
Management and Budget, Office of (RG 51)
Manhattan, SS, 32.5
Manhattan District, 77.25
Manila, Philippine Islands, 350.2
Manila Railroad Company, 350.1
Manufacturers, 38.2, 69.5, 72.5, 97.1, 97.2, 97.3, 165.13, 207.3
Manzanar, CA, 49.4, 210.2
Maps, 38.3, 66.2, 117.2, 120.1, 165.6, 171.1
Marburg Central Collecting Point, 260.4
March, Capt. P. C. (photog.), 165.12
March Field, CA, 18.10
March on Washington (1963), 306.4
Marcos, Ferdinand, 306.20
Mare Island, CA, 71.2
Mariana Islands, 38.1
Marine Brigade, Third, 127.3
Marine Corps, U.S. (RG 127)
Marine Corps, U.S., 24.1, 72.2, 80.5, 80.6, 80.7
Marine Inspection and Navigation, Bureau of (RG 41)
Marine Inspection and Navigation, Bureau of, 26.3
Marine life, 22.1, 22.4, 106.4
Maritime Commission, U.S. (RG 178)
Maritime Service, U.S., 26.4
Marquesas Islands, 22.1
Marshall, John, 79.19
Marshall, Thurgood, 306.20
Marshall Islands, 22.1, 38.1, 74.4, 374.1
Marshall Plan, 286.1
Maryland, 17.1, 17.3, 22.3, 38.3, 69.12, 79.3, 80.5, 92.2, 92.5, 156.5, 156.12, 156.13, 165.1, 171.3, 394.2, DM.22
Mascoutah, IL, 412.2
Massachusetts, 19.5, 19.9, 22.3, 32.3, 35.3, 69.14, 156.12, 156.14, 165.13, 233.2, 337.1, DM.22, DM.37
Matanuska Colonization Project, 126.2
Mather, Stephen T., collection, 79.1
Maurice Constant Collection DM.38
Mead, Margaret, 220.8
Mead, Wilfred J. (photog.), 35.1, 35.4, 54.10
Medals, 38.3, 120.2
Medical personnel, 112.1, 112.3-112.4, 245.1
Medical research, 52.4, 90.2, 112.2
Medical treatment, 52.2-52.4, 75.10, 90.2, 90.4, 90.5, 112.1, 112.2, 112.3, 362.1 See also Health
Medicine and Surgery, Bureau of (RG 52)
Mediterranean area, 306.17, DM.14
Melbourne, Australia, 43.1
Mellon, Andrew, 131.1, 220.1
Mencken, H. L., 131.1
Menderes, Adnan, 306.14
Merchant marine, 32.4, 41.3, DM.39
Merchant Marine Bulletin, 32.4
Merchant ships, 19.4, 26.3

Japanese, 26.6
U.S., 5.1, 32.4

Mercury space program, 255.4
Meteorology, 27.1, 27.3, 119.3, 370.1
Mexican Americans, DM.16
Mexican Pacific Railway, 165.10
Mexican Punitive Expedition, 94.7, 111.1, 165.10
Mexican War, 111.1
Mexico, 19.8, 37.1, 38.3, 54.5, 76.6, 77.12, 79.7, 94.7, 165.10, 189.1, 208.16, 208.17, 220.7, 306.13, DM.7
Mexico City, Mexico, 220.7, 306.13
Miami, FL, 80.4, 306.12
Michigan, 18.9, 35.3, 165.2, 171.3, 233.2
Michigan Military Academy, Orchard Lake, MI, 165.2
Microfilming, 64.5
Middle East, 97.3, 106.5, 114.5, 165.6, 306.15, 306.17, 306.22
Middle River, MD, 69.12
Middlebury, VT, 17.1
Migrant workers, 145.2, 362.1
Mikoyan, Anastas, 306.15
Miles Expedition. See Alaskan Expedition
Military campaigns, 77.18, 111.1, 111.2
Military defenses, 38.1, 77.4, 92.2
Military insignia, 77.4, 92.2
Military installations, 77.7, 77.9, 106.1, 111.1, 165.1, 165.13, 243.1, 243.3, 260.1

Air Force, 77.9
Army, 77.7, 77.9, 92.2, 92.7, 111.3, 165.11, 319.1, 350.2, 394.1
Navy, 80.3, 80.5, 80.6

Military medicine, 52.1-52.4, 111.1, 112.1-112.5
Military recruitment, 24.6, 24.7, 45.1, 77.21, 94.8, 109.1, 120.6, 162.1
Military supply depots, 18.10, 38.6, 71.3, 92.2
Military training, 77.3, 77.18, 77.19, 80.3, 94.4, 111.1, 111.9, 112.1, 120.3, 145.2, 165.13, 337.1, 393.1, 407.3
Military tribunals, 238.3, 238.4, 331.3
Military units, U.S.

Army Counterintelligence Corps, DM. 45
Army Forces, Austria, 319.4
Army Ski Troops, 79.11
Army Southern Department, 77.9
Cavalry regiments, various, 391.3
Corps, III and IV, 394.1; IX, 165.16
Division, 36th, 165.15
Engineers, 116th, 120.3
Infantry regiments, various, 391.3
Marine Brigade, Third, 127.3
Mountain Division, 10th, 337.1
New York Artillery, 391.4
New York Infantry, 67th, 391.3
Service Command, Third, 394.1
Telegraph Battalion, 419th, DM.30
U.S. Volunteers, 36th, 77.11.
See also American Expeditionary Forces, National Guard units

Military vessels, 19.1-19.2, 19.4-19.9, 24.3, 24.6, 77.19, 92.4
Miller, N. B. (photog.), 22.2
Milwaukee, WI, 48.4, 156.6
Milwaukee Public Museum, WI, 48.4
Mindora province, Philippine Islands, 350.2
Mine warfare, 38.5, 74.1, 74.3, 120.3
Minerals, 70.1, 169.1
Mines, Bureau of (RG 70)
Minidoka Relocation Center, ID, 210.2
Mining industry, 57.1, 57.3, 69.5, 70.1, 77.7, 95.2, 106.1, 126.1, 169.1, 174.2, 187.1, 220.6, 245.1, 471.1
Mink, Patsy, 220.8
Minneapolis, MN, 15.5
Minnesota, 15.5
Minnesota Historical Society Collection DM.10
Mint, Philadelphia, PA, 121.6
Mississippi, 220.3
Mississippi, U.S.S., 24.8
Mississippi River, 26.7, 77.22, 92.6, 233.1
Mississippi River Commission, 77.22
Missouri, 18.9, 43.1, 48.5, 77.23, 80.5, 92.3, 121.5
Missouri, U.S.S., 80.10
Missouri River, 77.23
Mitchell, John, 129.1
Modoc Indians, 165.3
Mondale, Walter, 378.1, 378.4
Monoplanes, 18.13
Monroe, James, 127.2
Montana, 17.1, 57.1, 79.6, 95.2, 114.4
Monte Cassino (abbey), 260.3
Monterey, CA, 79.4
Montevideo, Uruguay, 59.4
Montreal, Canada, 207.2
Monument Valley, 79.15
Monuments and memorials, 42.1, 42.2, 42.4, 64.2, 66.1, 79.1,79.2, 79.7, 79.8, 79.11, 79.12, 79.21, 92.5, 111.10, 117.1-117.4, 121.1, 121.7, 121.8, 239.1-239.2, 260.3, 328.2, DM.10
Moon, J. M., collection, 165.1
Moon landings, 255.5, 306.11
Moorestown, NJ, 7.4
Moqui, AZ, 106.3
Moran, John (photog.), 77.5
Morgan City, LA, 80.5
Morgan Horse Farm, U.S., VT, 17.1
Morinigo, Higinio, 229.2
Moroccan War, 407.2
Morocco, 165.12, 169.1
Morton, Rogers C. B., 378.4
Moscow, U.S.S.R., 306.15
Moseley bridges, 92.2
Mosquitoes, 112.2
Mother-of-pearI button industry, 22.14, 22.5
Motion picture stars, 53.1
Mt. Baker, 79.15
Mount Fairweather, 76.3
Mount Logan, 76.3
Mount Shasta, CA, 79.4
Mount Vernon MemoriaI Highway, 30.1
Moylan, Col. Stephen, 92.1
Muir, Bluford W. (photog.), 35.2
Mules, 17.1
Munich Central Collecting Point, 260.4
Munich, (Munchen) Germany, 242.1, 242.10, DM.36
Murals, 79.12, 121.10, 121.12, 121.13
Murphy, Louis S., DM.28
Muscle Shoals, AL, 142.1, 156.7
Musee de l'Histoire de France, Paris 64.5
Museum for German History, Berlin Collection DM.4
Museums, 69.11, 79.13
Muskie, Edmund, 306.12
Mussolini, Benito, 242.8
Muybridge, Eadweard (photog.), 165.3
Mydans, Carl (photog.), 96.2

Nader, Ralph, 432.1
Nagasaki, Japan, 77.25, 243.5
Nanking, China, 38.1
Narcotics, 90.2
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, Bureau of (RG 170)
Nashville, TN, 121.5
National Academy of Sciences (RG 189), 16.2
National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, 255.1, 255.2
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (RG 255)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 26.1, 306.11
National Air Pollution Control Administration, 412.1
National Archives Building, 64.4
National Archives and Records Administration (RG 64)
National Archives Collection of Foreign Records Seized (RG 242)
National Bureau of Standards, 167.1-167.3, 207.4 See also National Institute of Standards and Technology (RG 167)
National Capital Parks, Office of, 79.2
National Capital Planning Commission (RG 328)
National cemeteries, 66.1, 92.5
National Child Labor Committee, 102.1
National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control, 220.4
National Commission on the Observance of InternationalWomen's Year, 220.7
National Defense Research Committee, 227.1
National forests, 35.8, 95.4, 95.6
National 4-H Club Camp, Washington, DC, 33.4
National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, 260.7
National Geographic Society, 167.2
National Guard Bureau (RG 168)
National Guard units, 35.3, 145.2, 168.1, 391.4
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 90.4
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (RG 416)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (RG 167)
National Institute of Standards and Technology, 207.4
National Institutes of Health, 90.4
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (RG 370)
National Operational Meteorological Satellite System, 370.1
National Park Service (RG 79)
National Park Service, 35.1, 35.4
National parks, 18.8, 48.4, 79.1, 79.7, 79.8, 79.10-79.14, 79.21, 115.2, 412.2
National Production Authority (RG 277)
National Public Advisory Committee on Regional and Economic DeveIopment, 378.4
National Recovery Administration (RG 9)
National Recovery Administration, 287.1
National Research Project, 69.5
National Resources Planning Board (RG 187)
National Socialist Party. See Nazis
National Women's Conference, 220.8
National Youth Administration (RG 119)
National Youth Administration, 35.7, 79.13
Native Americans. See Alaskans, Native and American Indians
Natural disasters, 18.8-9, 18.12, 23.2, 26.7, 27.1, 30.2, 48.7, 57.2, 69.14, 77.4, 77.17, 77.22, 90.5, 92.6, 111.8, 114.1, 114.3, 162.1, 168.1
Natural resources development, 229.1
Navajo Indians, 29.1, 75.1, 75.6, 391.1
Naval air stations, 71.1, 80.3, 80.5, 80.6
Naval Aircraft Factory, Philadelphia, PA, 72.1
Naval Districts and Shore Establishments (RG 181)
Naval Expedition and Survey of the Isthmus of Darien, U.S. (Panama), 77.5
Naval Flying Field, U.S., Akron, OH, 72.4
Naval Intelligence, Office of, 24.3, 26.6, 38.1
Naval Observatory, U.S. (RG 78)
Naval Operations, Office of the Chief of (RG 38)
Naval Personnel, Bureau of (RG 24)
Naval Powder Factory, Indian Head, MD, 80.5
Naval Records Collection of the Office of Naval Records and Library (RG 45)
Naval shore establishments, 71.1
Naval Supply Depot, Oakland, CA, 38.6
Naval Training Station, U.S., Newport, RI, 38.3
Naval Training Station, U.S., Sampson, NY, 71.1
Navies, foreign, 80.3
Navigation, Bureau of, 41.1
Navigational aids (aviation), 18.14, 237.1
Navigational aids (water), 23.2, 26.1-26.2
Navy, Department of the, 1798-1947 (RG 80)
Navy, Department of the, 1947- (RG 428)
Navy, Department of the, 38.2, 38.3
Navy Hospital Corps, 52.1
Navy Hospital, U.S., Portsmouth, VA, 52.1
Navy Nurse Corps, 52.2
Navy, U.S., 19.1-19.9, 24.1-24.8, 72.1-72.6, 74.1-74.4

facilities, 24.4, 71.1-71.3, 80.1-80.10

Navy yards, 19.3-19.5, 69.3, 71.1-71.3, 72.3, 80.3, 80.5
Nazis, 131.2, 131.4, 153.2, 208.3, 229.3, 238.1-238.4, 242.1, 260.5, DM.36
Nebraska, 27.2, 57.1, 75.9, 77.23, 119.1, 121.5
Negro River, 77.24
Negroes. See African Americans
Nehru, Jawaharlal, 306.14
Neil M. Judd Collection DM.24
Nelson, Gaylord, 220.11
Netherlands, 63.1, 286.1, 306.16, 332.1, DM.18
Netherlands East Indies, 239.1
Neubauer, John (photog.), 452.3
Nevada, 77.7, 77.8, 79.4
New Hampshire, 69.14
New Harmony movement, 97.3
New Jersey, 7.4, 156.12, 471.1
New London, CT, 26.1
New Mexico, 8.1, 70.3, 75.6, 77.8, 79.4, 106.3, 391.1
New Orleans, LA, 233.1
New York, 19.3, 19.5, 22.3, 23.1, 54.7, 57.2, 71.1, 71.2, 71.3, 77.4, 112.5, 117.1, 121.5, 121.6, 156.6, 181.1, 210.3, 233.2, 391.3, 391.4, DM.18
New York Air Brake Company, 156.6
New York Artillery, 391.4
New York City, NY, 69.9-69.11, 71.2, 112.5, 117.1, 121.5, 121.6, 181.1, 233.2
New York City Navy Recruiting Bureau, 24.7
New York Herald Tribune, 165.13
New York Infantry, 67th, 391.3
New York Navy Yard. NY, 19.3, 19.4, 19.5, 181.1
New York Times, 165.13
New York Times Paris Bureau, 306.2
New York World's Fair, 121.5
New Zealand, 107.1
Newport, RI, 38.3
Newport News, VA, 71.2, 336.1
"Newsmaps," 44.3
Newspaper clippings, 59.4, 111.11, 165.17, 407.4
Newsreels, 131.5
Niagara Falls, 76.4, 77.14
Niagara River, 43.2, 77.14
Nicaragua, 90.3
Nigeria, DM. 1
Nims, F. A. (photog.), 57.4
Niobrara River, 77.23
Nitro, WV, 156.3
Nixon, Richard M., 51.1, 59.13, 79.20, 255.7, 306.6, 306.7, 306.12, 306.15, 306.21. 412.1. 429.1, 452.4, DM.3
Noball installations, 243.1
Norfolk, VA, 52.1
Normandy, France, 52.3, 226.1
Norris Dam, TN, 142.3
North Africa, 239.1, 242.3, 337.1
North Atlantic Treaty Organization, 319.1
North Carolina, 57.2, 69.2, 220.11, 237.1
North Carolina, U.S.S., 181.2
North Carolina Emergency Relief Administration, 69.2
North Dakota, 114.4
North German Lloyd Steamship Lines, 131.1
Northern Ireland, 226.1, 332.1 See also Great Britain
Northern Pacific Railroad Survey, 106.2
Norway, 306.17
Nuclear bombs, 80.3
Nuclear power, 220.10, 326.1
Nuclear submarines, 19.9
Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (1963), 306.4
Nunivak, U.S. Revenue Cutter, 26.5
Nurnberg, Germany, 238.4, DM.36
Nutrition, 90.2, 176.1, 331.4
Nuts, 54.1

Oakland, CA, 38.6, 75.14
Observatories, 27.1, 78.1
Occupation Headquarters, World War II, U.S. (RG 260)
Occupational hazards, 28.3
Occupational safety, 70.1, 220.6
Occupational therapy, 12.3, 15.3, 208.13
O'Donnell, John A., collection, 268.2
Offenbach Archival Depot, 260.5
Office of Military Government for Germany, U.S. (OMGUS), 260.1
Ogden, H. A. (artist), 92.1, 165.4
Ohio, 18.1, 35.3, 59.3, 69.1, 72.4, 74.3, 75.14, 92.2, 156.15, 220.3, 471.1
Ohio Railroad, 59.3
Oil. See Petroleum industry
Oil reserves, naval, 80.8
O'Keefe, Capt. C. F. (photog.), 77.11, 350.2
Oklahoma, 48.4, 49.3, 75.2, 75.4, 75.9, 168.1, 233.3
Oklahoma National Guard, 168.1
"Oklahoma Railroad Bill," 233.3
Old Hickory, TN, 156.8
Olympic Games, 306.2

1936, 131.2, 242.1
1968, 306.13
U.S. teams, 32.5, 75.8

Omaha, NE, 27.2, 77.23, 121.5
OMGUS, 260.1
O'Neal, Emmet, 268.2
Ontario, Canada, 74.3
Operation Breakthrough, 207.4
Operation Crossroads, 74.4
Operation Diagram, 226.1
Operation Sail, 452.4
Operation Sandstone, 374.1
Operation Strangle, 243.1
Operation Vittles, 342.1
Oranges, 7.5
Orchard Lake, MI, 165.2
Ordnance, 74.1-74.4, 77.3, 77.19, 80.3, 156.1-156.16, 165.13
Ordnance, Bureau of (RG 74)
Ordnance, Bureau of, 156.9
Ordnance, Office of the Chief of (RG 156)
Ordnance Corps, 77.21
Oregon, 35.4, 79.16, 92.2, 95.2, 121.5, 178.1
Oregon Coastal Areas, Committee to Investigate the, 79.16
Oregon Shipbuilding Corporation, 178.1
Organization of American States, 306.8
Organization of American States Collection DM.17
Orinoco River, 77.24.
Osage Indians, 75.4
OSS. See Strategic Services, Office of
O'Sullivan, Laura Pywell, DM.13
O'Sullivan, Timothy (photog.), 77.5, 77.7, 77.8. 79.4, 106.1, 287.1, DM.13
Oswego, NY, 210.3
OWI. See War Information, Office of
Oyster industry, 22.4

P. F. Collier and Son, 165.12
Pacific coast area, 22.4
Pacific Ocean, 22.1, 26.5
Pacific Railway Expedition and Survey, 48.1
Paducah, U.S.S., 37.2
Paintings, 16.1, 121.3, 121.10, 121.12, 121.13, 121.15, 331.1
Paiute Indians, 57.3
Pakistan, 59.13
Palestine, 239.1, DM.18
Pan American (Airlines) Mail Service, 28.2
Pan-American Exposition, Buffalo, NY (1901), 111.14, 121.5
Panama, 59.4, 66.1, 71.2, 76.7, 77.5, 77.9, 77.16, 90.3, 106.5, 165.8, 185.1-185.5, 306.7, 350.5, DM.14, DM.18, DM.22
Panama Canal (RG 185)
Panama Canal, 66.1, 106.5
Panama Canal Company, 185.1, 185.4
Panama Canal Zone, 77.9, 77.16, 80.6, 185.5
Panama-Pacific International Exposition (1915), 16.3, 16.5, 30.4, 54.7, 111.4
Panama Railroad Company, 185.3
Panoramas, 24.4, 66.1, 67.2, 71.2, 75.4, 75.6, 77.20, 78.1, 80.8, 92.2, 92.5, 92.7, 156.8, 165.5, 165.13, 165.16, 174.1, 185.1, 220.7, 319.1, 407.1, DM.3
Parachutes, 72.1
Parades, 148.1, 165.13, 238.2, 306.14

military, 165.17

Paraguay, 229.2
Pare Lorentz Collection DM.41
Paricutin (volcano), 189.1
Paris, France, 42.2, 43.1, 54.4, 260.5, 306.2, 407.1
Paris Universal Exposition (1900), 54.4, 306.2
Parker, Tom (photog.), 210.1
Parks, 42.1, 54.7, 55.1, 66.1, 75.14, 79.8, 79.11, 79.14, 142.2, 207.5, 328.2
Parris Island, SC, 71.2
Partridge, Ron (photog.), 119.4
Pasadena, CA, 79.7
Patient Evacuation and Fire Control Institute, 15.5
Patterson, Jefferson, DM.18
Patterson, Robert P., 107.1, 112.2
Patton, Lt. Gen. George S., 112.3, 332.1
Paul VI, Pope, 306.20
Pay Board, 432.1
Payne, D. R. (photog.), 76.6
Payne, J. B., 126.1
Peabody, Henry G. (photog.), 79.7
Peace Corps, 381.1
Peace demonstrations, 165.14
Pearl Harbor, HI, 71.3
Peking, China, 77.11 See also Beijing, China
Pelham Bay, NY, 71.2
Pennell, Joseph (artist), 165.13
Pennsylvania, 3.3, 15.2, 19.5, 32.1, 32.3, 40.2, 43.1, 54.7, 59.3, 69.1, 72.1, 75.6, 75.8, 77.4, 79.3, 80.5, 92.2, 97.1, 106.5, 121.6, 156.1, 156.12, 165.1, 165.4, 181.1, 220.6, 220.10, 471.1, DM.5, DM.22, DM.26
Pennsylvania, U.S.S., 181.2
Pension Bureau Building, U.S., 15.2
Pension Office, 15.1
Percy, Charles, 432.1
Periscope photographs, 428.1
Pershing, Gen. John, 42.2, DM.32
Peru, 43.3, 229.2, 234.2
Pest control, 7.3-4,16.4
Pesticides, 412.1
Petroleum industry, 48.5, 49.2, 75.4, 80.8, 120.3, 165.10
Philadelphia, PA, 15.2, 19.5, 32.3, 40.2, 43.1, 59.3, 72.1, 75.6, 80.5, 97.1, 106.5, 121.6, 165.4, 181.1
Philadelphia Navy Yard, PA, 181.1
Philadelphia Volunteer Refreshment Salon, 15.2
Philippine Commission, 350.4
Philippine Insurrection, 94.5, 111.1, 111.3, 165.7, 391.2, 395.2, DM.2
Philippine Islands, 26.5, 27.5, 54.2, 54.3, 54.8, 77.4, 77.5, 77.9, 77.11, 77.16, 92.2, 94.5, 106.5, 111.8, 165.5-165.8, 165.17, 226.3, 239.1, 268.1-268.2, 306.14, 306.16, 350.1-350.4, 391.2, 395.2, 407.4, DM.14, DM.20, DM.21. DM.22
Philippine War Damage Commission (RG 268)
Phillips, Charles (photog.), 452.3
Phoenix Tuberculosis Sanitarium, 75.4
Photo Review, 208.10
Photographic Sketch Book of the War, 165.1
Photogravures, DM. 10 See also Art, graphic
Pickering, Timothy, 92.1
Pikesville, KY, 220.6
Pilots, 28.2, 242.7
Pima, AZ, 75.2
Pipelines, 412.2, DM.48
Pittsburgh, PA, DM.22
Planned communities, 3.2
Plant diseases, 54.1, 54.3, 95.1
Plant Industry, Soils, and Agricultural Engineering, Bureau of (RG 54)
Plant Industry, Soils, and Agricultural Engineering, Bureauof, 16.3
Plant varieties, 16.5, 22.7, 54.1, 54.2, 54.4, 54.10, 95.1, 114.2,350.2
Platte River, 77.23
Playwrights, 69.7
Plow That Broke the Plains, The (film), 96.2
Plymouth, MA, DM.22
Point Arguello (U.S.C.G. vessel), 181.2
Point Judith, R1, 111.8
Point Lookout, MD, 92.2
Poland, 165.13, 229.3, 238.2, 260.5, 306.15, DM.40
Politicians, 32.4, 38.4, 69.7, 208.2, 208.4, 208.5, 242.5, 306.6, DM.2, DM.38
Polk, James, 127.2
Pollution control, 412.1
Pond, Lt. Charles (photog.), 37.1
Porter, Charles, collection, 79.1
Portland, OR, 92.2, 121.5, 178.1
"Portrait of America," 208.6
Ports, 18.8, 19.4, 32.4, 32.6, 38.1, 131.1, 131.3, 336.1
Portsmouth, VA, 52.1
Portugal, 286.1, DM.18
Post, Wiley, 18.13
Post offices, 28.1-28.3, 121.1, 121.12
Postal Service, U.S. (RG 28)
Postcards, 79.11, 165.14, 260.6, DM.10, DM.14
Posters, 3.3, 4.1, 4.2, 15.2, 24.6, 24.7, 26.10, 28.1, 32.5, 33.1, 44.1, 44.2, 45.1, 47.1, 53.1, 53.2, 56.6, 59.4, 59.5, 59.11, 64.1, 64.3, 69.1, 69.7, 77.21, 79.21, 90.4, 94.8, 95.8, 96.3, 120.6, 156.16, 171.5, 171.6, 179.1, 188.1, 188.4, 207.5, 208.14, 220.5, 220.7, 229.3, 287.1, 331.5, 381.1, 407.3, 452.1, DM.2, DM.33, DM.43 See also Art, graphic; Art, original
Postmasters, 121.4
Potomac River, 328.1
Poultry, 17.3
Powell, Maj. John Wesley, 48.5, 57.2, 79.5
Powell Survey. See Geographical and Geological Survey of the Rocky Mountain Region, U.S.
Power plants, 69.12, 71.3, 77.2, 115.1, 142.2, 220.10
Prado, Manuel, 229.2
Prasad, Rajendra, 306.14
President Harding, SS, 32.5
President Hoover, SS, 32.5
President Roosevelt, SS, 32.5
President's Commission on the Accident at Three Mile Island, 220.10
President's Commission on Campus Unrest, 220.3
President's Commission on Coal, 220.6
Presidents, U.S., 59.3, 64.2, 65.1, 80.2, 115.2, 127.2, 306.6, 306.11, 318.1, 318.2

inaugurations, 127.2, 145.2, 306.6, 306.21

Presidio, CA, 77.9
Pribilof Islands, AK, 22.2, DM.10
Price Administration, Office of (RG 188)
Price Administration, Office of, 69.12, 208.15
Price Commission, 432.1
Prisoners, 129.2, 395.1
Prisoners of war, 4.1, 16.7, 208.2, 242.5, 319.1, 319.2, 331.3, 331.4, DM.32, DM.40
Prisons, 55.1, 129.2, 165.1, 238.4
Prisons, Bureau of (RG 129)
Production and Marketing Administration, 145.1
Productivity, industrial, 45.1, 179.1-179.2, 208.2
Project Blue Book, 341.1
Project Vanguard, 255.3
"Prostitution and the War" (filmstrip), 215.1
Proxmire, William, 432.1
Public assistance programs, 47.1, 47.4
Public Buildings Administration, 69.12, 121.16, 162.2
Public Bulldings: A Survey of Architecture, 135.1
Public Buildings and Grounds, Office of, 77.13
Public Buildings and Public Parks of the National Capital, Office of (RG 42)
Public Buildings Service (RG 121)
Public Debt, Bureau of the (RG 53)
Public Health Service (RG 90)
Public Health Service, 47.2, 75.6
Public Housing Administration (RG 196)
Public Information, Committee on (RG 63)
Public Information, Committee on, 165.13
Public Roads, Bureau of (RG 30)
Public Roads Administration, 69.12, 162.1
Public service notices, 47.1
Public utilities, 32.1
Public Works Administration (RG 135)
Public Works Administration, 55.1, 69.12, 71.1, 77.10, 79.13, 196.2
Public Works of Art Project, 121.11
Publications of the U.S. Government (RG 287)
Pueblo Indians, 75.2, 75.6, 106.3
Puerto Rico, 4.1, 69.2, 69.4, 69.13, 77.9, 77.16, 111.3, 114.5, 121.7, 126.4, 135.1, 165.5, 168.1, 196.5, 350.5, 362.1, 378.1, DM.28
Puerto Rico Reconstruction Administration, 126.4
Puget Sound, WA, DM.10
Puget's Sound Agricultural Company, 76.1
Punta del Este, Uruguay, 306.8
Purdy, E. C. (photog.), 16.6
Pywell, William R. (photog.), 106.2, DM.13

Quarantine stations, 90.2
Quartermaster General, Office of the (RG 92), 77.9, 120.3
Quebec, Canada, 59.3
Quincy, MA, 165.13
Quirino, Elpidio, 268.2

Radio installations, 19.3-19.4, 19.7
Railroads, 22.5, 30.4, 57.1, 57.3, 57.4, 59.3, 64.1, 74.3, 79.4, 126.1, 126.2, 165.1, 165.2, 165.5, 165.6, 165.10, 185.2, 185.3, 233.3, 350.1, 408.1
Rainbow Bridge, UT, DM.24
Ranches, 83.1, 106.3, 145.2
Ranger, U.S.S., 37.1
Ranger spacecraft, 255.5
Rangoon, Burma, 226.1
Rapid City, SD, 114.4
Raritan, NJ, 156.12
Rationing, 188.3, 188.4, 331.3
Rayburn, Sam, 59.6
Read, Lt. Comdr. Albert, 24.5
Reagan, Ronald, 51.1, 306.7, 306.12
"Rebirth of a French Town," 208.3
Reclamation, 35.6
Reclamation, Bureau of (RG 115)
Reclamation, Bureau of, 35.1
Reconnaissance maps, 77.4, 77.5
Reconstruction Finance Corporation (RG 234)
Records management, 64.7
Records storage, 32.2, 64.4
Recreational areas and activities, 12.3, 35.6, 79.1, 79.14, 79.15, 79.21, 95. 111.1, 115.1, 129.2, 142.2, 162.1, 187.1, 207.5, 210.1, 260.1, 319.2, 378.1, 378.3
Recruitment campaigns, 381.1

Civilian Conservation Corps, 35.2
Confederate States of America, 109.1
military, 4.2, 15.2, 24.6, 24.7, 45.1, 77.21, 94.8, 109.1,
120.6, 407.3
war workers, 4.2, 47.3

Red Cross, 4.2, 45.1, 121.15
Red Cross (army transport), DM.19
Reforestation, 35.2, 35.6, 75.5, 95.6
Refugees, 4.1, 19.8, 26.1, 77.22, 208.2, 208.3, 210.3, 220.9,260.1, 306.9, 319.1, 331.3, 395.1
Regular Army Mobile Units, U.S. (RG 391)
Rehabilitation programs, 15.3
Rehse Archiv, Munich, Germany, 242.10
Reich Ministry for Public Enlightenment and Propaganda, 242.8
Relief, U.S.S., 181.2
Religious services, 35.5, 306.6, 319.2
Repatriates, 59.10
"Report of the Commission of Engineers," 76.7
Report on Progress of the Works Program, 69.13
Reptiles, 22.7
Republic, SS, 32.5
Republican National Convention (1968), 306.12
Rescue operations, 26.1, 77.22, 171.2, 171.3
Reservoirs, 114.3, 114.6, 115.1, 142.2
Resettlement Administration, 96.2
"Retailer Fights Inflation, The," 208.15
Revenue Cutter Service, U.S., 26.4, 56.2
Revista Alemana (magazine), 242.8
Revolutionary War, 79.9, 92.1, 111.1, 127.1, 148.1, 148.3, 208.6, 391.4, 452.2
Rhine River, 92.6
Rhode Island, 22.3, 35.3, 38.3, 69.14, 111.8, 428.1
Ribbentrop, Joachim von, collection, 242.2
Rice, Anthony, collection, 49.3
Richey, Frederick D., collection, 54.5
Rickover, Adm. Hyman, 306.15
Rideout, H. H. (Harry) (photog.), 79.18
Riff War, 407.2
Rio Arriba County, NM, 8.1
River, The (film), 96.2-96.3
River improvements, 77.5, 77.10, 77.14, 77.22, 77.23
Robbins, David (photog.), 69.10
Roberts, Owen J., 239.1
Roberts Commission, 239.1
Rock Island, IL, 156.12, 156.14
Rockefeller, John D., IV, 220.6
Rockefeller, Laurence S., 429.1
Rockefeller, Nelson A., 229.1-229.2, 306.12
Rockets, 255.1, 255.3, 370.1
Rockwell Field, CA, 18.4,18.10
Rocky Mountain region, 57.2
Roesner, Otto (photog.), 238.2
Rogers, Will, 237.1
Rohwer Relocation Center, AR, 210.2
Romania, 59.4, 165.14
Rome, Italy, 38.1
Rommel, Gen. Erwin, 242.3
Ronne, Finn (photog.), 126.6
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 69.8, 75.6, 79.20, 131.1, 162.1, DM.3
Roosevelt, Franklin D., 24.6, 35.2, 47.1, 64.3, 75.6. 79.18, 145.2, 162.1, 185.2, 208.6, 221.1, 237.1, DM.2, DM.3, DM.38
Roosevelt, Theodore, 127.2, 185.2, DM.2, DM.25
Rose Stereograph Company, 80.4
Rosen, Hy, 65.2
Rothstein, Arthur (photog.), 96.2
Round Pound, OK, 233.3
"Round the World Flight" (filmstrip), 18.13
Rowan, Carl T., 306.7
Rowan, Lt. A. S., 165.6
Rowe, Abbie (photog.), 79.18
Roxas, Manuel, 268.2
Royalty, 208.4, 208.17
Rubber, 54.11, 95.7, 234.2
Rubber Development Corporation, 234.2
Ruckelshaus, Jill, 220.8
Ruckelshaus, William, 412.1
Rumsfeld, Donald, 432.1
Rural dwellings, 3.3, 16.4, 33.3, 83.2
Rural Electrification Administration (RG 221)
Rural Electrification Administration, 16.4, 306.3
Rusinow, Irving (photog.), 83.4
Rusk, Dean, 59.6, 306.8
Russell, Andrew J. (photog.), 64.1, 77.3, 165.1
Russell, Charles, DM.36
Russell, John E., 233.2
Russell, R. Robert, 429.2
Russell Motor Company, Ontario, Canada, 74.3
Russia, 63.1, 77.20, 165.12, DM.14 See also U.S.S.R.
Russo-Finnish War, 306.2
Russo-Japanese War, 165.12
Russo-Japanese War: A Photographic and Descriptive Review of the Great Conflict in the Far East, The, 165.12
Ryukyu Islands, 260.2

Sacaton Indian Agency, Pima, AZ, 75.2
Safety, 65.3
Safety First Exhibit, DC (1916), 40.2
St. Clair, J. Robert, DM.43
St. Elizabeth's Hospital, DC, 48.3
St. George, Pribilof Islands, AK, 22.2
St. Lawrence River, 76.4
St. Louis, MO, 43.1, 48.5, 80.5, 92.3, 121.5
St. Mary's River, MI, 233.2
St. Paul, Pribilof Islands, AK, 22.2
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, 165.5
Salinas, CA, 54.11
Salt Lake City, UT, 27.3
Salt River Indian Day School, 75.8
Samoa, 19.4, 37.2
Sampson, NY, 71.1
San Diego, CA, 69.12, 165.l7, 181.1
San Francisco, CA, 16.3, 16.5, 26.6, 30.2, 30.4, 54.7, 71.3, 75.14, 77.4, 77.9, 79.4, 92.6, 111.8, 117.1, 168.1, 178.1, 208.16, 220.12, 429.1
San Francisco Chronicle, 92.6
San Jose, CA, 75.14
San Juan, PR, 77.9
Sandbank, Harold, 59.12
Sandburg, Carl, 44.4
Sanitation, 69.1, 69.12, 90.2, 90.4, 229.1
Santa Ana, CA, 168.1
Santa Barbara, CA, 18.12
Santiago, Cuba, 165.5
Santo Domingo. See Dominican Republic
Saratoga, U.S.S., 24.8
Satellites, 255.3, 370.1
Saudi Arabia, 306.7
Savings Bonds, U.S., 53.2. 56.6
SCAP, 331.4
Scapa Flow, Scotland, 74.3
Schafer, Ernst, 319.4
Schneider and Company, France. 74.2
Schofield Barracks, HI, 165.11
School Garden Army, 12.1
School lunch program, 16.7
Schools, 12.1-12.3, 55.1, 69.12, 121.14, 126.4, 162.1, 162.2, 350.5

American Indian, 48.4, 75.2, 75.3, 75.6, 75.7
aviation, 18.3-18.4, 18.15
gardening projects in. 12.1, 54.4
military, 18.3-18.4, 18.15, 19.4, 24.4 See also Education

Schulz, Charles, 65.2
Scientific Research and Development, Office of (RG 227)
Scientists, 7.1, 16.2, 22.7, 27.1, 90.2, 97.3, 208.4
Scotland, 47.4, 74.3, 92.5. 226.1 See also Great Britain
Scott Field, IL, 18.9
Scott, Gen. Winfield, 15.2
Scranton, William W., 432.1
Sculpture (photos of), 16.3, 66.3, 121.10, 121.12, 121.13
Sea otters, 22.2
SEABEES, 24.7, 71.4
Seal industry, 22.1, 22.2, 22.4, 22.5, 32.4, 121.3, DM.10
Seaman, Valentine, 112.5
Searchlights, 77.16
Seattle, WA, 121.5, 220.12, 362.1, DM.10
Seger Colony, OK, 75.2
Seibert, S. R. (photog.). 165.1
Sekaer, Peter (photog.). 196.2
Selassie, Haile, 306.20
Select Committee on Immigration and Refugee Policy, 220.9
Seminole Indians, 75.2
Senate, U.S., 59.3

Committee on Territories, DM.10

Sesquicentennial International Exposition, Philadelphia (1926), 19.5, 40.2, 43.1, 75.6, 97.1
Seville, Spain, 40.2, 48.6
Seymour Hofstetter Collection DM.44
SHAEF, 331.3
Shahn, Ben (photog.), 96.2
Sheep, 17.2
Shenandoah (dirigible), 72.4, 80.4
Sheridan, Philip, DM.6
Sherman, William T., 165.1
Ship models, 19.5, 19.9
Shipbuilders, 178.1, 208.1
Shipping Board, U.S. (RG 32)
Shipping Board, U.S., 41.3
Shipping industry, 151.1
Ships, 19.1-19.9, 26.1, 26.3, 32.1, 32.4, 32.5, 32.6, 41.3, 77.9, 131.1, 165.2, 185.2, DM.39

military, 24.3, 24.6, 26.1, 26.3, 72.3, 74.1, 74.3, 74.4, 77.19, 80.3, 80.6, 80.9, 165.1, 165.5, 165.14, 179.1, 181.1-181.2, 220.11

Ships, Bureau of (RG 19)
Shipyards, 19.1, 19.3-19.5, 32.1, 32.3, 71.1, 181.1-181.2
Short, C. W., 135.1
Shrimp industry, 22.4
Shriver, R. Sargent, 362.1
Shultz, George, 432.1
Siberia, U.S.S.R., 77.20, 395.1
Signal Corps, U.S., 35.2, 63.1, 77.5, 92.7, 111.1-111.11, 319.1, 331.1
Signal Officer, Office of the Chief (RG 111)
Silk-screen graphics, 208.9 See also Art, graphic
Sino-Japanese War, 306.2, 331.1
Sino-Japanese War (1894), 111.3
Sioux Indians, 75.2
Sitting Bull, 75.1
Sketches, 117.3, 121.1, 121.11, 121.12, 208.12 See also Art, original
Skylab space program, 306.11
Slater, W. H. (photog.), 56.5
Slum housing, 3.3, 196.1
Smelters, 97.2
Smith, Erwin F., collection, 16.2
Smith, Hugh M., collection, 106.4
Smith, Stanton G. (photog.), 95.4
Smithsonian Festival of American Folklife, 452.4
Smithsonian Institution (RG 106)
Smokey Bear, 95.8
Smoot, Reed, 220.1
Social Security Act of 1935, 47.1
Social Security Administration (RG 47)
Social Security Board, 47.3
Society Islands, 22.1
Soil conservation, 16.4, 35.4, 114.4, 114.5, 114.6, 145.1, 145.4
Soil Conservation Service (RG 114)
Soil Conservation Service, 35.1, 306.3, 306.10
Soil erosion, 95.2, 95.6, 114.1, 114.4, 187.1, 233.1, 412.2
Solar eclipses, 78.1
"Soldiers in Production" (exhibit), 121.15
Solid Fuels Administration for War (RG 245)
Somach Photo Service, 181.l
Soule, William S. (photog.), 75.1
South Africa, 208.9
South America, 22.1, 43.2, 54.2, 54.8, 166.1, 229.1-229.3, 306.16, DM.14
South Carolina, 27.4, 57.2, 71.2, 94.1, 165.1, 393.1
South Dakota, 48.4, 95.2, 114.4, 119.1
South Korea, 306.14, 306.16
South Pacific Ocean islands, 22.1
South Vietnam, 15.5, 306.4, 306.7, 306.16
Southeast Asia, 306.17
Southeast Asia Treaty Organization, 306.4
Space, Kenneth (photog.), DM.1
Space program, 26.1
Spain, 24.3, 40.2, 48.6, 79.11, 165.12, 242.1, 306.14
Spanish-American War, 24.3, 94.5, 111.1, 111.3, 165.5, 168.1, DM.2, DM.19, DM.20
Spanish Civil War, 242.1
Special War Problems Division, 59.10
Spokane World's Fair, Washington (1974), 452.4
Sponges, 22.5
Sport Fisheries and Wildlife, Bureau of, 22.7
Sports events, 32.5, 63.1
Springfield, MA, 156.12, 156.14, 165.13
Spruce Production Corporation, 18.6, 92.2
Sri Lanka, 59.13 See also Ceylon
Stamps, 318.2
Stanley-Brown, R., 135.1
Stanton, Robert B., 57.4
State, Department of (RG 59)
State, War, and Navy Building, 42.3
State militia, 168.1
States, various, 30.1, 69.2, 69.3, 69.4, 69.13, 114.3, 121.1, 121.7, 135.1, 196.5, 362.1, 378.1

archives buildings, DM.5
capitol buildings, 66.2 See also particular states

Statesmen, foreign, 59.2. 59.4, 80.3. 229.2, 306.1, 306.2, 306.4, 306.16, 306.17, 306.19, 306.20, 331.2
Statesmen, U.S., 59.1, 59.2, 306.1, 306.2, 306.21, 318.1, 318.2
Statues, 42.1, 42.2, 42.4, 79.2, DM.10
Steamboat Inspection Service, 26.9
Steel industry, 179.1
Steichen, Maj. Edward, 18.5
Steinem, Gloria, 220.8
Stereographs, 57.3, 77.5, 77.8, 80.4, 94.1, 106.1, 106.2,165.1-165.3, 165.6, DM.8, DM.13, DM.40

hand-colored, 22.5

Stettinius, Edward, 59.6
Stevenson, Matilda Coxe (artist), 106.3
Stewart, George S., Jr., DM.31
Stimson, Henry, 112.3
Stockholm, Sweden, 208.9
Stork, H. E. (photog.), 79.11
Strategic Bombing Survey, U.S. (RG 243)
Strategic Services, Office of (RG 226)
Strategic Services, Office of, 131.6
Stratosphere, 167.2
Strauss, Robert, 364.1
Stripping film negatives, 57.4
Students' Army Training Corps, 165.13
"Study Collection on Housing Planning and Construction Techniques," 59.12
Sturgeon, 22.5
Submarines, 19.9, 71.1
Sub-Treasury Building, New York, NY, 121.6
Sudworth, George B. (photog.), 95.2
Sugar, 4.1, 54.8, 88.1, 97.3
Sugar beets, 54.9
Sulu province, Philippine Islands, 350.2
Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, 331.4
Supreme Court Building, Washington, DC, DM.3
Supreme Court, U.S., 79.19, 328.2, DM.3

Justices, 21.1

Supreme Headquarters Allied Expeditionary Forces, 331.3
Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, Office of (RG 471)
Surgeon General (Army), Office of the (RG 112)
Surgeon General (Army), Office of the, 90.3
Surplus, war, 270.1
"Survey of the Architecture of Completed Projects of the PWA, 1939," 135.1
Survey of Federal Archives, 69.13
Surveying equipment, 57.2
Susan E. Peck (vessel), 233.2
Sweden, 47.4, 59.10, 208.9, 286.1
Sweet potatoes, 54.9
Synagogues, 260.5

Taft, William Howard, 42.4, 165.7, 185.2, 350.1, DM.2
Taiwan, 59.13, 306.14, 306.16, 319.2
Talbot, James W., DM.42
Tampa, FL, DM.19
Tampico, Mexico, 38.3
Tanana River, AK, 94.3
Tarragon, SS (ship), 41.2
Task Force Seven, 374.1
Taylor, Harold R. (photog.), 18.4
Taylor, John (photog.), 165.1
Taylor, Zachary, 127.2
Teapot Dome area, WY, 80.8
Telegraph Battalion, 419th, DM.30
Temporary Committees, Commissions, and Boards (RG 220)
Tenley, C. S., DM.29
Tennessee, 48.4, 54.5, 57.2, 92.6, 94.1, 121.5, 142.3, 156.8, 165.1
Tennessee Centennial Exposition, Nashville, 121.5
Tennessee Valley Authority (RG 142)
Tennessee Valley Authority, 35.1, 306.10
Terrestrial magnetism, 23.3
Territorial governments, 48.4
Territories, Office of (RG 126)
Texas, 54.11, 59.10, 69.13, 70.3, 80.5, 94.6, 165.17, 220.8, 394.3
Texas Centennial Exposition, Dallas (1936), 394.3
Texas City, TX, 94.6
Thailand, 166.1, 226.1, 306.16
Theaters, 69.7
Theaters of War, World War II, U.S. (RG 332)
Thieu, Nguyen Van, 306.20
Thompson, James E., collection, 79.1
Thorpe, Jim, 75.8
Three Mile Island, PA, 220.10
Tibet, 319.4
Tillery, Risdon (photog.), 208.8
Tito, Marshal, 59.6
Tobacco, 7.5, 54.6
Tobacco and Plant Nutrition Investigations, Division of, 54.6
Tobin, Maurice J., 174.1
Tokyo, Japan, 331.1
Tokyo Round Trade Talks, 364.1
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier of the Civil War, 15.2
Tonga, 22.1
Tongass National Forest, AK, 35.8
Topaz Relocation Center, UT, 210.2
Torpedoes, 38.5, 74.1
Totem poles, 35.8
Totten, George, 185.3
Totten, John A., 185.3
Tourism, 229.1
Tower, John, 432.1
Townsend, C. H. (photog.), 22.2, 22.4
Tracy, Earnest C., DM.32
Trade Representative, Office of the U.S. (RG 364)
Trading posts, 76.1
Train, Russell, 412.1
Training programs

census enumerators, 29.2
Civilian Conservation Corps, 35.2, 35.6
civilian defense, 35.2
Coast Guard, 26.1, 26.4
Merchant Marine, 32.4, 41.3
military, 38.7, 77.3, 77.18, 77.19, 80.3, 127.1

Trains, 74.1
            interurban, 3.2
Trans-Mississippi Exposition, Omaha, NE, 121.5
Transportation, Department of, 408.1
Transportation, Office of the Chief of (RG 336)
Transportation Corps, U.S. Army, 77.21, 92.4
Transportation facilities, 3.3, 18.10, 30.1, 30.3-30.4, 32.1, 69.6, 75.14, 83.2, 115.1, 126.1-126.2, 127.1, 151.1, 165.10, 166.1, 229.1, 233.3, 350.2, 350.3, 408.1
Transportation industry, 69.5, 187.1
Treasury, Department of the (RG 56)
Treasury, Department of the, 121.2, 121.6
Treasury Department Building, 121.2, 121.6
Treasury Relief Art Project, 121.11
Tree diseases, 310.1
Tree varieties, 54.2, 54.4, 54.7, 95.1, 95.6
Trolley cars, 3.3
Truman, Harry S., 16.7, 47.4, 51.1, 59.6, 79.18, 111.7, 126.4, 162.1, 221.1, 237.1
Tsingtao, China, 111.5
Tulalip Agency, WA, 75.6
Tule Lake, CA, 49.4, 210.2
Tunisia, 169.1, 226.1
Tunnels, 115.1,165.10
Turkey, 286.1, 306.14
Turpentine, 97.2
Tuskegee Army Air Field, AL, 18.15
Tuvalu IsIands, 22.1
TVA. See Tennessee Valley Administration
Typhus, 90.4, 112.2

U-boats, 38.6
Ueno Museum, Tokyo, Japan, 331.1
UFOs, 341.1
Ulysses S. Grant III Collection (DM.12)
Underwood and Underwood, 94.7, 165.10
UNESCO. See United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
Uniforms, 52.2, 77.3, 92.1, 92.2, 111.1, 127.1, 165.4, 171.2, 179.1
Unimak, U.S.C.G.C., 26.4
Union Army, 94.1, 111.2, 165.1
Union Iron Works, CA, 71.3
U.S.S.R. (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics), 38.3, 47.4, 77.20, 165.13, 165.14, 165.17, 242.5, 242.8, 260.5, 306.11, 306.15, 306.16, DM.34,
DM.40, DM.42, DM.46 See also Russia
United Fruit Company, 90.3
United Mine Workers, 245.1
United Nations, 59.9, 208.16, 306.2, 306.19
United Nations Conference on International Organization, 208.16
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, 59.9
United States-Canada boundary survey (1898), 76.3
United States Film Service, 44.4
U.S. Information Agency (RG 306)
United States Information Service, 306.3, 306.4, 306.16
United States Lines, 32.5
United States Military Railroad Photographic Album, by Andrew J. Russell, 64.1
"U.S. Navy Wins Supply Battle of the Pacific," 208.3
United States of America Typhus Commission, 112.2
United War Work Campaign (1919), DM.33
Universal Exposition, Antwerp, Belgium (1894), 43.1
Universities, 165.13, 208.6, 220.3, 306.6, DM.1
University of South Alabama Collection DM.16
University of Tennessee Experiment Station, 54.5
University of Wisconsin, 95.5
Unknown Soldiers, tombs for, 15.2, 165.15
Upper Great Lakes Regional Commission, 378.2
Urban Environmental Design competition, 207.5
Urban Mass Transportation Administration (RG 408)
Urban Renewal Administration, 207.1
Uruguay, 37.2, 59.4, 306.8, DM.18
USA (publication), 208.10
USIA. See U.S. Information Agency
USIA Correspondent, 306.7
USIA World, 306.7
Utah, 27.3, 57.1, 57.2, 77.7, 77.8, 79.4, 79.6, 79.15, 119.1, 210.2, DM.24
Ute Indians, 57.3

Vaccines, 112.5
Valdez, AK, 111.8
Valentine, Herbert E. (artist), 165.1
Valparaiso, Chile, 38.1
Van Tassel, Gretchen (photog.), 210.3
Vandel, William, DM.45
Vegetables, 54.1, 54.2, 54.3
Venezuela, 77.24, 208.17
Veracruz, Mexico, 19.8, 38.3, 165.10, DM.7
Vermont, 17.1, 69.14
Veterans, 15.2-15.3, 162.2, 208.13
Veterans Administration (RG 15)
Veterans Administration, 121.9
Veterans Advisory Council, 15.5
Veterans Day ceremonies, 15.5
Vice Presidents, 59.3
Vickerey, Adm. Howard L, collection, 178.1
Victor Gondos Collection DM.5
Victory (magazine), 208.10
Vienna, Austria, 306.4, 306.16, DM.46
Vietnam, 15.5, 26.1, 306.9
Vietnam war, 26.1, 111.1, 127.1, 319.1, 342.3, 428.2
Vinh Long (ship), 80.9
Virgin Islands, 69.2, 69.4, 165.5, 350.5
Virgin Islands, Government of the (RG 55)
Virginia, 15.5, 22.3, 22.4, 30.1, 32.3, 42.5, 52.1, 54.4, 64.1, 71.1, 71.2, 94.1, 121.5, 121.8, 156.1, 165.1, 336.1, 394.2, DM.22
Virginia Historical Society, 64.1
Visiting Nurse Association, DM.1
VISTA. See Volunteers in Service to America
Vladivostok, Siberia, U.S.S.R., 77.20
Vocational training, 12.3, 35.6, 75.9
Volcanoes, 189.1
Voluntary Action Programs, Agencies for (RG 362)
Volunteer organizations, 165.13
Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA), 362.1, 381.1
Volunteers, U.S., 36th, 77.11

W.H. Tipton Company, 79.3
Wage and Hour Division (RG 155)
Wage and Price Stability, Council on, 429.2
Wainwright, Lt. Gen. Jonathan, 319.2
Wales, 226.1 See also Great Britain
Walker, Lewis Emery (photog.), 121.2
Wallace, H. A., 16.6
War, Office of the Secretary of (RG 107)
War Assets Administration (RG 270)
War bonds and campaigns, 4.2, 53.1, 53.2, 56.6, 59.5, 165.13, 171.6, 208.2, 208.11
War crimes trials, 153.1-153.2, 238.3-238.4, 331.3
War criminals, 153.1, 319.1
War Department, 106.2
War Department Collection of Confederate Records (RG 109)
War Department General and Special Staffs (RG 165)
War Hemp Industries, Inc., 16.8
War industries, 3.1-3.4, 45.1, 156.6, 156.11, 162.1, 165.13, 179.1-179.2, 208.2, 208.11, 277.1
War Industries Board, 165.13
War Information, Office of (RG 208)
War Information, Office of, 44.1, 306.3, DM.43
War Manpower Commission, 287.1
War of 1812, 111.1
War Production Board (RG 179)
War relief organizations, 44.2, 165.13, 260.1
War Relocation Authority (RG 210)
War Relocation Authority centers, 49.4, 210.2
War Savings Stamps, 53.2, 165.13
Ward, Brig. Gen. Frederick King (photog.), 165.8
Warehouses, 5.1, 32.6
Waring, Frank A., 268.2
Warner, John, 452.4
Warren, Col. J. G., 77.14
Warren Commission, DM.3
Washington, 35.4, 75.6, 76.1, 79.15, 121.5, 165.17, 220.12, 328.3, DM.10
Washington, DC. See District of Columbia
Washington, George, 15.2, 24.6, 42.1, 127.2, 148.1
Washington, PA, 220.6
Washington Arsenel, DC, 156.1
Washington Barracks, DC, 77.4
Washington Monument, DC, 42.2
Washington Monument Society, 42.2
Washington National Airport, DC, 237.1
Washington Navy Yard, DC, 181.1
Water conservation, 75.12
Water pollution, 187.1, 412.1,412.2
Water resources management, 115.1-115.7
Watercolors, 165.1, 188.4, 208.9, 391.4, 407.4, DM.7 See also Art, original
Watertown, NY, 156.6
Watertown Arsenal, MA, 156.14
Wathen, Theodore (photog.), 220.6
Watkins, Carleton, 79.4
Watson, Elwyn L., DM.30
WAVES, 24.7
Weapons, 74.1, 74.3, 77.4, 111.2, 127.1, 156.1-156.4, 156.12, 156.13, 156.14, 156.15, 165.5, 306.1, 319.1
Weather Bureau (RG 27)
Weather stations, 27.1, 27.3, 27.5, 370.1
Weaver, Vernon, 220. 11
Webster, Allen N., DM.20
West Berlin, West Germany, 255.7, 260.1
West Germany, 47.4, 239.2, 255.7, 306.16
West Virginia, 67.2, 79.3, 92.2, 156.3
West Virginia Coal & Coke Company, 67.2
Western Forts Collection DM.15
Western Museum Laboratories (National Park Service), 79.13
Whaling industry, 26.9
Wharton, OK, 233.3
Wheat, Maj. Joseph, collection, 57.3
Wheeler, Lt. George M., 77.8, 287.1
Wheeler Survey. See Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian, U.S.
White, Henry, 43.3
White House, 42.2, 42.3, 77.13, 220.2, 306.19
White House Conference Advisory Committee on Library and Information Services, 220.5
White House Conference on Small Business, 220.11
White House Press Office, 79.18
Whiting, Henry L., collection, 23.1
Wiesbaden Central Collecting Point, 260.4
Wildlife, 22.7-22.9, 79.11, 95.1, 95.6, 126.1
Wildlife refuges, 22.7
Wilhelm II, Kaiser, 242.10
Willets Point, NY, 77.5
William C. Lang Collection DM.34
William Haddon Collection DM.37
William McIlvaine Collection DM.7
William Pywell Collection DM.13
William Vandel Collection DM.45
Wilson, Woodrow, 16.3, 42.2, 237.1, DM.2
Wind Cave, SD, 48.4
Window Rock, AZ, 75.6
Winnie Mae (monopIane), 18.13
Wisconsin, 18.9, 48.4, 69.3, 95.5, 119.1, 156.6
Wisconsin Gun Company Plant, 156.6
Wittick, Ben (photog.), 75.1
Women, 233.4, 245.1

in the military, 24.7, 80.7, 86.2
workers, 86.1, 165.13

Women's Bureau (RG 86)
Women's Medical College of Pennsylvania Collection DM.26
Women's organizations, 4.1
Women's rights, 86.1, 220.7, 220.8
Women's suffrage, 165.13
Wood, Gen. Leonard, 42.2
Wood, 95.5
Woodcuts, 208.9 See also Art, graphic
Work, Hubert, 75.4
Work force

conditions of labor, 69.5, 75.13, 86.1
facilities for, 3.1-3.4, 70.3, 142.1, 185.2
productivity, 45.1, 179.1-179.2, 208.2

Work Projects Administration (RG 69)
Work Projects Administration, 55.1, 71.1, 79.13, 114.1
World War Foreign Debt Commission, 220.1
World War I, 18.5, 52.2, 63.1, 70.2, 77.19-77.21, 92.2, 92.5, 106.5, 111.1, 111.6, 117.1-117.4, 120.1-120.6, 127.1, 153.1, 156.16, 165.13, 220.1, 306.2, 391.3, DM.2, DM.26, DM.27, DM.30, DM.31, DM.32, DM.33

conservation efforts, 4.1
in Europe, 165.14, 242.10, 407.1
housing for war workers, 3.1-3.4
recruitment, 45.1
and women, 86.1

World War II, 38.3, 44.1-44.3, 77.25, 79.11, 80.7, 80.8, 80.10, 83.7, 107.1, 111.1, 112.3, 121.15, 127.1, 153.1-153.2, 156.12, 156.16, 165.15, 165.17, 171.2, 179.1, 208.1-208.17, 210.1-210.4, 216.1, 242.1-242.10, 260.1-260.7, 306.2, 306.3, 319.1, 319.2, 331.1-331.5, 332.1, 337.1, 337.2, 342.1-342.2, 407.4, DM.2, DM.38, DM.40, DM.42, DM.43, DM.44, DM.45, DM.46

African Americans, 208.11
American Indians in, 75.2
antiwar activities, 119.4
Coast Guard activities in, 26.1, 26.4
combat damage, 239.1-239.2
Japanese atrocities, 84.1
medical treatments, 52.3
postwar surpluses, 59.8
and women, 86.2

World War II War Crimes (RG 238)
World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago (1893), 26.2, 77.3, 92.3, 111.3, 121.5, 165.4, 233.4
WPA. See Works Projects Administration
Wright, Barbara (photog.), 119.2
Wright, Orville, 237.1
Wright Air Development Center, OH, 18.1, 156.15
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, OH, 18.1
"Wrong Ancestors, The," 210.4
Wyoming, 17.1, 35.3, 57.1, 57.2, 77.7, 79.6, 80.8, 95.2, 114.4, 119.1, 210.2, 220.6, 471.1, DM.13

Yankee Clipper, 237.1
"Yanks in the E.T.O.," 208.3
Yards and Docks, Bureau of (RG 71)
Years of Lightning, Days of Drums (film), 306.18
Yellow fever, 90.2
Yellowstone Expedition, 106.2, DM.5
Yellowstone National Park, 57.1, 77.5, DM.5, DM.18
Yellowstone River, 77.23
Yoder, Peter A., collection, 54.8
Yorktown Sesquicentennial Commission, 79.9
Yosemite, CA, 79.4
Young, Charles N., DM.22
Youth, 35.7, 79.13, 119.1-119.4, 242.1, 242.9
Yugoslavia, 165.14
Yukon Territory, Canada, 76.3

Zaire, 79.11
Zapruder, Abraham (photog.), DM.47
Zebras, 17.1
Zion National Park, UT, 79.11
Zuni Indians, 391.1
Zuwadsky, Alexander, 306.15