Media Alert
December 4, 2012

Public Interest Declassification Board to Release its Report to the President on Transforming the National Security Classification System and Host an Open Meeting at the National Archives on December 6, 2012

More Information


The Public Interest Declassification Board (PIDB) will host an open meeting to introduce its recommendations for reforming the security classification system. The current system, created seventy years ago, is outdated and no longer serves users as it should in today’s digital environment. The PIDB’s recommendations will limit classification, align safeguarding policies, improve the efficiency and effectiveness of declassification processes, and prepare agencies for the challenges associated with large volumes of digital information.


Speakers will include:
Ambassador Nancy Soderberg, PIDB Chair
David S. Ferriero, Archivist of the United States
Current PIDB Members []


Thursday, December 6, 2012, 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.


National Archives and Records Administration
Room 105 – Archivist’s Reception Room
700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20408

This meeting is open to the public. However, due to space limitations and access procedures, individuals planning to attend the meeting are required to register by e-mailing the PIDB staff via Attendees will receive a confirmation e-mail from the PIDB staff that details entry procedures.


The Public Interest Declassification Board is an advisory committee established by Congress in order to promote the fullest possible public access to a thorough, accurate, and reliable documentary record of significant U.S. national security decisions and activities. The Report to the President on Transforming the National Security Classification System was created in response to the President's request for assistance in identifying potential solutions for classification and declassification challenges in the digital age and producing a vision for a new system. The Board is composed of up to nine individuals, five appointed by the President and four by the Congressional leadership. In addition to Ambassador Soderberg, current Presidential appointees include Martin Faga, William Leary, and Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker. The Majority Leader of the Senate appointed Sanford Ungar, the Speaker of the House appointed Admiral William O. Studeman, USN (Ret), and the Minority Leader of the House appointed David Skaggs. See more information [].

# # #

For Press information, contact John Powers, PIDB Staff, at (202) 357-5407.


PDF files require the free Adobe Reader.
More information on Adobe Acrobat PDF files is available on our Accessibility page.

Press/Journalists >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272