The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 16. Records of the Committee on Public Works and Related Committees, 1820-1968


Records of the Committee on Public Works and Related Committees, 1820-1968 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Environment and Public Works, 1977-
Records of the Committee on Public Works, 1969-76

16.27. The three decades following the establishment of the Committee on Public Works in 1947 saw a dramatic increase in the role of the Government in the regulation of environmental pollution in air and water from new industrial processes and energy sources and in promotion of regional economic development, which expanded the jurisdiction of the committee. In 1977, another legislative reorganization noted these changes and renamed the committee the Committee on Environment and Public Works.

16.28. The records of these committees include legislative case files; executive communications, petitions; resolutions of State legislatures; nomination files; watershed projects reports; and records (for certain Congresses) relating to legislation on safe drinking water, regulatory reform and hazardous waste, disaster relief, and nuclear power. In addition to the Subcommittee on Roads, the following subcommittees also have transferred records to the National Archives: Environmental Pollution (61 ft.), Nuclear Regulation (14 ft.), and Water Resources (10 ft.).

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.