The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 13. Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:

Records of the Committee on the Revision of the Laws, 1869-1928

Senator Roscoe Conkling, N.Y, chaired the Judiciary Committee, 1881-83.
Senator Roscoe Conkling, N.Y, chaired the Judiciary Committee during the 47th Congress. (Mathew Brady Studio), Records of the Office of the Chief Signal Officer (U.S. Army) from NARA's Online Catalog.  
13.52 The Committee on the Revision of the Laws was established by a Senate resolution introduced by Henry Anthony of Rhode Island and approved on December 10, 1868. Roscoe Conkling of New York was the first chairman. The committee was terminated by Senate order on January 14, 1928.

13.53 The records (3 in.) of this minor standing committee consist of petitions and memorials referred to the committee in the 41st, 42d, 43d, and 58th Congresses concerning such matters as the 1870 census, temperance legislation, revenue laws, and Federal judges in the Hawaiian Islands. One noteworthy document is the resolution of the New York State Legislature rescinding the State's resolution adopting the 15th Amendment (41A-H22). There are also committee papers (less than 1 in.) for the 57th and 58th Congress.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.