The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 12. Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on the Geological Survey, 1899-1921

12.22 The Committee on the Geological Survey was established on December 15, 1899, by Senate resolution. It succeeded a select committee that investigated the U.S. Geological Survey, the agency responsible for the classification of public lands and the examination of the geological structure, mineral resources, and products of the national domain. Although the committee existed for more than 20 years, extant committee papers, 1905-7, and petitions and memorials referred to the committee, 1905-09, comprise less than ½ inch of material. Additional records may be found in the series of papers supporting specific bills and resolutions, 1901-46, and among printed Senate reports and documents in the Congressional Serial Set. The committee was terminated April 18, 1921, pursuant to S. Res. 43, 67th Cong., as part of the large reduction in Senate standing and select committees.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.