The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 12. Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1968


Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committe records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on the Conservation of National Resources, 1909-21

12.77 The Committee on the Conservation of National Resources was established by Senate resolution on March 21, 1909. Joseph M. Dixon of Montana served as its first chairman. The records of the committee consist chiefly of petitions, memorials, and resolutions of State legislatures, 1909-13 (2 in.), nearly half of which opposed the Hetch-Hetchy water project in California, which would have flooded part of the Yosemite Valley in order to provide water for the San Francisco area (61A-J13). Most of the others supported protection of water, timber, and coal lands. Legislative case files referred to the committee are in the series of papers supporting specific bills and resolutions. The committee was terminated by S. Res. 43, 67th Cong., which eliminated many standing and select committees.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.