The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 7. Records of the Committee on Commerce and Related Committees, 1816-1968


Records of Committees Relating to Commerce, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Transportation Routes to the Seaboard, 1879-1921

7.43 According to historian George H. Haynes, it was said in 1917 that this committee had the dubious distinction of never having met in its (then) 38 years. There is no evidence to show that the Committee on Transportation Routes to the Seaboard ever convened before its termination in 1921, and, not surprisingly, few papers were ever referred to it. The records, 1879-93 with gaps (1/2 in.), consist of papers relating to the proposed construction of a canal to unite the Missouri and Columbia Rivers (46A-H24), and a few printed reports. There are also a few petitions and memorials received by the select committee, 1872-79, which preceded it.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.