The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 7. Records of the Committee on Commerce and Related Committees, 1816-1968


Records of Committees Relating to Commerce, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Industrial Expositions, 1899-1921

7.51 The Committee on Industrial Expositions was established in 1909 at the beginning of the 61st Congress when Senator Nelson Aldrich of Rhode Island sponsored a resolution that had the effect of making all then existing select committees standing committees. In this way, the Select Committee on Industrial Expositions, 1899-1909, became a standing committee. The select committee itself had been preceded by the Select Committee on International Expositions, 1895-99. The Committee on Industrial Expositions was abolished in 1921, following approval of S. Res. 43, 67th Cong., which greatly reduced the number of Senate committees.

7.52 There are 3 in. of records of the preceding select committees; the documents concern several expositions held from the mid-1890's to 1909. For the standing committee, there are petitions and memorials referred to the committee, 1910-13 (1/4 in.), favoring a Panama Exposition in San Francisco in 1915 (61A-J45) and three others favoring a semicentennial celebration of the Emancipation Proclamation (61A-J46). There are no committee papers.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.