The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Table of Contents

Chapter 4. Records of the Committee on Armed Services and Its Predecessors, 1816-1986


Records of Committees Relating to Defense, 1816-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee records discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on the Militia, 1816-1857

4.28 The few extant records of the Committee on the Militia (3 in.) include committee reports and papers for the 15th and 26th Congresses (1 in.) and petitions, memorials, and resolutions of State legislatures referred to the Committee for the 18th, 20th-25th, and 28th-30th Congresses (2 in.). For several Congresses, there is only a single document.

4.29 The subjects of the records include exemptions from militia service for such groups as New York Shakers (18A-G8, 21A-G12), improved training (20A-G11), development of a uniform militia system and reorganization of the militia (22A-G11, 23A-G10, 25A-G12, 26A-G9), claims (23A-G10, 24A-G10), creation of separate militia units for Washington and Georgetown, DC (28A-G10), and support for the use of Jenks' improved firearm (30A-H10). There are no records of the committee after 1850.

4.30 The committee was terminated by a Senate resolution adopted December 16, 1857, and its functions were officially assigned to the Committee on Military Affairs, which until 1868 was named the Committee on Military Affairs and the Militia. Actually, for many years before 1857, matters relating to specific militia units were often referred to the Committee on Military Affairs.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.