The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)


Appendix G: Finding Aids to the Records of the U.S. Senate

Table of Contents


This appendix lists the published and unpublished finding aids to the records of the United States Senate and certain Joint Committees of Congress that are available to researchers. While most of the finding aids have been prepared by the staff of the National Archives, a few were prepared by the staff of Senate committee or subcommittee that created and/or transferred the records to the National Archives. The finding aids listed below include published preliminary inventories and special lists, unpublished preliminary checklists, shelf lists, indexes, and other reference aids. Unpublished finding aids are so noted in the citation. Common names of committees or subcommittees are noted in brackets following the citation.

General

1. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the U.S. Senate (PI 23). Compiled by Harold E. Hufford and Watson G. Caudill. Washington: The National Archives, 1950.

2. "Checklist of the Records of the U.S. Senate, 1789-1946" (unpublished).

3. "Location Register for the Records of the US Senate, 1947-1971" (unpublished).

4. National Archives and Records Service. Hearings in the Records of the U.S. Senate and Joint Committees of Congress, 1863-1945 (Special List 32). Compiled by Charles E. South and James C. Brown. Washington: NARS, 1972.

5. National Archives and Records Service. Papers of the United States Senate Relating to Presidential Nominations, 1789-1901 (Special List 20). Compiled by George P. Perros, James C. Brown, and Jacqueline A. Wood. Washington: NARS, 1964.

6. "Papers of the Senate Relating to Nominations, 1901-1946" (unpublished).

7. "List of Senate Journals, Committee Books, and Minute Books, 1789-1932 (1st-72d Congresses)" (unpublished).

8. "Special List of Treaty Files, 1789-1901" (unpublished).

Standing Committees

1. "Table of Contents of the Microfilm Copy of the Declassified Transcripts of Hearings on the Military Situation in the Far East (MacArthur Hearings), Committees on Armed Services and Foreign Relations, 1951" (unpublished).

2. "Special List, Committee on Indian Affairs, 70th-82d Congresses (including the Subcommittee on Indian Affairs, 80th-82d Congresses), 1928-52" (unpublished).

3. "Shelf List, Committee on Naval Affairs (77th-79th Congresses) and Committee on Armed Services (80th-98th Congresses), 1941-1984" (unpublished).

4. "Special List of Committee Papers, Committee on Foreign Relations (80th-90th Congresses), 1947-68" (unpublished).

Subcommittees

1. The National Archives. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Committee on Appropriations: Subcommittee to Inquire in re the Transfer of Employees, 1942 (PI 12). Compiled by Theodore J. Cassady and Harold E. Hufford. Washington: National Archives, 1948.

2. "Index to Records of the Committee on Banking and Currency, Subcommittee to Investigate Stock Exchange Practices, 1932-34" (unpublished). [Pecora Committee]

3. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Senate Committee on Interstate Commerce: Subcommittee to Investigate Interstate Railroads, 1935-43 (PI 75). Compiled by Albert U. Blair and John W. Porter. Washington: NARS, 1954.

4. "File Classification Scheme, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Water Front Investigation, 1953-54" (unpublished).

5. "List of Folder Titles, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Freedom of Communications, 1959-63" (unpublished).

6. "Shelf List, Committee on Commerce, Subcommittee on Communications, Study of the Federal Communications Commission's Fairness Doctrine, 1965-68" (unpublished).

7. "List of Folder Titles, Committee on the District of Columbia, Subcommittee to Investigate Public Transportation in the District of Columbia, 1940-54" (unpublished).

8. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Committee on the District of Columbia: Subcommittee Investigating Crime and Law Enforcement in the District, 1952" (compiled by Ralph E. Huss, unpublished).

9. "Index to Records of the Committee on Education and Labor, Subcommittee Investigating Violations of Free Speech and the Rights of Labor, 1933-41" (unpublished). [LaFollette Committee]

10. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Senate Committee on Education and Labor: Subcommittee on Wartime Health and Education, 1943-46 (PI 42). Compiled by George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1952.

11. "List of Folder Titles, Committee on Foreign Relations, Subcommittee on Overseas Information Programs, 1953" (unpublished).

12. "Draft Preliminary Inventory and Related Indexes to the Records of the Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee to Investigate the Administration of the Internal Security Act and Other Internal Security Laws (SISS), 1951-1977" (unpublished).

13. "Shelf List, Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Improvements in the Federal Criminal Code, 1953-1958" (unpublished).

14. "Shelf List (File Outline), Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Separation of Powers, 1953-1974" (unpublished).

15. "Shelf List, Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Antitrust and Monopoly, 1955-58" (unpublished).

16. "Shelf List, Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Refugees and Escapees, 1965-78" (unpublished).

17. "Draft Preliminary Inventory on and Other Aids to Records of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare, Subcommittee on Welfare and Pension Funds, 1953-1956" (unpublished).

18. "List of Folder Titles, Committee on Rules and Administration, Subcommittee to Investigate Senator Joseph R. McCarthy, 1943-52" (unpublished).

19. "List of Folder Titles and Other Aids, Committee on Rules and Administration, Subcommittee on Privileges and Elections, Investigation of Senator Joseph McCarthy's Charges Against Senator William Benton, 1952" (unpublished).

20. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of Certain Committees of the Senate Investigation of the Disposal of Surplus Property, 1945-48 (PI 59). Compiled by George P. Perros and Toussaint L. Prince. Washington: NARS, 1953.

Select and Special Committees

1. "List of Select and Special Committees (14th-73d Congresses), 1816-1934" (unpublished).

2. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Air-Mail and Ocean-Mail Contracts, 1933-35 (PI 63). Compiled by Watson G. Caudill, Toussaint L. Prince, and Albert U. Blair. Washington: NARS, 1953.

3. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Special Committee of the Senate on Atomic Energy, 1946-47 (PI 62). Compiled by George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1953.

4. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Special Committee Investigating Campaign Expenditures of Presidential, Vice Presidential and Senatorial Candidates, 1940" (compiled by Watson G. Caudill, unpublished).

5. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Campaign Expenditures, 1942" (compiled by Thayer M. Boardman, unpublished).

6. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Campaign Expenditures, 1944" (compiled by Thayer M. Boardman, unpublished).

7. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Campaign Expenditures, 1946" (compiled by Thomas W. Ray, unpublished).

8. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Campaign Expenses, 1960" (compiled by Charles E. South, unpublished).

9. "List of Executive Session Transcripts, Select Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities, 1973-74" (unpublished). See also "A Preliminary Shelflist of the Records of the U.S. Senate Select Committee on Presidential Activities" (compiled by the Manuscript Division, Library of Congress, unpublished).

10. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Gasoline and Fuel Oil Shortages, 1941-43" (compiled by Watson G. Caudill, unpublished).

11. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Special Committee Investigating Lobbying Activities, 1935-40" (compiled by Harold E. Hufford and Watson G. Caudill, unpublished).

12. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Special Committee to Investigate Lobbying, Political Activities, and Campaign Contributions, 1956-57" (compiled by George P. Perros, unpublished).

13. "List of Subjects, Special Committee to Investigate Conditions in the American Merchant Marine, 1936-39" (unpublished).

14. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Special Committee Investigating the Munitions Industry, United States Senate, 1934-36" (compiled by Lester W. Smith, unpublished). [Nye Committee]

15. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Special Committee of the Senate to Investigate the National Defense Program, 1941-48 (PI 48). Compiled by Harold E. Hufford and Toussaint L. Prince. Washington: NARS, 1952. [Truman Committee]

16. "Shelf List, Special Committee on National Emergencies and Delegated Emergency Powers, 1971-76" (unpublished).

17. "List of Folder Titles, Select Committee on Natural Water Resources, 1959-60" (unpublished).

18. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Senate Special Committee to Investigate Organized Crime in Interstate Commerce, 1950-51" (compiled by Jose D. Lizardo, unpublished). [Kefauver Committee]

19. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory to the Records of the Special Committee of the Senate to Investigate Petroleum Resources, 1944-46 (PI 61). Compiled by George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1953.

20. "Shelf List, Senate Select Committee on Small Business, 1950-1968" (unpublished).

21. "Shelf List, Select Committee on Investigation of the Veterans Bureau, 1923-25" (unpublished).

Joint Committees of Congress (RG 128)

1. "Listing of Senate Joint Committees, 1789-1958" (unpublished).

2. "Listing of House Joint Committees, 1789-1947" (unpublished).

3. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate Dirigible Disasters, 1933" (compiled by Thayer M. Boardman, unpublished).

4. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate the Tennessee Valley Authority, 1938-1939" (compiled by Sidney Goldmann, unpublished).

5. "Preliminary Checklist of the Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate the Pearl Harbor Attack, 1945-1946" (compiled by George P. Perros, unpublished).

6. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Joint Congressional Aviation Policy Board, 1947-1948 (PI 74). Compiled by Watson G. Caudill and George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

7. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Joint Committee on Atomic Energy, 1947-1977" (compiled by George P. Perros and James C. Brown, revised and unpublished).

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.