The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 23. Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1968 (Record Group 128)



Table of Contents

Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1989 (Record Group 128) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988



Joint Committee on Veterans Affairs (1932-33)

JC.070 Part II of the Legislative Appropriations Act for fiscal year 1933 (Public Law 72-212) presented measures designed to reduce Government expenditures. The Senate Committee on Appropriations, in its report on the bill (S. Rept. 756, 72d Cong., 1st sess., Serial 9488), included veterans benefits among the programs singled out for such reductions. These provisions failed to win congressional approval, however. Instead, the statute established a joint committee to "investigate the operation of the laws and regulations relating to the relief of veterans of all wars and persons receiving benefits on account of service of such veterans and report a national policy with respect to such veterans and their dependents, . . . and recommend such economies as will lessen the cost . . . of the Veterans' Administration."

JC.071 The records of the committee (5 ft.) consist mainly of documents related to its hearings, such as witness statements, requests for permission to testify, original transcripts of the hearings, and printers' galleys. Certain summary statistics, tables displaying inequalities in veterans benefits, and a list of Veterans Administration employees receiving disability compensation or emergency pay are among the records. There are copies of printed congressional materials, such as rules of the House Committee on Invalid Pensions, extracts from the Congressional Record regarding the Disabled Emergency Officers' Retirement List, and a "strictly confidential" print of certain papers submitted to the House Committee on Invalid Pensions of the 71st Congress. Other documents among the records include a proposed resolution, draft report, and correspondence.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.

Return to Joint Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42) by Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989), and Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245) by Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989).
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.