The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 23. Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1968 (Record Group 128)



Table of Contents

Records of the Joint Committees of Congress 1789-1989 (Record Group 128) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988



Joint Committee on the Organization of the Congress (1965-66)

JC.133 The Joint Committee on the Organization of the Congress was established by S. Con. Res. 2, 89th Cong., on March 11, 1965, to study the organization and operation of Congress and recommend improvements "with a view toward strengthening the Congress, simplifying its operations, improving its relationship with other branches of the United States Government, and enabling it better to meet its responsibilities under the Constitution." For 5 months, the committee held hearings at which 199 witnesses testified, including 106 Members of Congress. The committee issued its final report (S. Rept. 1414, 89th Cong., 2d sess., Serials 12712-2) on July 28, 1966.

JC.134 The committee's work led eventually to the passage of the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1970 (Public Law 91-510). Among other provisions, the legislation opened committee proceedings to more public scrutiny by mandating that committee meetings and hearings be open to the public unless the committee specifically voted to close them and requiring that all committee roll call votes should be made public.

JC.135 The records include correspondence, memorandums, analytical reports, committee agenda, texts of speeches, press releases, and copies of committee publications and other printed materials. Various papers pertain to the committee hearings, including statements and summaries of hearings. There are memorandums, proposals, analytical reports, and a bibliography regarding "The Press and the American Political Scene" prepared by the Legislative Reference Service of the Library of Congress. A dissertation on evasiveness of governmental administrators when answering questions is also among the files.

JC.136 Subjects covered include possible applications of computer technology to assist Congress in its work, as well as proposals regarding fiscal controls, congressional authority, ethics, and staffs.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989

Return to Joint Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42) by Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989), and Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245) by Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989).
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.