The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Conservation of Wildlife Resources (1934-46)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Conservation of Wildlife Resources9 feet73d-79th (1934-46)

22.83 On January 29, 1934, the House created the Select Committee on Conservation of Wildlife Resources, consisting of 15 members, including the chairmen of the Committee on Agriculture and the Committee on Merchant Marine, Radio, and Fisheries, as well as the two House Members on the Migratory Bird Conservation Commission. A. Willis Robertson of Virginia served as committee chairman throughout the committee's 13-year existence. The committee monitored, studied, and investigated the wildlife conservation activities of a number of Federal agencies, including the Fish and Wildlife Service, the National Park Service, the U.S. Forest Service, and other agencies tangentially involved in wildlife conservation.

22.84 Among the records are printed copies of House and Senate bills, accompanied by related correspondence with Members of Congress, Federal and State agencies, private groups, and individual citizens. These touch upon such topics as wildlife and migratory bird refuges, construction of certain public works, conservation of fishery resources, and the acquisition of additional land for national parks. Also included is correspondence on more general subjects, memorandums, published materials relating to conservation, and drafts and copies of committee reports. Records relating to the committee hearings include correspondence with Federal and State agencies in preparation for the hearings, correspondence with witnesses after the hearings, lists of witnesses and the topics to be discussed during the hearings, and the published transcripts of committee hearings. There are committee minutes, copies of speeches by Robertson, clippings from the Congressional Record, and correspondence from citizens requesting copies of the published hearings and reports.

22.85 There is a finding aid to the records of the committee.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.