The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Standards and Conduct (1966)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Standards and Conduct1 inch89th (1966)

22.197 The establishment of a House Select Committee on Standards and Conduct (89 S&C) was one of the recommendations contained in the September 1966 final report of the Joint Committee on the Organization of the Congress. Accordingly, the select committee was established on October 19, 1966. The resolution establishing the select committee vested it with discretionary authority to recommend rules for insuring proper standards of conduct by House Members and employees and to report violations to proper authorities, but it did not authorize the select committee to receive and investigate specific complaints and recommend disciplinary action. Charles E. Bennett of Florida was appointed chairman. Only two formal meetings of the committee were held, on October 20 and November 28. Committee staff met weekly during the period.

22.198 Records include a copy of the committee report, the summary staff report, transcripts of committee meetings, correspondence, notes, newspaper clippings, press releases, and vouchers.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.