The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Post-War Military Policy (1944-46)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Post War Military Policy10 feet78th-79th (1944-46)

22.118 As World War II was coming to an end, the House, on March 28, 1944, established the Select Committee on Post-War Military Policy composed of seven members each from the committees on military and naval affairs and nine additional members. The select committee was directed to study postwar military requirements and report the findings periodically. Clifton A. Woodrum of Virginia served as chairman.

22.119 The committee concentrated on three problems: whether a universal military training program should be established, whether a single department should be created to encompass all the armed services, and how the armed services might benefit from scientific research and development. Extensive public hearings were held from April 1944 to June 1945, with witnesses including civilian and military officials of the Federal Government, representatives of veterans organizations, leaders of labor unions, and other citizens.

22.120 The records include the chairman's correspondence, transcripts of hearings, statements of witnesses, treatises on topics relating to the committee's work, newspapers and magazine clippings, and administrative records of the committee. Also included are transcripts of testimony and statements of witnesses presented before the special committee commissioned by the Joint Chiefs of Staff to obtain the views of ranking military officers regarding the optimum organization of the national defense agencies.

22.121 There is a finding aid to the records of the committee.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.