The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Records of the Select Committee on Newsprint and Paper Supply (1947- 48)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Newsprint and Paper Supply5 in.80th (1947-48)

22.135 The Select Committee on Newsprint and Paper Supply (80A-F20.1) was established on February 26, 1947, to continue an investigation begun by a subcommittee of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce in response to complaints from newspaper publishers and other consumers of paper products about a scarcity of newsprint and other paper. Creation of the select committee was controversial. Supporters argued, among other points, that a select committee was required because the subject of the investigation overlapped the jurisdiction of five standing committees. Opponents of the select committee favored continuation of the investigation in the Commerce Committee and argued that creation of a select committee contravened the spirit of the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946.

22.136 The select committee was directed to focus its investigation on possibilities of increased paper production in the United States, prospects of securing increased supplies from other sources, and roles that governmental agencies or officers might play in alleviating the shortage. The committee and its members worked with various private groups and governmental agencies in the study and survey of available pulpwood supplies, conducted a series of public hearings, held a series of conferences in Toronto, Canada, to discuss the newsprint and paper supply situation, made visits to paper mills and other relevant sites, and assisted various publishers' associations and individual publishers in obtaining needed supplies of newsprint. The committee submitted its final report on December 31, 1948.

22.137 Records of the committee include copies of committee reports, minutes of meetings, and transcripts of testimony received in hearings.

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.