The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 22. Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives



Table of Contents

Records of the Select Committees of the House of Representatives (1789-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:

Select Committee on Government Organization (1937-1941)

Select Committee on:VolumeCongress (dates)
Government Organization6 feet75th-76th (1937-41)

22.96 On January 12, 1937, President Franklin D. Roosevelt sent a message to Congress in which he outlined the need for a reorganization of the administrative management of the executive branch and transmitted the report of the Committee on Administrative Management, which he had appointed to examine the problem and propose changes. Roosevelt noted that implementation of the committee's five-point program would require congressional action. Accordingly, on January 14, 1937, the House established the Select Committee on Government Organization (76A-F44.1) to consider and report on the President's message and on all legislative proposals regarding governmental reorganization and related subjects. The committee continued until January 3, 1941.

22.97 Records include hearings transcripts, briefs, correspondence, memorandums, petitions, and reference materials. There are also copies of legislative proposals regarding governmental reorganization and a comparative analysis of them, as well as materials regarding the proposals of the President's Committee on Administrative Management. The committee report, printed hearings, and studies of the Joint Committee on Government Organization, which was composed of both the House select committee and its counterpart in the Senate, are among the records, as are staff reports, correspondence, and printed materials regarding the predecessor Select Committee on Reorganization (1936).

Return to Select Committees List


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.