The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 21. Records of the Ways and Means Committee (1795-1968)



Table of Contents

Records of the Ways and Means Committee (1793-1988) from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988


Committee records described in this chapter:
Committee on Ways and Means, 1969-86 (720 feet)

21.77 The recent records preserved by the Ways and Means Committee are not among the most voluminous of House committee records, but they are probably the most carefully prepared records of any House committee. The records of this committee average 60 feet per Congress, however, the files of the 97th Congress are swollen by a massive form petition drive which is preserved under the title "tax petition number 146" (142 ft.).

21.78 The extensive and thoroughly documented minutes of committee meetings continue to be maintained through the 100th Congress, as is the bound series of copies of all legislation introduced, Presidential Messages, executive communications, and reports from other departments and agencies. The bound volumes of documents average over 8 feet per Congress, and the minutes, which are also bound, average 5 feet per Congress. The other records preserved by the committee support the preceding series. For most Congresses there are bill files, petitions and memorials; "green correspondence" or reading files (outgoing letters arranged by month, and thereunder alphabetically by name of addressee); and occasionally records of subcommittees. The records of the 95th Congress contain records of the Subcommittee on Public Assistance and Unemployment Compensation (PAUC). Among the records of the PAUC Subcommittee are the minutes, transcripts, and roll call votes of the Welfare Reform Subcommittee, which was constituted of members of the House Agriculture, Education and Labor, and Ways and Means Committees.

21.79 The Ways and Means Committee Historical File was retired with the records of the 92d Congress.

This Web version is updated from time to time to include records processed since 1989.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.