The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 20. Records of the Veterans' Affairs Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the

Veterans' Affairs Committee and Its Predecessors (1924-88)

from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1789-1988

Committee records described in this chapter:
Introduction

20.1 This chapter describes the records of the Veterans' Affairs Committee and the Committee on World War Veterans' Legislation which preceded it. The Committee on World War Veterans' Legislation, established in 1924, was the first committee devoted entirely to writing legislation to provide for the needs of veterans of foreign wars.

20.2 Before 1924, the Committees on Pensions and on Invalid Pensions had dealt with the pension problems of individual veterans, and the Ways and Means Committee had been responsible for writing the majority of the legislation relating to veterans. All three of the committees continued to exist after the World War Veterans' Legislation Committee was created. In 1947 the World War Veterans Legislation Committee was renamed Veterans' Affairs, and its jurisdiction expanded to include the subjects that had been referred to the committees on Pensions and Invalid Pensions which were abolished under the reorganization of that year.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.