The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 11. Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors, 1814-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committees discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the Treasury Department (1816-1927)

11.40 The earliest records available for this committee are from the 21st Congress (1829-31).

Record TypeVolumeDates (Congresses)
Minute Books4 volumes1891-95 (52d-53d), 1907-09 (60th), 1915-17 (64th)
Docket Books7 volumes1859-61 (36th), 1879-81 (46th), 1889-95 (51st-53d), 1907-90 (60th), 1915-17 (64th)
Petitions and Memorials1 inch1839-41 (36th), 1893-95 (53d), 1907-11 (60th-61st)
Committee Papers2 feet1829-31 (21st), 1859-61 (36th), 1865-67 (39th), 1875-83 (44th-47th), 1887-89 (50th), 1891-93 (52d), 1895-97 (54th), 1909-27 (61st-69th)
Bill Files5 inches1907-09 (60th), 1913-19 (63d-65th), 1923-25 (68th)
Total volume3 feet and 11 volumes (9 in.) 
Committee Records Summary Table

11.41 Petitions and memorials for this committee are sparse. Most of them either oppose closing certain customs offices in 1894 (53A-H10.1) or support legislation in 1908 relating to the appointment of pharmacists in the Public Health and Marine Hospital Service (60A-H10.1).

11.42 The committee papers contain records relating to numerous investigations. They include inquiries into the way the fund for the relief of sick and disabled seamen was expended (36A-D8.1); the sale of captured and abandoned cotton and other property from 1865 to 1867 (44A-F14.1); the water-proofing process employed in the manufacture of fractional currency (44A-F14.2); the effectiveness of the Secret Service and fraud in the Customs Service in New York City (61A-F18.1); and the management of St. Elizabeths Hospital (68A-F14.1) and the War Risk Insurance Bureau (66A-F14.1, 66A-F14.2). Also included are records created when the committee attempted from 1909 to 1912 to make the Treasury Department more efficient (61A-F18.1, 62A-F13.2, 62A-F13.3).

11.43 Additional information about efforts in 1908 to regulate the appointment of pharmacists in the Public Health and Marine Hospital Service (60A-D7) is found in the bill files. Also included are records concerning efforts in 1918 to determine money due the Government from the States (65A-D5); and attempts in 1924 to determine Government indebtedness and to review income tax returns of Harry F. Sinclair and other associates of his oil company (68A-D9). There are also records relating to hearings held in 1916 to determine how effectively income taxes were being collected (64A-D5).


Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.