The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 11. Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors, 1814-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committees discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the State Department (1816-1927)

11.44 The earliest records for this committee date from the 17th Congress (1821-23).

Record TypeVolumeDates (Congresses)
Minute Books3 volumes1879-81 (46th), 1907-09 (60th), 1911-15 (62d-63d)
Docket Books4 volumes1877-81 (45th-46th), 1885-87 (49th), 1907-09 (60th), 1911-13 (62d)
Bound Reports1 volume1827-39 (20th-25th)
Committee Papers2 feet1821-25 (17th-18th), 1827-33 (20th-22d), 1835-39 (23d-25th), 1843-45 (28th), 1875-81 (44th-46th), 1909-13 (61st-62d), 1919-27 (66th-69th)
Total volume2 feet amd 7 volumes (7 in.) 
Committee Records Summary Table

11.45 The committee papers include one volume of committee reports covering the period April 5, 1828 to May 26, 1838.

11.46 The committee infrequently conducted investigations of financial irregularities by Department personnel. Among the committee papers are records concerning several investigations undertaken during the 1876-79 period on financial dealings of American diplomatic personnel and fiscal operations in American diplomatic and consular offices (44A-F13.1, 44A-F13.2, 46A-F12.1, 46A-F12.2, 46A-F12.3, 46A-F12.4).

Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.