The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 11. Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors, 1814-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committees discussed in this chapter:
Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the Interior Department (1860-1927

11.57 The Committee on Expenditures in the Interior Department was created on March 16, 1860. The earliest records for this committee are from the 44th Congress (1875-77).

 

Record TypeVolumeDates (Congresses)
Minute Books6 volumes1875-77 (44th), 1891-93 (52d), 1907-13 (60th-62d), 1919-21 (66th)
Docket Books3 volumes1907-13 (60th-62d)
Petitions and Memorials8 inches1907-13 (60th-62d)
Committee Papers1 foot1875-81 (44th-46th), 1895-97 (54th), 1907-11 (60th-61st), 1919-27 (66th-69th)
Bill Files2 inches1907-09 (60th), 1919-21 (66th)
Total volume2 feet and 9 vols. (7 inches) 
Committee Records Summary Table

11.58 The minute book for the 44th Congress contains information about the committee's actions in investigating alleged abuses and irregularities at the Government Hospital for the Insane (St. Elizabeths Hospital); and alleged frauds involving the issuance of Chippewa and Sioux "Half-Breed" script, land surveys in Washington Territory, the patent of the "Flag-Staff" Mining Company of Utah, and the employees of the Patent Office.

11.59 Most of the petitions and memorials relate to efforts in 1910 and 1911 to establish a national health bureau (61A-H8.2, 62A-H7.1) and to efforts in 1909 and 1910 to establish a children's bureau in the Interior Department (60A-H9.1, 61A-H8.1).

11.60 The committee papers provide information on a 1910 investigation of misuse of funds in the General Land Office (61A-F15.1); efforts in 1908-09 to establish a children's bureau (60A-F14.1, 61A-F15.2); and reviews of the contingent and other expenditures in the Department, including those for St. Elizabeths Hospital and the Freedman's Hospital, conducted between 1896 and 1926. A 91-page volume contains a detailed listing of contingent expenses in the Patent Office during the 1875-78 period (46A-F11.1).

11.61 The bill files contain information on efforts in 1908 to establish a children's bureau in the Interior Department (60A-D5) and in 1919 to create a department of public works (66A-D7).

Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.