The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 11. Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Government Operations Committee and Its Predecessors, 1814-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committees discussed in this chapter:

Records of the Committee on Expenditures in the Agriculture Department (1889-1927)

11.66 The Committee on Expenditures in the Department of Agriculture was created on December 20, 1889. The earliest records are from the 52d Congress.

Record TypeVolumeDates (Congresses)
Minute Books4 volumes1891-93 (52d), 1905-11 (59th-61st)
Docket Books1 volume1891-93 (52d)
Committee Papers3 feet1891-93 (52d), 1905-11 (59th-61st), 1925-27 (69th)
Total volume3 feet and 5 volumes (4 in.) 
Committee Records Summary Table

11.67 Statements of expenditures of the Department of Agriculture for the years 1891-92 and 1907-10 constitute most of the committee papers papers. There are also records related to a 1909 North American Conservation Conference (60A-F13.3).


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.
The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.