The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Chapter 4. Records of the Armed Services Committee and Its Predecessors



Table of Contents

Records of the Armed Services Committee and Its Predecessors 1822-1988 from Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States


Committee Records discussed in this chapter:

Introduction

4.1 The Armed Services Committee was created by the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946. This chapter includes descriptions of the records of the Armed Services Committee and the three committees that were its predecessors. Two of these, the Committee on Military Affairs and the Committee on Naval Affairs were established as standing committees in 1822. They continued to function until they were abolished by the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946. The Committee on the Militia, the third predecessor committee, was created in 1835 and existed until 1911 when it was abolished and its jurisdiction transferred to the Committee on Military Affairs.

This chapter provides description of the records of House committees from 1789 through 1968.


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.