The Center for Legislative Archives

Guide to the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989 (Record Group 233)



Appendix G. Finding Aids for Records of the U.S. House of Representatives



Table of Contents
Published Finding Aids

1. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the United States House of Representatives, 1789-1946, (PI 113). 2 vols. Compiled by Buford Roland, Handy Fant, and Harold Hufford. Washington: NARS, 1959.

2. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee of the House of Representatives on Foreign Aid, 1947-48 (PI 111). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1958.

3. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of Certain Committees of the House of Representatives Investigating the Disposal of Surplus Property, 1946-48 (PI 65). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954).

4. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee of the House of Representatives to Investigate Air Accidents, 1941-43 (PI 67). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

5. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the House Committee on the Civil Service Pertaining to the Investigation of Civilian Employment in the Federal Government (PI 69). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

6. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee of the House of Representatives on Post-War Military Policy, 1944-46 (PI 70). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

7. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee of the House of Representatives Investigating National Defense Migration, 1940-43(PI 71). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

8. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Military Affairs Committee of the House of Representatives Relating to an Investigation of the War Department, 1934- 36 (PI 80). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1955.

9. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee of the House of Representatives to Investigate Acts of Executive Agencies Beyond the Scope of Their Authority, 1943-46 (PI 84). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1955.

10. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the House of Representatives Select Committee to Investigate Real Estate Bondholders' Reorganizations, 1934-38 (PI 96). Compiled by Jose Lizardo. Washington: NARS, 1956.

11. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Appropriations Committee of the House of Representatives: Subcommittee on the Works Progress Administration, 1939-41 (PI 107). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1958.

12. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the House of Representatives Select Committee of Inquiry into Operations of the United States Air Services, 1924-25 (PI 108). Compiled by George Perros. Washington: NARS, 1958.

13. National Archives and Records Service. Printed Hearings of the House of Representatives Found Among Its Committee Records in the National Archives of the United States, 1824-1958 (Special List 35). Compiled by Buford Roland, Jose D. Lizardo and George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1974.


Unpublished Finding Aids

1. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Unamerican Activities," 1934-46. Compiled by George P. Perros.

2. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on the Conservation of Wild-Life Resources, 1934-46." Compiled by George P. Perros.

3. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee Investigating Commodity Transactions, 1947-48." Compiled by Thomas W. Ray.

4. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee Investigating the Federal Communications Commission, 1948." Compiled by Ralph E. Huss.

5. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee Investigating Lobbying Activities, 1949-50." Compiled by George P. Perros.

6. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee Investigating the Use of Chemicals in Food Products, 1950-72." Compiled by Jose D. Lizardo.

7. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1943- 46." Compiled by George P. Perros.

8. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1948- 53." Compiled by George P. Perros.

9. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1953- 55." Compiled by George P. Perros.

10. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1957- 58." Compiled by Howard Wehman.

11. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1960." Compiled by Charles E. South.

12. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Campaign Expenditures, 1962." Compiled by Charles E. South.

13. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee to Investigate Foundations and their Organizations, 1951-53, and the House Special Committee to Investigated Tax Exempt Foundations and Comparable Organizations, 1953-55." Compiled by George P. Perros.

14. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Reconstruction, 1867-71." Compiled by Geoge P. Perros.

15. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee on Communist Aggression, 1953-55." Compiled by George P. Perros.

16. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Select Committee to Investigate Educational, Training, and Loan Guaranty Programs under the G.I. Bill, 1950-52." Compiled by George P. Perros.

17. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Committee on War Claims, Records relating to the Southern Claims Commission, 1871-80." Compiled by Jose Lizardo.

18. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Committee on Appropriations, Special Subcommittee to Investigate Disloyal Civil Servants, 1943." Compiled by George P. Perros.

19. "Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Records of the U.S. House of Representatives, 80th-87th Congresses." Compiled by Jose Lizardo


Published Finding Aids for Records of Joint Committees of Congress

1. National Archives and Records Service. Hearings in the Records of the U.S. Senate and Joint Committees of Congress (Special List 32). Compiled by Charles E. South and James C. Brown. Washington: NARS, 1972.

2. National Archives and Records Service. Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Joint Congressional Aviation Policy Board. 1947-48 (PI 74). Compiled by Watson G. Caudill and George P. Perros. Washington: NARS, 1954.

Unpublished Finding Aids for Records of Joint Committees of Congress

1. A stack reference list of the Senate Collection of Joint Committee Records.

2. A stack reference list of the House Collection of Joint Committee Records.

3. National Archives and Records Service. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate the Tennessee Valley Authority, 1938-39." Compiled by Sidney Goldman.

4. National Archives and Records Service. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate the Pearl Harbor Attack, 1945-46." Compiled by George P. Perros.

5. National Archives and Records Service. "Preliminary Inventory of Records of the Joint Committee on Atomic Energy, 1947-77." Compiled by George P. Perros and James C. Brown.

6. National Archives and Records Service. "Preliminary Checklist of Records of the Joint Committee to Investigate Dirgible Disasters, 1933" (PC 47-1). Compiled by Thayer M. Boardman.

Table of Contents


Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-245). By Charles E. Schamel, Mary Rephlo, Rodney Ross, David Kepley, Robert W. Coren, and James Gregory Bradsher. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

The Center for Legislative Archives >

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
1-86-NARA-NARA or 1-866-272-6272

.